We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great pair of meals”
Review of Cenzontle

Cenzontle
Ranked #11 of 396 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: Mexican, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: We love experimenting with mexican flavors and rest of the world cuisine, twist's in conventional mexican dishes, or mexican twist's into traditional world known recipes. Freshly cut, muddle on the spot fruit are the main contents of our cocktailery. We focus in a full Tulum experience, great food, drinks, service and ambiance. Fundado en 2013.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great pair of meals”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We dined here twice. The food is exceptional. Very fresh and a great casual scene. Tulum is a great food town and this place stands out as our favorite

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    76
    30
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A hidden jewel type a place”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Amazing food, amazing drinks, beautiful people. Need to say more? Ah bring mosquito repellant asi is in tulum's jungle side of the beach.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonietta886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“BEST FRIENDLY RESTAURANT”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Cenzontle "jardin secreto" Best Friendly Restaurant/Bar in Tulum. Little details makes the difference. Free water, they lend you a flash light, they burn Copal for you and my favorite.. They provide you of Mosquito repellent… Yes! Ask for a great waiter Ivan. He will take care of you!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alberto L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xiamen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wow. Just....wow”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

My wife and I had drink and bites here last night and met the owner. I was kind of floored. The menu is spot on. Incredibly well thought out and somehow ambitious without over reaching. The cocktails are all inspired by old Hollywood (the very sweet owner is from Baja). This is the perfect first date and generally romantic to to place. Heartwood is great it really is but let me tell you- not by a lot. I would venture you could eat and drink, your way through is menu for a week or two and never switch places. They even go out of there way to source CRAFT BEER! I had an ale from Akumal and it hit the spot. The rain sadly drove us on before I could go back for more.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, AZ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“My favorite!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Cenzontle was my favorite dining experience of our week in Tulum (and we went to Hartwood!). As others have mentioned, the atmosphere, the service, and the drinks are wonderful. I really appreciated the focus on responsible sourcing of everything on their menu (which is not extensive but has a good range of choices). The gazpacho and avocado soup (called Three Layer Soup? I forget what the third layer was) was over-the-top delicious. I also had the Tuna al Pastor - it was prepared rare the way I love it and was presented in a very unique manner on a plank of wood with other tasty things such as black rice. I really cannot say enough about our experience there and am kicking myself that we didn't go back a second time. I don't know how one could be disappointed here and highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jazzyjenflag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cenzontle also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Cenzontle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing