We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Don Diego de la Selva
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2008

I second everything RTD1030 has written, a perfectly accurate review. No need to elaborate. We stayed one week in late January into February, I have to say it was one of the best, if not the best, hotel experiences I have every had, after having traveled many places internationally. As another reviewer has written, the only caveat is that one must drive or take a taxi to the beach. But the hotel, which is within a walled enclave, was spotlessly clean and extremely well run. Incidentally, when we used the pool, it was frequently empty-like having ones own private pool.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank buck9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 574 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2008

** Absolutely the Best ***

I have just returned from a wonderfully romantic 25th anniversary trip and couldn’t be happier with our decision to stay at Don Diego de la Selva. Charles and Stephan have created a small paradise down a little dirt road in Tulum. Lushly landscaped and decorated with simple elegance, the way the rooms are offset at angles gives each one privacy, the back patio complete with hammock and chair. They serve the best breakfast I have every had (even in Europe) with fresh squeezed juice blends, gourmet coffee, toast and preserves, a big bowl of cut up fresh fruit and a different cake every day. They had incredibly thick towels, a huge bed with firm orthopedic mattress, and with the skylight I really enjoyed a moonlit shower under the stars, as another reviewer had suggested. They serve dinner there every night except Wednesday now and have a wonderful chef. We ate here 3 of the 5 nights and were never disappointed. Gourmet dining that was not any more expensive than restaurants in town and much less than those on the coast. Some people came just to eat dinner. At night they serve drinks at the bar and play a nice selection of music softly (can’t hear from the rooms) Reservations not needed (a relief after arriving late) and they do take credit cards too. It is under a 2 hr drive from Cancun airport, down the coast road. After passing through Tulum Pueblo, just after the middle divider ends, look on right for the sign to turn in. Thanks to the person who put the picture of the sign here! Even though it was dark and rainy that made it easy for us to find. I had only found this place on Trip Advisor by it being the 5th most popular of 52 hotels in Tulum. The only others rated higher were 2-3x the price or didn’t have a pool or air conditioning. When you walk through their red gate (locked at 10pm but you have a key) it is like you enter another world. This is a true bargain at $85/night in high season. The only person here who quoted a price higher, must have been there Christmas week or had extra people!? He also stated it is near a junkyard. That is not true! There is no junkyard here! There were trucks parked up by the main road sometimes, as there was construction. The early morning animal sounds are same as you hear outside of town anywhere and certainly not loud or intrusive. A walk on the beach and Tulum Ruins are just 5 minutes away by car. I am more than willing to trade that for 24/7 electric, a/c and no sand in the bed! Soon they will be able to offer the best of both worlds though as they told us in March will be opening Don Diego de la Playa, with cabanas on the beach. You would be able to chose a night or 2 to sleep by the ocean. This place is best to stay with a car, but there were some backpackers here and they do rent bikes. They have snorkeling equipment you can use for free and the pool, grounds and rooms are impeccably clean. They have a security/safe available and a large bottled water dispenser is there to fill up your bottles before day trips and a refrigerator underneath to use too. The friendly staff has excellent travel advice and can give directions. (tri-lingual English, Spanish and French) The Chichen Itza and Ek Balam Mayan ruins are easy day trips each under 2 hrs away. We didn’t do Coba Ruins or Xel-Ha but they are even closer as is the Sian Kaan Biosphere. Tulum Beach was best toward the ruins (turn left off beach rd) and truly was one of the best in the world, with very soft white sand. I would also highly recommend Il Giardino Italian Restaurant (a block off hwy at towns northernmost cross street Satellite) and Mariachi’s in town (corner of Orion) across from supermarket. We got to enjoy the famed restaurant at Zamas right on the Ocean economically for lunch (turn right at Beach Rd for that and that road goes on into Sian Kaan nature reserve. Don Diego de la Selva has a resort feel without the masses of people or the huge price. I felt like we stayed in comfort and luxury and got to see the “real mexico”. We truly could not have asked for more!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank rtd1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2008

We just went from a trip to Yucatan and tayed one night a this hotel.

I you want to go to the beach by walking, this is not the hotel for you. If you want to go to restaurants in town by walking, this is neither the choice. If you want to stay at the hotel, isolated, near the pool, this is for you.

Don Diego de la Selva is beautiful and clean. The rooms are perfect. The staff is polite and friendly. BUT it is located near a boulevard in a junkyard with noisy neighbors like shrieking roosters and barking dogs. The moment you put a foot outside, you want to go elsewhere as soon as possible.

For 1200 pesos a night, we will sleep elsewhre next time.

Stayed: January 2008
4  Thank Yasuhito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of our 2 week mexican holiday. Having found their website on the internet, looking it up on trip advisor, we called them up to book a room. We loved it here and not only were the owners Charles and Stefan very friendly they made us feel at home as soon as we walked in. We had a hire car that we rented from Cancun Airport and it took about 1.5hrs to get there- very easy, just one straight line..... Don Diego is down a dusty track at the end of Tulum town.. As we drove down (clearly sign posted on the side of the road) we wondered what we were getting ourselves into! We were pleasantly surprised.. breakfasts were worth getting up for and everyday following bread and jams, freshly squeezed juice tea/coffee; we were served a cake that was baked that morning, each day was a different cake... Yummy..
Everyday we got in our car (not sure Id like to be there without a car) and drove to the beaches (10min drive) and these were the best beaches we've been to in a long long time.. The sea was clear and the sand white.. very clean, warm and chilled out... Will definitely go there again, without a shadow of a doubt!!! So, it's a thumbs up for Don Diego de la Selva... Soooo reasonable! What they offer far outwieghs what they charge. A nugget of a find- we just didnt want to leave!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MissJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2007

We made our reservation so long before the trip that we didn't really have any expectation (because we can no longer remember what we booked ...) Luckily, the directions given were good and although the hotel is a little past most of the town/activities we had no problem finding the place even after dark.

The check in desk is located in the "main" building, which is an open air restaurant and bar "complex." The staff seems to multi-task in this hotel. The person who checked us in did so between serving other guests' dinners.

After we checked in, we headed out to town for dinner. When we returned, the restaurant/bar quieted down and we were able to get very useful information about nearby attractions, especially on snorkeling. We also found out that we probably should have stayed in the hotel for dinner. One of the specials of the night was bouillabaisse and the person we were talking to was originally from Marseilles!

And to our delight, our room was not a room but a cabina. It looks like it has some kind of natural material made into a conical shape. There is also a hammock in the cabina that adds atmosphere. (Unfortunately, the comfort level of the hammock is only so-so.) Room is clean. They folded the clean towels into a cute swan on the bed. I don't recall an A/C but there was an overhead fan, which worked fine for temperature regulation for us. Shower is a little unusual. There is no door. Water will not come out because there is still a partial wall but it feels a little strange. The toilet is next to the shower but has a door.

The bed is comfortable and we had nice, sound sleep until about 5:30 a.m. or so when the roosters and other animals started making noises. It bothered us a little but not too much because we were going to get up early anyway

The ground itself is small but nice. It has a swimming pool that we didn't use. By the pool there are snorkeling gears you can borrow for the day for no charge. They are not fancy but adequate. We were just grateful to have anything because we had trouble renting snorkeling equipment else along the Mayan Rivera.

Breakfast was included in the room rate (and they were nice enough to remind us.) They served a simple breakfast that included bread with butter and fruit preserves, fruit, tea/coffee and cake.

We only stayed in this hotel for one night because of our limited time. We definitely wished we could spend more time in the area and stayed in this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seadaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2007

We stayed at Don Diego de la Selva from Nov 2nd for 3 nights.
The hotel is really excellent: very clean, nice rooms, open terrace for meals, hammocks everywhere to relax and also offers a pool. There is a bar and restaurant on the property as well.
All staff were very friendly and helpful. Even before booking, Charlie was very helpful and the e-mail contact was very pleasant and quick.

Breakfast is included in the rate and you could have as much bread, coffee, fruit and juice as you liked. Also, there was a little piece of cake every morning - homemade. Dinner is also very good - try the fish grilled in banana leaves !
Don Diego proved to be the perfect base for sightseeing trips to the ruins; like Chichen Itza.
The only reason we stayed not more than 3 nights is that it is not on the beach - but apart from this, it's an excellent hotel and we would come back anytime.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rehtse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2007

Charlie and staff were soo helpful and freindly. We stayed for a week in Mid March. We originally got an room with a fan but later decided to get one with A/C. Its very quiet relaxing and beautiful here. I would love to go back for another week! Breadfast is juices and breads/cakes with homade jams. I want the recipe for the pinnapple preserves!
So relaxing, such a great little town. Such helpful hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank magirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.9 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#19 of 100 in Tulum
623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 100 in Tulum
945 reviews
0 mi away
Villas H2O
Villas H2O
#46 of 100 in Tulum
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#44 of 100 in Tulum
379 reviews
2.9 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#18 of 100 in Tulum
612 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coco Hacienda Tulum
Coco Hacienda Tulum
#21 of 100 in Tulum
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Diego de la Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Diego de la Selva

Address: Calle Tulum - Mza 24 Lote 03 | South part of the town, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#6 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#11 Family Hotel in Tulum
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $82 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Diego de la Selva 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 2005, Don Diego de la Selva, ideally located at the south end of Tulum, offers to the visitors an accessible alternative to the beachfront cabañas. 12 large rooms with AC, private bathroom and own terrace. Free wi-fi, 24 hours electricity, swimming-pool and tranquila atmosphere! Small bar, delicious homemade breakfast and the best restaurant in town : "Yerbas y Sabores" for the ones who like to discover new ingredients :)- Welcome ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Don Diego de la Selva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Diego De La Selva Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing