We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twice in 5 nights”
Review of Can Sushi - CLOSED

Can Sushi
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Twice in 5 nights”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My husband and I absolutely loved CAN Sushi! The sushi chef/owner and wait staff were extremely friendly, and we got great advice on what to order. The fresh sashimi was incredible, and so fun to eat new local fish that we hadn't tried before. The Salmon Torch roll and the bochinette were particularly delicious. We enjoyed our first night eating there so much that we can back for our last night in Tulum. Truly an amazing sushi restaurant with wonderful atmosphere, people, and it was very reasonably priced. Also you have to love any restaurant that's right on the beach so all you have to do is stroll along the ocean waves to get back to your hotel from dinner!
Can't wait to come back to Tulum and particularly to CAN Sushi! We'll bring friends!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Sushi in Tulum”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

If you want a break from the variations on the typical fare found along the beach road, you won't god wrong on Can Sushi. Nicely done. It's a bit on the pricey side for sushi, but we sure liked it!

We entered from the road side at night. On the beach side, you'll see a little cabaña with swing seats where we saw people enjoying a cocktail--not sure if they serve food during the afternoon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Meal Out in Tulum”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Can Sushi was the highlight of our meals outside of our hotel while in Tulum. After multiple attempts to get a table at Hartwood and two lousy and expensive restaurants along the beach road, it was a great end to our vacation. My husband and I shared the chef's plate and enjoyed every piece of sashimi and roll on it. The staff happily honored our request for no cream cheese (which is a standard sushi ingredient in Mexico) and made sure we would be content with what the Chef usually included. We definitely were.

Service was friendly and the fish was super fresh. The price for the chef's plate was spot on.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
“Good food ”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

I had a great time at the can sushi. I ordered the Tuna tartare which was very fresh and simple. After that the Asian cod as mentioned in another comment was superb. All the other rolls were excellent as well. The only little thing I might have appreciated is a warmer approach by the staff. My waitress was new and didn't really possess the menu. (I would have also like a better description of the rolls). I would recommend it to anyone. Just to let you know they only take cash.

Helpful?
Thank m3n4c3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food, great drinks, great service”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We were quite fortunate in that every meal we had in Tulum was really good, but the Sushi at Can Sushi was definitely one of the highlights.

Superb sushi, uber fresh with an interesting mix of local fish for sashimi. The chef's platter was the perfect size for two hungry people.

The thing that sets Can Sushi apart from other restaurants in Tulum are the guys that run it - very friendly, very funny, and great customer service (and the mojitos were the best we had all week).

It's always great to see a chef so passionate about his food, if we ever go back to Tulum we will go back here..

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveShovelhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Can Sushi also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing