We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunrise, Serenity, Sea”
Review of Hotel Playa Kin Ha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Playa Kin Ha
Ranked #78 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We love Tulum and have visited many times over years and hope to visit many more in the future. This was our first time to stay at Kin Ha, where we spent 7 nights, including Christmas and Solstice (our anniversary.) We were very pleased, especially with the view--right on the beach, overlooking the most beautiful waters in the world--and the clean, simple room with a comfortable bed. Yes, it's more than fine with us that the lights are out a few hours after dark. We expect that in Tulum. Have you seen the stars in Tulum? We heard nothing but waves at night. Have you heard and seen the sea at Tulum?

We were also truly impressed with the staff, especially Ray (Ramon), who quickly became someone we knew we would miss when we left. What a wonderful host! He works from morning to night, always with a smile. He loves music and knows music; he loves cuisine, and knows cuisine. He loves the natural world, and knows its rhythms. He's interesting to talk with. Truly, *everyone* on the staff was great; we felt secure and comfortable, a part of the place that week.

The food in the restaurant is very good, but don't expect prices cheaper than the other restaurants in the area and certainly not than those in town (and there are excellent restaurants in town.) The continental breakfast included in our room was very good and satisfying, but if breakfast were ordered off the menu, it would be expensive. It would undoubtedly be good, though.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katytudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 152 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2011

We spent 10 nights here. If you decide to stay at this hotel, it's worth booking one of the 3 spacious ocean view-rooms for the spectacular sunrise and sunset, and of course, the beautiful beach. Plus, you don't hear the generator noise. Rooms were thoroughly cleaned daily, so no complaints for cleanliness. As for hot water in the shower, we did have but had to wait a few minutes for it. The staff's charm and helpfulness more than made up for lack of English language skills. Breakfast usually consisted of toast, butter, jam, fresh fruit and juice/coffee. A la carte menus (a mix of Mexican and Italian food, as the owner of the hotel is Italian) were delicious and fresh. We loved our stay so much and would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing, stress-free vacation directly on the beach!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle01ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I stayed here for a week in May 2010, and I absolutely loved it. The staff is so welcoming and accommodating without being at all intrusive. It seemed like a little family; the ladies who ran the place would have their kids there in the afternoons, napping in hammocks and doing homework. The rooms are very simple, clean, and comfortable, and are not as "done up" as many of the other places on the beach, but I prefer this simplicity. There was plenty of hot water- the water in the shower is salty, but it's like that everywhere in Tulum. I consider this to be the best value on the beach. I would recommend this hotel to any independent-minded traveller who is looking to unplug and relax.
Also, as a woman traveling alone, I felt very safe here because the only entrance to the room is a door at the back of the room, so I could keep my door locked at night and still have the windows facing the ocean open.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joanne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed there in March 2010. Kin Ha has clean, spartan rooms, and ours had a fantastic view of the water which made it that much better. We were lucky to even get hot water in our shower, which was an added bonus. Another bonus is the generator--yes, it's annoying and loud at times, but it's better than not having power when you get back to your room at 11 pm after dinner (which is the case in a number of Tulum hotels). The downstairs restaurant is reasonably priced for Tulum standards, access to beach facilities (i.e. hammocks, chairs, etc.) was easy and hassle-free, and the staff were incredibly accommodating. Great value for Tulum.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cuasi-espanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

If you're considering staying in Tulum over Cancun or Playa Del Carmen, you're probably looking for something a little more rustic, simple and quiet. Hotel Playa Kin Ha was just that.

The hotel is very small - only a few rooms which made it very quiet and relaxing...no kids running around, loud music, etc. Rooms are small and very basic...no A/C, no TV, etc. There was no hot water in our room which was the only major negative.

Located on the main road along the beach - roughly halfway down. You will need a car (or taxi, there are plenty of them) to get to Tulum Pueblo or the ruins. The property is set directly on the beach and the open air restaurant has an amazing view of the waves -- perfect place to grab a beer or margarita and enjoy the scenery. There are a few palapas + lounge chairs out front - we never had a problem getting one.

The staff was great - friendly and helpful. The restaurant was very convenient and reasonably priced. The continental breakfast included in our room rate was the perfect way to start the day - fresh fruit, toast, coffee, juice. We had tacos, nachos and other snacks - all were very good. We felt dinner was a bit overpriced for what it was - basic Italian food, but it was still nice to have the option to eat at the hotel.

Overall we loved Playa Kin Ha - if you're expecting a luxurious resort, this isn't it. But for a simple room to sleep in directly on the beach, it was great. We spent the other half of our trip at a resort in Puerto Aventuras and I wish we stayed at Kin Ha for the entire week instead.

Room Tip: The front-facing ocean view rooms have been renovated recently
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TA_Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Out room at Kin Ha was spartan and the service was pretty hands-off, but the location was so great that we easily overlooked any minor discomforts. Kin Ha seems to be a lot cheaper than other places in the area--if you want to stay on the beach and don't want to spend an arm and a leg, this is the place. There was never a rush on the beach chair or hammocks, and in fact, we had the beach to ourselves most days. Breakfast consisted of coffee, fresh OJ, toast, and a modest fruit plate. The hotel was a ten-minute walk to the "hotel zone," where you can find restaurants, a bike rental, and a an ATM. Taxis run up and down the beach road all day and can take you to the ruins or the city center for 500 pesos (just under $5). (Quick side note: a canal excursion to Sian Ka'an was a highlight--you can arrange through kiosks in town or with the hotel staff!) We ate in the restaurant a couple nights and had good meals, though we enjoyed them without any company. The happy hour cocktails were fun.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skgronholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Playa Kin Ha is one of the cheaper ones on the beach in Tulum, but it's arguable whether the value is there. I stayed here for 5 nights and had a fine time - there was nothing horrible, but there was also nothing amazing. The rooms are bare bones - one fluorescent light lit the room and another such light in the bathroom. The bathroom door was like a big window shutter, making it impossible for real privacy (I was there with a friend), the towels were stained (but clean), and low quality soap/shampoo/conditioner (impossible to get out of the bottle). The sheets were very thin and threadbare, and some parts of it seemed stained. For $120 a night, I really expected better.

It was my own handicap, but not speaking Spanish was quite detrimental to my stay. It was difficult to communicate and thus for me to ask for and get the help I needed (to book a taxi to the airport, etc). All in all, the location is wonderful, the people running the hotel seem very nice, but it was just hard to communicate.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flick000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.8 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#18 of 98 in Tulum
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Tulum
Coral Tulum
#53 of 98 in Tulum
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Retiro Maya Villas
Retiro Maya Villas
#87 of 98 in Tulum
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Uolis Nah
Uolis Nah
#76 of 98 in Tulum
156 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
#82 of 98 in Tulum
109 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shambala Petit Hotel
Shambala Petit Hotel
#65 of 98 in Tulum
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Kin Ha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Kin Ha

Address: Km 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $50 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Playa Kin Ha 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the National Park of Tulum and the Biosphere Reserve of Sian Kan, you can enjoy miles of beaches, white sand the best place of the Caribbean Mexican. Our eco-hotel is a mixture between modern and rustic. We have light of solar panels. We have 3 suites front the see(no a/c), each with private bath and terrace. where you can admire some spectacular sunrisethere are also three rooms in the back with a partial ocean view . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Playa Kin Ha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Kin Ha Tulum
Playa Kin Ha Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing