We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in a vacation choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Debbie and I have spent a lot of time vacationing in Mexico. We love the country and always consider it a choice for a vacation. We have stayed in three all inclusive resorts and some fairly modest places too. We do like both, for different reasons. This past September we chose to stay all inclusive and picked Dreams Tulum.
We made the correct choice! The transfer from the airport was a bit long, just over an hour by van, but our driver was pleasant, stopped for drinks and bathroom as needed. The resort welcomed us with friendly greetings and got us a beautiful room with a beach and pool view!
The staff are outstanding, as are the food and drinks. The property is spectacular. And the location was private, small enough to not get lost but big enough to remain secluded if you wanted that.
We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: The cost of the room upgrade is soon forgotten because the views are so wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e-dreams, E-Concierge Seve at Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Gene P

First of all we would like to thank you for takig the time to share your review with the Tripadvisor community following your vacation at Dreams Tulum.

We are happy to know that you liked our facilities, location and our personalized service.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely

Seve Oy
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
info.dretu@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,786 - 2,792 of 4,564 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I spent a wonderful week at this resort and were thoroughly impressed! The grounds are immaculate, service great, and the food is amazing! We had a room without a tub, so I asked for a room with a tub and was moved the next day to a much more spacious suite. The buffet breakfast has everything imaginable, and the a la carte restaurants are wonderful! Our favourite was Portofino--service was superior, and although they drag out the meal, the food is first rate! They'll try to sell you a bottle of wine, but their complimentary house wine is very good. We enjoyed the Seaside Grill for their amazing steak dinner, their Mexican restaurant, as well as eating outside at their French restaurant, Bordeaux. They have an Asian and sushi restaurant, but we didn't try them out. You have to get to all these restaurants by 7:00, though, or you'll have to wait for a table. Be sure to leave a tip for good service. There's also a coffee room called Coco, where you can get snacks, coffees and teas all day, and a burger/pizza station that's open around the pools.

They have 2 pools, but they were both full of kids. We would have preferred one quiet pool. The beach area has a lot of seating area and the service was great. We took a walk down the beach, but it was strewn with garbage that had washed up,and it's not a great beach for swimming because of all the rocks.

I used their spa facility, and had an amazing hot stone massage! They also have a sauna, steam room and hot tub in the spa.

I felt very relaxed in this sprawling resort, but my husband felt a little cooped up. There's no town nearby to walk to, so we took a 10 minute taxi ride into the town of Tulum. It has numerous souvenir shops and small cafés, and we ended up purchasing a hammock. You can also do an excursion to the Tulum ruins, but we didn't go there this time.

They have a well-equipped gym at the end of the property, which we used most days, and a tennis court. There's also a walking path around the perimeter of the property.

There were several weddings going on throughout the week, and they close off certain restaurants and pool areas each time, which is very inconvenient. Overall, however, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed here in 2013. My husband, myself and 4 of our kids ages 17, 15, 11 and 6. The hotel was wonderful. Very clean, delicious foods, wonderful childrens program, awesome pool and best of all great staff.
We had requested an adjoin room for our kids and got exactly what we requested.
The only thing I would say was a negative was the location of the hotel was over an hour drive. So if you are planning on staying here for 3 nights, its not worth the drive.
Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We chose Dreams Tulum for our destination wedding based on reviews and its reputation as a destination wedding resort. Hospitality in the resort lives up to its 5 star reputation, almost every staff we met greeted us warmly, with the exception of some miscommunication during dining experiences. The food is a bit over seasoned to our liking but the variety of restaurants ensures that you can always find something to enjoy.

We especially recommend the services of the wedding coordinator, in our case it was Natalia who was quick to respond to our emails and worked out the details and tended to our specific requests from decorations to food to needing specific items for our party games. Even after we had our wedding, every time we crossed paths on resort grounds, she would always greet us warmly and have quick chats. We hired an external wedding photographer but our wedding package included photography and video services, so we took advantage of that and asked them to focus their shots on our guests. The photos turned out great and we ended up purchasing the digital copies at discount.

My wife has lactose sensitivity but that was not a worry during this trip because the hotel cafe offered lactose-free, soy, rice, almond, and regular 2% and non-fat milk options, which was great! Friends with gluten sensitivity can also be relieved to know they label menu options with vegetarian and gluten-free alternatives.

A note about the beach: as expected it is more rocky. Our friends attempted to snorkel but was taken back due to shallow waters and rocky bottom, where one of our friends scraped their knee. On the other hand, the hotel has a wide array of daytime and evening activities that caters to all kinds of interests, from dance lessons, to volleyball tournaments to Spanish class, rock shows and more.

A tip for those who are dining with more than 4 people in a group, GO TO THE restaurants early and be the first in the queue to ensure you can get seated together. As many reviewers pointed out, the restaurants don't take reservations, so in our case where on one occasion, our group of 30+ successfully all took seating in the French restaurant which had a capacity of 44, because we were there early, like 15 minutes before the restaurants open for dinner.

The only thing we would advise against is the massages. Our wedding package included a 50 minute couple Swedish massage. The staff were extremely attentive but the massages were not up to par, it just didn't hit the pressure points and give you the feeling that makes you go "that hits the spot". However, we did enjoy the Jacuzzi and the refreshing drinks and snacks served.

Room Tip: If you want to be closer to the beach, try to get a room with a number that starts with a higher num...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had a fantastic two week break. Most of the other reviews cover the key points.

If you look at through the lens of a solid 4 star family resort then this place really delivers. If you want an exclusive 5 star luxury experience with towels on the beds etc, then choose elsewhere.

What we loved was the size of the resort, low rise, amazing gardens and plenty of space to lose yourself with a 15 month old baby. There is a distinct difference between the refurbish rooms. We switched.

A big thank you to the staff, especially the welcoming staff in the World Café. A few other reviews mention the reception staff. I have to agree that they are cold and not representative of the rest of the hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the old rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westons2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e-dreams, E-Concierge Seve at Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Westons2009

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your overview about your stay with us. All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments.

I would like to thank you for highlighting the attitude of our staff, at the same time we are glad to know that most of our facilities meet with your approval.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for not having exceeded your expectations in all areas of your stay. Rest assured that each and every one of your comments has been addressed by the involved departments.

I very much appreciate your comments that help us to continue improving our facilities and services. We wish to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel and have the chance to show the high level of quality service we are known for.

Sincerely,

Seve Oy
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
info.dretu@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Just returned from a vacation at Dreams Tulum and I have to say it was absolutely wonderful. This resort has just about the best service I have ever received on a vacation. In addition, the food is excellent and the accommodations very good indeed. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and any problem encountered is swiftly dealt with. The pool areas have lots of loungers and shade (if desired), and there are enough activities to keep everyone interested. The a la carte restaurants are top quality, with Portofino (Italian theme) being our favourite. Staff were great all over but here are some special staff who treated us especially well: Gammaliel, Eduardo and Desiderio in the Rendesvouz Bar; Jose in Portofino; Louis in El Patio; Front Desk Manager. Well done to all of you and I hope to come back and see you all again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonTraveller703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e-dreams, E-Concierge Seve at Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear LondonTraveller70

Thank you very much for sharing this wonderful review about your stay at Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa. Our team has been informed about your nice feedback; your opinion helps us motivate our staff and keep working with enthusiasm because reading that you had an amazing experience lead us to believe we are doing a good job.

Further, we would like to thank you for highlighting the attitude of our staff, it is good to see that we achieved our main goal, that being you feel welcome and feel satisfied with our service.

It is very important for us to offer comfortable and attractive accommodations to our guests, and it is very nice to hear that you enjoyed our facilities.

We hope to have the pleasure and te honor to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Seve Oy
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
info.dretu@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I'd have to say that i was completely impressed with this resort. They are completely catered to customer service and even when sitting on the beach, they brought drinks out to us. Excellent place! We went for a wedding and the set up that they had is amazing. The romantic dinner on the beach was excellent, and be sure to check out the cenotes. Worth every penny! Also did the chichen itza tour which is one of the new 7 wonders of the world. A MUST if you are there.

Room Tip: Make sure to eat at the sushi place! Amazing and fresh! also, the romantic dinner on the beach is ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DianaSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e-dreams, E-Concierge Seve at Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear DianaSophia

First of all on behalf of the entire Dreams Tulum team, I would like to thank you for your kind review, we are pleased to know you had a great time here with us.

It is for guests like you who send us some nice, inspiring words after their holiday, that our personal finds every day the motivation and energy to keep on the good work. I am very happy to hear that you appreciated the service and personal attention of all of us.

We agree, cenotes and Chichen Itza are A MUST if someone is traveling to our destination.

It will be a pleasure and an honor to have you at our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Seve Oy
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
info.dretu@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.8 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
5.8 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 98 in Tulum
1,328 reviews
0.6 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
445 reviews
3.7 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#11 of 98 in Tulum
586 reviews
8.2 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km. 236.7 No. 1, Tulum 77761, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#5 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#7 Green Hotel in Tulum
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#13 Family Hotel in Tulum
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $230 - $942 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated by Aug 2013, Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa is located on one of the most unique beaches in the Riviera Maya surrounded by lush tropical acres, sugary white sand and magnificent colonial architecture. Just five minutes from Tulum and 30 minutes from Playa del Carmen, Dreams Tulum offers Unlimited-Luxury(R) with upscale surroundings and combines fun and relaxation with the ancient world of the Maya. Dreams Tulum sits on two miles of powdery white sand with activities to make the whole family happy. And you're right on the ocean for snorkeling, catamarans, windsurfing, kayaking and jumping on our ocean trampoline. Choose from magnificent dining options featuring eight gourmet, a la carte and one buffet-style restaurant. Dine at the Seaside Grill, an a la carte steak house, enjoy French cuisine in a romantic setting at Bordeaux or visit El Patio for Mexican fare. Six bars, including pool and beach side, are perfect places to make new friends, or just catch up with each other. Perfect your swing at nearby Riviera Maya Golf Club offering complimentary greens fees.New Swimout suites in the hacienda area featuring also a new Adults only section ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Tulum Hotel
Dreams Tulum Riviera Maya
Dreams Resort Tulum
Dreams Tulum Mexico
Sunscape Tulum
Dreams Resort Spa Tulum
Dreams Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing