We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sian ka'an Eco Adventure - Day Tours
Review Highlights
I will never forget this day!

My wife booked this tour for us on our 14th anniversary. We both love the outdoors but she... read more

Reviewed March 26, 2018
X3697UUaaronl
,
Camarillo, California
Easy to book and a blast on the water

If you're in Tulum, definitely take a few hours to explore the miles of beautiful lagoons and Mayan... read more

Reviewed March 3, 2018
Lee S
,
Sonoma, California
Read all 40 reviews
  
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveler rating
33
4
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
33
4
2
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 40 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband and I had a great tour of the Mayan Canal and Muyil ruins with our tour guide Ben. We were picked up at our hotel and then driven to the Sian Ka'an reserve which was about 20 minutes away from our hotel. We learned a lot about the ancient Mayan culture and how the canal was used from trade purposes. After a half hour boat ride over 2 lagoons and the canal, we floated down a natural lazy river and then took a ten minute walk back to the boat. Our guide was very knowledgable and hand an answer to all our questions. We then road back to the marina and drove to the Muyil ruins which were unlike the Tulum or Coba ruins as they were not crowded and still being excavated. I highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: February 2014
Thank 910heatherh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

It was a workout, but our Mayan guide Pastor knew so much about the fish, the mangroves, the water, the original mayan canal, it was an incredible experience. The mangroves are incredibly beautiful, the water is breathtaking in the canal, and the marshes are stunning.

Date of experience: January 2014
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We took the Mayan canal tour on 26 December 2013 with "Sian ka'an Eco Adventure", and it was the most memorable and special experience during our whole vacation in Tulum, even for our 3-yo daughter.
The place itself would be worth its own review, considering its cultural and natural history, and the chance to float down a creek cutting through pristine mangrove and salt grass wetlands on your lifejacket for half an hour, the water just perfectly clear and refreshing.
The other reason why this was such a great experience was certainly because of our friendly and professional guide Ben from "Sian ka'an Eco Adventure", who perfectly organized the tour, and answered all our questions reaching from Mayan ruins and culture over wildlife and vegetation to Mexican politics and general travel tips; but stayed in the background when it was time for us to experience the beauty ourselves.
This compact tour included a walk through a jungle site containing Mayan ruins, and a fun ride in a small boat across two lagoons to the creek mentioned above. Then yummy and fresh empanadas and fresh fruit and a cooler full of fresh local drinks (horchata, hibiscus juice etc).
The tour was advertised to be 2 hours, but I recommend planning for longer, depending from where you start and your preferred pace. Our tour turned out to last from 8 am to 3 pm, starting from the Hotel Zone, but we took our time, and Ben did not seem to mind. So while USD 85 per person (our daughter came for free) sounds rather much in the beginning, it is really worth every penny, because it also includes transportation, food, drinks and entrance fees (and there were zero "hidden fees"). On top of that, you support an important nature preserve and a competent and honest local business.
The only negative thing I wanted to mention is that the van had no working seat belts at the rear seats (Just like every other cab and shuttle we used around Tulum; what's up with that?) Besides that, the van was new and in great shape and Ben was a careful and responsible driver.

So YES, we would highly recommend this tour to a friend!

Date of experience: December 2013
Thank Bernhard_War
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: March 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017
Google Translation

Date of experience: September 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews