We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Don Diego de la Selva
Ranked #15 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A little oasis”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with our two teenage sons. The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful. The pool area was nice and the rooms were all clean with good aspect of the gardens which surround the cabanas. Each room had a small patio and a hammock in which you could relax. At the back of the gardens are some honey beehives that had some really tiny Mayan bees that do not sting and are apparently a protected species. Really interesting and they really do not sting.

The location is about a 10 minute stroll from the centre of Tulum, but to go to the beach requires a car (or a taxi). We had a car so not a problem. Rate included breakfast which was nice. Rooms were sleep 2 so had to have two rooms which was fine.

This was our first stop on our tour, we stayed for two days and enjoyed it and can recommend. The only thing stopping us giving 5* was the location. Nearer the town centre or the beach would have been preferred.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    145
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
104
297
23
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Don Diego for 5 nights in April, and it was beautiful. Really handy for town and good for excursions, about 5-10 minute walk from the bus station. The hotel is not in the beach but the taxi ride down to the beach cost about £3, so not a deal breaker for us! Our room was lovely, peaceful and the food was excellent. Whenever we had a question the staff went over and above to help us, booking trips and helping with maps and all sorts of things. The wifi was down in our room for a few nights but we weren't there to work or facebook the whole time so not really a problem in our opinion. Personal hammock was lush and the pool was clean and refreshing. Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazzylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam, netherlands
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great to get back from the beach and be surrounded by the green gardens and pool. The rooms are a good size with separate shower/wc and doors on to a terrace with hammock and chair, surrounded by lush greenery. Airco works well and is needed as inland is noticeably hotter than at the sea. Lots of mosquitos on the terrace so bring repellant. Restaurant is very good with international and Mexican dishes, all delicious.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back seem better as there is some sort of club playing lounge music nearvthe front side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaffelaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent 2 nights here, it's a little oasis when you enter, with a clean pool and meal/seating area in the huge "tenth" that you see in the title picture. At night the walkway is illumated so you are easily guided to your bugalow.

The bungalow (number 1) was basic, spacious, had 2 hammack's (one inside, one outside) and 2 double beds for 2 people.

The service was excellent, especially by Alexandra, she was very friendly, approachable and gave us some good advice on places to see.

Menu cards at breakfast were in English, Spanish and French.

What I didn't like:

- I got the impression the staff tried to push their restaurant (which is where the seating area is) to take dinner at night. For my taste, the menu's were overpriced.

- The amount of food at breakfast is in my opinion quite restrictive and not enough for an adult. It reminded me of sitting in an airplane on a long flight and getting counted items on a small food tray: Every person get's 2 small slices of bread, with honey or two types of jam. This is followed by one of the following:

- Cake of the day. Which is ridiculously small. I thought: Is this it or is there something else coming?? When I asked the waiter what type of cake this is, he had to go and check with the kitchen staff...
- Huevo's rancheros. They were tasty!!
- Yoghurt with something

If you want more food for breakfast, there is a wide selection on the menu card for which you have to pay for extra.

The second day, we sat down in the breakfast area on an empty table because other tables were either occupied or covered with used dishes. After about 10 minutes we were noticed by the staff - who passed by a few times before to clean other tables. We finally got our 2 slices of bread. After that, all I had to do was go into the kitchen area to ask for two knifes.

To sum up: I really like the location (although it's quite a walk to the center and you need a taxi or bike to go to the beach) and don't like the breakfast for food and service reasons.

In retrospect, I would have prefered booking the room without breakfast (if that's possible).

Room Tip: Bungalow number 1 is nice, as explained above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here as the last stop on a trip around Quintana Roo / Yucatan and both a greed that this place was our favourite. Charles had been extremely helpful in arranging a tour round Sian Ka'an for us for the day after we arrived and we found all of the staff incredibly helpful and friendly throughout our stay. This was the only place of the trip that didn't require payment upfront, so it made a nice change to be able to add drinks to the tab as we went.

The grounds and pool are lovely, and the rooms are very spacious (ours had a hammock both inside the room, and out of the terrace). Breakfast was very good. It's a bit outside of the main town area, but after 200m or so of wasteland, the shops and restaurants begin so definitely easy to walk to. We had trouble finding it when we first arrived, as google maps makes it look far further up the road than it is, look out for it on the left almost as soon as you've turned off the main street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles G, Propietario at Don Diego de la Selva, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
One year after... I finally write you back, not only to warmely thank you for the lovely comment you made on Don Diego (certainly some guests stayed with us thanks to your description!), but also to remind you some nice memories hopefully! We improved a lot this year, trying to make the rooms more comfortable, opening a small and warm spa, we changed the menu, and the trees are growing more everyday... I hope you will be able to come back someday, we will be happy to convince you of : don't stop travelling !
Best regards from Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Worst Internet and wifi I've experienced during four months travel in Mexico. Internet was down in rooms for several days so only available in dinning room, which was rather slow.

Staff not very helpful, especially during breakfast. Breakfast was ok when staff got order correct.

Restaurant only open for three hours at night, not open for lunch. Nice menu, but rather limited. Owners cats and dogs are cute but tend to beg for scraps at tables.

Hotel is several blocks away from main part of town and about a mile from best restaurants. Very limited parking on unsaved street behind hotel.

Far from beaches. No tv in rooms. No Air conditioning in some rooms. Nice gardens however.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apperceive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
millbrook
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here only one night to be close to the Cancun Airport at the end of a week driving in rural Yucatan. It was quite a shock to enter resortland after our quiet week but Don Diego was a perfect little quiet garden oasis in the midst of the very busy coast. The hotel is beautifully put together with lush plantings. Our room was very comfortable and opened out onto a small patio with a hammock and chairs. If you have a car you can go to a beach club which the front desk recommended and for $12 spend the day at a spectacular beach with lounge chairs, bathrooms, food, etc. Really the beach is unbelievable. The icing on the cake is the great restaurant associated with this hotel. After a week of Yucatecan food (and even without that week) the French food at the restaurant was just delicious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.9 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#17 of 95 in Tulum
595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#2 of 95 in Tulum
918 reviews
4.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 95 in Tulum
1,240 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#47 of 95 in Tulum
347 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 95 in Tulum
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Diego de la Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Diego de la Selva

Property: Don Diego de la Selva
Address: Calle Tulum - Mza 24 Lote 03 | South part of the town, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#9 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#17 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Diego de la Selva 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 2005, Don Diego de la Selva, ideally located at the south end of Tulum, offers to the visitors an accessible alternative to the beachfront cabañas. 12 large rooms with AC, private bathroom and own terrace. Free wi-fi, 24 hours electricity, swimming-pool and tranquila atmosphere! Small bar, delicious homemade breakfast and the best restaurant in town : "Yerbas y Sabores" for the ones who like to discover new ingredients :)- Welcome ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Don Diego de la Selva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Diego De La Selva Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing