We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Cabanas Tulum”
Review of Cabanas Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cabanas Tulum
Ranked #14 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cabanas Tulum”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

When we arrived, we were offered an upgraded new accommodation at Cabanas Tulum - the Beach front Deluxe Superior huge room, with a private roof top with a white concrete hot tub; ocean front ... an amazing place to stay in Tulum.

We were one of the first guests in the new, just finished rooms. We loved the minimalist white concrete interior, perfect ocean view, beautiful bathroom... a place to meditate and relax...

The staff was very responsive to all our needs, the manager Patrizia was very professional and did everything to make our stay complete and perfect.

Food at El Bistro was amazing. The New Year's Eve dinner had a very sophisticated menu. Every day we tried something different - all the sea food dishes - including fantastic ceviche. Room service was available too. Restaurant staff was always very friendly.

Cabanas Tulum is one of the best places to stay in Tulum. To all those who complain below about some details - I suggest that the next time you should communicate your needs to the staff and everything will be fixed - the staff does everything to make you happy, very kind and very honest. The place is unique, the minimalist decor in the rooms is outstanding (please do not add *any* indoor furniture to the Deluxe Superior rooms... the way they are now, they are perfect)... I am back in Princeton and I am dreaming about the place.

The place,the food, the sound of the ocean, sunrise at 6:30am that makes you wake up and walk on the beach before anybody else will be there - it is a paradise that we experienced in Cabanas Tulum. In Tulum. Thank you.

Room Tip: all Deluxe Superior beach front room have a very private accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank accidental_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    203
    33
    14
    10
See reviews for
131
489
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

My husband and I decided to stay at Cabanas Tulum based on the other reviews and we weren't disappointed. We're not picky travelers but there were a few things we weren't willing to compromise. The two things important to us were cleanliness and having our own bathroom without paying too much. While we think their normal rates are a little high, the last-minute deal made it reasonable. I called to make our reservation on a Saturday night and we got there Sunday evening.

We stayed at room 31. It's not a beachfront room, but we were only steps to the beach so we were more than happy. The good thing about this room too was that you couldn't hear the construction going on (as the other reviewers commented on) and being on the 2nd floor, we felt there was privacy.

The AC remote was a little tricky. We never really figured out how to use it. The buttons never seemed to make any difference. The AC turned on/off by itself. I suppose it was pre-programmed but they said we could change the temperature using the remote but it never really worked. It wasn't a big deal though because we really didn't need to use the AC. The weather was pretty mild and it got a little chilly in the evenings. If you open the window at night, there's more than enough breeze and the sound of the waves can lull you to sleep.

The beach (Ziggy Beach) was clean. The staff would rake off the seaweed every morning. Most days were windy though (I believe December is kiteboarding season) so some people might be turned off by it, but my husband loves kiteboarding so he of course enjoyed it. It also doesn't get crowded so you get a sense of peace and relaxation. I loved parking myself on a hammock and reading my book.

The rooms were clean and the receptionists were very helpful. They suggested good places to eat and see.

Overall, we both enjoyed our stay at this hotel and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frustratedbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestwick
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed here for 3 weeks from 19th November until 10th Dec 2011 and loved every minute. We were in room 23 which is beachfront second from end furthest away from the new bungalows being built. I have to say a big thank you to all the staff who couldn't do enough to help (not that we had any problems) and were always pleasant and chatty. This includes the staff at Ziggy beach who were also really nice and what fantastic food.

We weren't disturbed by the building works at all and the new bungalows look fabulous. We had tried to book one of these for our holiday but weren't able to at the time but no complaints about our little bungalow, it was gorgeous.

Sometimes the hot water ran out but it was a luxury to have any hot water compared to our usual holiday locations and if we'd spoken to front of house staff they would have sorted it for us, but at the end of a day sunbathing a cool shower was nice.

The bed was huge and very comfortable, house keeping staff were excellent.

Emer helped sort us out with a couple of excursions and gave good advice about which one to pick. We did Chichen Itza with ITours which is to be recommended and also kayaking at the biosphere with Antonnio which I cannot rave about enough (this guy knows his nature and is a pleasure to spend time with- a must do).

Breakfast was included and it was brilliant, so good infact we didn't eat again until dinner time. I have to say Cecillio made fabby Mojitos and we sampled them on a few occasions. The food at all times at Ziggy beach was really good, so good in fact we ate there for about 2/3 of our holiday. There are loads of bungalows with restaurants along the beach in either direction which are well worth a visit as well though but hard to beat Ziggy Beach. We did eat in town a couple of nights at Argentinian restaurant and the pizza place across the street which were also very good and to be recommended.

The beach in front of the bungalows is well kept and lovely, nice loungers. The sea is often rough and windy hence why Tulum is a centre for kite surfing but this doesn't stop you getting in the water. One morning we even observed a couple of rays just off the shore.

There is a lot to do around Tulum or you can just laze in the sun, whatever you choose to do I would recommend Cabanas Tulum as your base.

Room Tip: Beachfront is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annod_725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We ended up at Cabanas Tulum mostly by chance as it was the only place that had availability for our last minute trip. We stayed in the deluxe beachfront rooms.

The good - the rooms are amazingly located right by the beach, but still with a nice degree of privacy. We walked the entire beachfront strip and our rooms definitely appeared to be the nicest in that regard (most of the rooms are either set back quite a ways from the beach, or they are closer to the water but have no balcony or patio). The waves are quite loud, so if you're sensitive to that, it's something to consider, but we loved it. We spent a lot of time in our room, specifically on our outdoor patio. We never even needed to use the beach chairs on the strip because our patio was effectively our own private cabana. The rooms are nice, if sparse. From the bed, you have an amazing view of the sand and water.

The bad - Service is spotty. While people are generally friendly, things can take a while. Check out took us half an hour because there was an error on our bill (they charged us for another guest's food and drink bill). The food at the attached restaurant is fine but not great, but the breakfast that's included more than does the trick. At the moment, there is construction going on and there is a fair amount of foot traffic of workers. This somewhat infringed on our privacy when we sat on our patio, but overall it wasn't too bad. However, we did have a pair of prescription sunglasses stolen from our patio, and when we told the front desk, all we got was a theft report to fill out to send to management. We have yet to see how that will be resolved.

The place isn't cheap, but it seems like decent value compared to some of the other price-inflated places around. They are also in the midst of building a pool, which seems like it will be quite nice.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, which had a great deck. Not sure what the views are like from the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thetravelcritic50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Luxury suite is missing covered terrace, so if you like to be outdoors you are out of luck.
Suite is missing basics including blankets, so we slept under beach towels and are planning to dig out our coats we had on coming from Chicago for the next night.
During night we were woken a few times by local hotel representative who directed flash light on us.
There is no privacy as construction is going on and people are working right next to your shower door, bed, etc.
Strong smell of paint and other construction materials disturbs you mostly at night resulting in headache, so bring plenty of pain killers.
Restaurant has good menu, unfortunately breakfast takes over an hour to cook to order and there is no buffet option.
I am not coming back here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank KateGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, General Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear guests, we are sorry to read you didn't enjoy your stay at Cabañas Tulum. You had booked a Deluxe beach front and at check in were given the option to upgrade to one of our new rooms, the Superior Deluxe, for free. You had seen the room and its location and knew you were the first guests to stay in it. A few Deluxe and all Superior Deluxe have a beachfront terrace with a hammock and the rooftop has no covered roof top terrace, as represented on our website - it is actually a detail our guests love, as you can spend nights looking at Tulum's million stars. All rooms have a blanket, although this is not a duvet. If you leave the doors open all night you might experience some cold. Gardening and pool cleaning works are done, but no chemicals are used since this is an ecological resort. No buffet is offered in El Bistro and never has been, everything is prepared fresh. This is our highest season so we apologize for your waiting time at breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

To preface, I loved my stay at Cabanas Tulum. I would definitely return, particularly if I were going in the summer and wanted the A/C and were again assured a second floor deluxe room.

The high points were: (1) the private roof deck; (2) the free breakfast with tons of options that could essentially replace lunch since it went to 12pm; (3) the almost all-day happy hour; (4) some of the staff, especially Cecilio; (5) possibly the best location on the beach.

Cumulatively, there were enough minor complaints to take away one star in my review, but fortunately I think they are all fixable. For one, the new deluxe rooms are still a bit unfinished in some regards, with the lack of indoor furniture beyond a bed, an A/C controller that hung out of the socket (not that I used the A/C) and some other random unfixed tidbits. Also, the service at times could be bad - either forgetting to bring things that you ordered, taking way too long to give you a menu when you sit down, or just being fairly unfriendly (one server appears never to have cracked a smile in his life).

All of these issues were easily tolerable and far out-shined by the otherwise convivial staff, excellent beach and location, and affordable and decent food and drinks. Highly recommended. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rca215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We booked at Cabanas Tulum after having such a lovely stay at their sister property, La Tortuga in Playa del Carmen. We had a great experience here too, if somewhat different. The view from our room was amazing, we had a beach front view and we literally were on the beach front! The restaurant and bar were great, especially the all day 2 for 1 offers on cocktails and the pool table.
The location was good for if you wanted to relax by the beach and not venture out too much but taxis were easy to come by.

The only issue we did have was it took a while for us to be checked in and we were kept waiting around for quite some time and the room itself was clean but basic. Still, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayney_Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 95 in Tulum
1,237 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
840 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 95 in Tulum
399 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#8 of 95 in Tulum
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Tulum

Property: Cabanas Tulum
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila, KM 7 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Tulum
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabanas Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabanas Tulum Hotel is located on a large stretch of beautiful beach, surrounded by coconut trees, and the turquoise sea. It's the perfect place to relax and reunite with nature. All of our beach front and Rooftop Jacuzzi rooms have breathtaking sea views from the terrace, while our garden view rooms are only a few steps away from the beach. Connecting rooms available on request. Enjoy free breakfast either at our health food restaurant Fresco's or Ziggy's, on site Spa, free bike use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Cabanas Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Tulum Hotel Tulum
Cabanas Hotel Tulum
Tulum Cabanas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing