We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice little gem of a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Don Diego de la Selva
Ranked #16 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Rogers, Arkansas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A nice little gem of a hotel”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel was one of the three that I stayed at when in Tulum. I would say that all three hotels had their own charm. This one has an amazing garden with a pool and a wonderful restaurant on site. In fact, the restaurant was so good that I kept coming back to it after I checked into another hotel.
The rooms were clean with very good simple design. The whole setting of the hotel transports you into a different world.It has to be experienced for sure. The hotel is at the end of town which makes it for a nice walk to the center of Tulum. The town is very safe so walk at any time or get a taxi if you do not fee like it. Perfect hotel for couples who enjoy a fine dining experience...

Room Tip: all rooms looked like a great room to me :-)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    145
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
104
297
23
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was my second time staying at Don Diego. I still love the location, the feel of an oasis by the lovely pool, the delightful restaurant, and the hammocks. However, one night there was loud music next door until 4 am, and the back patio of our room was buggy and less clean, the screen door was off it's track. Also, the room overhead lighting was so annoying, we actively attempted to use other sources of light.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hattie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles G, Owner at Don Diego de la Selva, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your review Hattie, it was useful : I'm happy to let you know that we did a nice job in your room and refreshed it totally after reading your review!

We changed the mosquitoe net so that it could run easily on its rail, we painted the patio outside, then the walls inside and put some colours, changed the ceiling lights and most important added 2 bedside lights on the wall for all the readers!

We did the same in 3 other rooms, and will continue so that the comfort of our visitors should improve.
I hope you will be able to check it soon with us!

Best regards
Charles Galligani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

When my girlfriend and I began searching for hotels in Tulum, admittedly we were pretty laser-focused on finding one on the beach. As days went on in our search, beach-side hotels started getting booked up. Before we knew it, there were no beach hotels left for us to book.

We came across Don Diego De La Selva and were impressed by their outstanding reviews. We booked the reservation, of course taking any online reviews with a grain of salt. During our stay, however, we quickly fell in love with the hotel and the staff; the reviews were spot on.

The hotel is set toward the back end of town; close enough for a short walk to the downtown restaurants and shops, but far enough that you will have to take a short 5 minute cab ride through town to get to the beaches (I recommend Playa Paradais or Xaxil-Kin). Don't let this deter you! The people of Tulum are friendly and welcoming, go explore!

The staff at Don Diego de la Selva were the pinnacle of warm and welcoming. We grew quite fond of Charles, the owner, and his staff over the 5 days we stayed. They provided us with warm conversation, great food (their restaurant, Paladante, is excellent), and the best insider travel tips we could ever want. The room was beautiful, clean, and well kept and the overall jungle setting of the hotel is beautiful.

I can say with relative certainty that we will again visit Tulum, and we will most definitely be spending our nights at Don Diego de la Selva. A must-book!

P.S. Go snorkeling at Cenote Dos Ojos. It's amazing. Google it.

Room Tip: We were in room 11, tucked away from the rest of the hotel. All of the rooms seem wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was a pleasant surprise...situated just off the main road, it is like walking into an artful replica of a Carribean plantation. The most significant factor is that every detail is attended to from the moment of registration onward. The rooms are basic but creative and aesthetically pleasing. The dinng room, also a beautiful setting, was right off the spacious swimming pool. Our dinner was delicious, equvalent to a Zagat "26", and so graciously served. Both Sabrina and Charles add to the exotic atmosphere here with their warm and gracious attention to every detail. Our only suggestion would be to refine the signature dessert, Baba au Rhum, our favorite dessert but a little disappointing at the end of the meal.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights after arriving back in Tulum, I didn't think about the jungle part of the name when we booked, but this place is set in an impressive jungle/garden of beautiful trees, plants and birds. There is also a gorgeous pool, basically the grounds here are pretty special and so relaxing.

We had an upstairs room with balcony overlooking the trees with a massive hammock and rocking chair.

The bed was huge and super comfortable - I was very appreciative of this fact when I spent a day in bed sick. Our room was spacious and decorated with lovely Mexican details and the shower had a glass roof! Our room was spotless and felt brand new.

The food was very good, breakfasts are included: pastries with delicious home made jams and fruit condiments, juices etc. The restaurant at night is romantic, we had main courses and deserts and everything we ate was delicious and well made.

We felt right at home straight away, the owners are incredible friendly and helpful and took the time to show us the bee hives they look after in a conservation project and a permaculture farm across the road as well.

If you care about things like that it is just the cherry on the top of a gorgeous boutique hotel.

A lot of people mention the location, but for us the ability to get away from the hustle and bustle of town with just a 10 minute walk was a massive bonus. You can catch a taxi anywhere in town for $25-$30 pesos (US$2) or to the beach for $50 pesos (US$4) for the seclusion it is well worth it.

Note: make sure you buy the honey - it is divine!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kungfukitty_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galligani, Propietario at Don Diego de la Selva, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your review!
We did think about you today, as for the first day of the new mayan calendar, we received in Don Diego de la Selva 18 priests from the mayan churches all over Quintana Roo and they made a beautiful ceremony with the bees.
We are so glad about this connection with the bees! You would have loved it!
Have a great time and we hope to see you back soon.
Charly & Stephane & All the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calakmul
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I flew in to Cancun and before heading off to our own place we decided to spend a few wind down days in Tulum. We have always enjoyed their cuisine so arranged to stay there. It was just what we needed. The staff, especially Charles, are so friendly without being pushy, the rooms are super clean and airy. We stayed in one with A/C and a patio in the garden. Dinner the first night was more than we could eat and delicious with reasonable unusual choices. Prices were quite acceptable and the ambiance lovely. The morning breakfast was tasty and a long way from boring and as it was low season, Charles told us that for that night there would be no dinner as it was a day off for one of his skeleton staff. He suggested some other restaurants nearby and we found his descriptions and recommendation right on. After a day on the beach plus some exploring, it was great to just sit out on our patio with a glass of wine.
Definately this is the place to stay in Tulum. The Beachfront properties looked very squished together and insanely priced and not far inside the Siaan Kaan we found a secluded beach and there is beach access right at the bottom of the road to the beach.

Room Tip: Pick the one that suits what you like, A/C or fans, patio or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickanddiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vail
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is our first time in Tulum and we have experienced the best service in tulum. Charles is the hands on owner making sure your stay is all what you had expected. The staff, Sabrina is most helpful and full of information on what to do around town, beaches and what NOT to miss around Tulum. The rooms are big and comfortable. Located at the end of town in a quite street but walikng distance to all atractions in Tulum and just 10 minutes cab ride to the incredible beaches of Tulum.
We are definetly coming back to visit Don Diego de la selva again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 96 in Tulum
850 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#18 of 96 in Tulum
599 reviews
2.8 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 96 in Tulum
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#2 of 96 in Tulum
923 reviews
4.6 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#14 of 96 in Tulum
352 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#48 of 96 in Tulum
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Diego de la Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Diego de la Selva

Property: Don Diego de la Selva
Address: Calle Tulum - Mza 24 Lote 03 | South part of the town, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#9 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#17 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Diego de la Selva 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 2005, Don Diego de la Selva, ideally located at the south end of Tulum, offers to the visitors an accessible alternative to the beachfront cabañas. 12 large rooms with AC, private bathroom and own terrace. Free wi-fi, 24 hours electricity, swimming-pool and tranquila atmosphere! Small bar, delicious homemade breakfast and the best restaurant in town : "Yerbas y Sabores" for the ones who like to discover new ingredients :)- Welcome ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Don Diego de la Selva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Diego De La Selva Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing