We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing coffee”
Review of Turquesa Restaurant - CLOSED

Turquesa Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant has the concept of 100 % authentic Mexican cuisine. We want to show you that Mexico has more to offer than just tacos and burritos . Next to delicious food you can also enjoy a fabulous cocktail on our terrace. The Turquesa Tulum has just opened and we are offering a special experience with our "jungle camping". enjoy the nature!!
Reviewed May 17, 2015

We went in the off season so they were only serving breakfast. The food was fresh and delicious but the coffee was amazing. Surprisingly there is a lot of espresso in Talum, but getting the Mexican coffee at Turquesa was the best in town! It's a special brew they make that is delightful. Definitely worth the walk!

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alwaysarriving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 41 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2015

We were in Tulum for a friend's wedding - and this is where the bride and groom had their rehearsal dinner (a first for Turquesa). We were pleasantly surprised! The service was GREAT! We had the entire place to ourselves - and it was a FEAST. Appetizer after appetizer - entree after entree .. it seemed like it was never ending! Everything was FANTASTIC. We had guacamole, ceviche, cactus salad, quesadillas, chiles rellenos, fish, chicken.. I am probably missing some other dishes as well. Everything was delicious - and it was very affordable! Would definitely recommend!
*they have wifi - so ask for the password.. it worked great!*

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Travel-Fox3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2015

This is a cute little roadside bar with a limited menu.
Its a bit backpackerish, nothing fancy.
You should know that half the food on the menu isn't available on any given day, but that didn't worry me too much.
Its quite cheap.
The wait staff are friendly.
Its ok to go if its close by, but not worth to make an effort to get there from further away.

Date of visit: March 2015
Thank trip-chick-munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turquesa T, Inhaber at Turquesa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2015

Dear trip-chick-munich, first of all i like to say thank you that you choose Turquesa as one of your spots during your time in Tulum and that you took the time to review us here.
I just want to explain you that all our food is fresh and made in the moment. Please understand that due to the electricity situation here on Tulum Beach we are not able to store many things and we are going therefore everyday on the market to buy new ingredients for our kitchen. It is possible that there was missing something during the day but please be also informed that march is still High Season and we had a lot of guests during this weeks for breakfast and dinner. The only thing which is not anymore on the menu is the Burger, due we dont have a lot of request we choose to take the Burger out. Like i said before we like to offer fresh food and a burger for instance from the freezer is not the quality we are looking for.
Anyway thank you so much for stopping by and i hope you will give us another chance in the future. Best regards/ Oliver Boehme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2015 via mobile

We picked this restaurant without checking Tripadvisor before.. The food was terrible, only positive I can say is that the guacamole was good but the chips warent homemade.. I picked a fried meat for main and it was the barley any meat and felt like it hade been coocked in the microwave, my wife took the cieviche which were "ok" The staff were friendley and the place have a nice charm to it.

Date of visit: March 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Martinkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turquesa T, Inhaber at Turquesa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2015

Dear IMKristaB, first of all i like to say thank you that you choose Turquesa as one of your places during your vacation in Tulum and that you took the time to review us here on Tripadvisor as well. Sorry that it tooks a while but i answerd already before but t seem that my answer was not online before. Well, i m sorry to hear that we didnt met your expactaion in terms of food. We are a small family restaurant and our goal is to prepare our dishes fresh and in the moment. I m really sorry that you didnt found this quailty in your visit but i hope if you visit Tulum again one day, you will give us another chance to convince you with our service and quality. Best regards Oliver Boehme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2015

We stopped in at the pretty little restaurant for dinner and were very much disappointed. Great ambiance, but the food was not very good at all, and terrifically high priced. The rice was soggy and uncooked in the middle, and the fried fish tasted strongly of oil. The restaurants in town are 100% better in quality and value. Leave the beach to eat in Tulum.

Date of visit: March 2015
1  Thank IMKristaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turquesa T, Inhaber at Turquesa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2015

Dear IMKristaB, first of all i like to say thank you that you choose Turquesa as one of your restaurants during your time in Tulum and we are happy that you like the ambiance which we create. I also like to say thank you that you took the time to write a review here in Tripadvisor. Constructive critsm is very important for us as well, so that we have the chance to improve our service for our guests, which is our highest goal.
I m really sorry that we didn`t met your expectations in terms of our food. We are a small family restaurant which try to offer a good service and local mexican dishes in good quality. All our dishes are prepared in the moment and all are fresh. With Tulum and the area around the Riviera Maya you choose one of the most expensive area in Mexico. We are either aware of it that the Beach is much more expensive then the town but we try to offer good food for a competitive price. You choose one of our Fish Dishes and our Fish in Coriander Cream is one of our top seller where we get a lot of positive feedback even alreday here by Tripadvisor. I m pretty sure that 14$ for a Main Course is not expensive at all for a restaurant on the Beach stripe included tax and service
However, i m sorry again that we didnt met your expectations but i hope that you will give us another chance in the future to convince you with our service and quality.
Best regards from Tulum
Oliver Boehme
Turquesa Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turquesa Restaurant also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing