We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

i had originally written a comprehensive review of this resort but regrettably it was deleted so unfortunately i only have time to do a brief one. I stayed here with my wife in August as part of our honeymoon. Our expectations were not high as put simply this was the cheapest of all 3 of our holiday destintations in Mexico. It was however our favourate. The food at the restaurant was the best we had sampled in Telum and up there with the best in Mexico. It is very reasonably priced compared with the other restaurants offering beachfront settings. The lovers package was outstanding value- including a free meal (with champagne -a good quality bottle too) plus 2 1 hour massages and a very reasonable room rate. The massages were excellent. Our room was good it had no air con but this was not such an issue as the sea breeze and fan in the room act are adequate alternatives. Maybe a problem if you require extremely cold conditions. Lastly a word on the staff. All were great but Maggy and Ana were supherb front of house. They made us feel important and were extremely accomodating to all of our requests. I also got the impression that they are genuine people who actually wanted us to have a lovely time and were not simply trying to fish for tips- something that i experienced in other destinations. The owners should be extremely proud of their work and approach. I would not hesitate in recommending this place particularly if you are avid sun worshipers looking for a chilled out atmoshphere and first class food.

Room Tip: Sea view to allow sea breeze otherwise it could get pretty hot. N.3 or N.4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eagleeye090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezManager, Gerente at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for such a detail contribution! Maguie and Ana appreciated it your comments!

Saludos,

Laura Avila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    90
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
48
483
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed at the master suite and my 3 night stay was a heavenly bliss. You wake up to the sound of the sea and at night you can see the stars from the balcony. The beach is more beautiful than Cancun, (the sand is much finer and there is a rocky landscape on the right) You can also walk to the Tulum ruins (takes about 20-30min by the beach) with local beach bars (awesome beach food) and cabanas along the way.

It's a good balance of rustic, authenticity and comfort.

Room Tip: Only choose the master suite because it offers so much more
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sixiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezManager, Gerente at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We are very happy to hear you could appreciate the magic of Tulum, we have always said we aren't a five stars hotel,we are a millions of stars place!

Hasta Pronto!

Laura Avila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, NY
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We drove down to Tulum for the day, and on the advice of one of the reviewers, at at the restaurant at the Mezzanine. The food was a Thai inspired menu. The happy hour was fantastic, with a 2 for one on their cocktails. The food was delicious. The tom yom soup was a bit spicy, and as they tend to be liberal with the heat, make sure you let them know if you would like the food more mild. The restaurant overlooks the beach. We did not see the rooms, but the property was very chic and looked to be a great place to stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drdkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezManager, Gerente at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks a lot for your kinds comments, we hope next time you stay with us!

Hasta Pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stepping into my master suite was like entering into my little paradise! Fresh feel décor and space was filled with the ocean breeze floating through the sliding doors that lured me to my balcony exposing the incredible view of Tulums clear aqua blue waters splashing against the creamy sands.
The staff spoil you from the moment you step on property! They are all very helpful with ideas and information about places to visit. They all really do a wonderful job in particular staff members Maggi Oyuki and Jonathan!!! Cant wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umeå, Västerbottens Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This Caribbean pearl is all about luxury but with a warm and cosy feeling. We stayed eight wonderful days here during our honeymoon and we spent most of our time at the hotel premises or at the beach just below. The hotel has everything you need and the service is excellent. Tulum is a quite calm and easy-going place, but during off-season (we were here in mid nov) not all hotels and restaurants are up and running yet. We stayed in the Sea view room, a two level room (stair to upper balcony level) with a beautiful roof window and really comfy bed. The hotel arranged everything we asked for (special thanks to our concierge Maguie), even a beautiful flower arrangement from my husband for my birthday. The clean beach towels and the bottles of water supplied each day and the basket with tea/coffee outside your door each morning are all signs of this great hotel's excellent level of service!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline_Ohrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezManager, Gerente at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Caroline,

Thank you so much for contribution, make us very happy to hear our little place had all you needed. Glad Maguie could help on that special occasion. We look forward to your next visit!

Hasta Pronto,

Laura Avila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I can't imagine anyone not enjoying this intimate, priceless slice of paradise on earth. Personalized attention, excellent service, great food, warm welcome, a wide range of available extras at one's disposal, rare attention to detail in the room arrangement, the small acts of kindness that are actually very big and the overall feel of the place and experience. We had an unforgettable time and can't imagine not being back at some point. Thank you for a fantastic vacation!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezManager, Gerente at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your amazing review, we would love to have you again as a guest in our little place,

Hasta Pronto!

Laura Avila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I'm a bit late in writing this review but I couldn't help but write a little something. The rooms are absolutely decadent. Plush white fluffy beds, soft breeze off the ocean, amazingly fresh and lovingly prepared food, plentiful lounging space, quiet safe location, breathtaking views, friendly staff, service with a smile, etc. There are only a couple reasons why I didn't grade this as excellent. The first is that we had requested a room furthest away from the walkway/entrance to rooms (we are on our honeymoon ;) ) When we got there we were given the room closest to the walk up which meant everyone going to their rooms walked by our window (which is open/shutter style). We asked our hostess about the room we requested and she said...it's already taken. This is the only room we have. I had even called the wee prior to confirm. There is plenty to do within driving distance. We went to an ecological reserve called Xel-Ha and it was awesome! I highly recommend it.
Overall:
The Good- Delicious food (I would go back just for the fish tacos and mango margaritas), spacious beautiful rooms, super friendly staff (not management), and the most breathtaking views.
The Bad- Requests not honored, food is expensive.
The Ugly- None really.

Room Tip: Have the fish tacos they are amazing, visit Xel-Ha and the mayan ruins they are delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marrisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezManager, Gerente at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience after such a long time, is great to know that you remember and enjoy your stay at Mezzanine that much. The management changed in 2007, but our polices are the same, we would love to be able to satisfy every guest request, the room allocation depends of several factors, we have four type of rooms, all of them look pretty much the same in his own type, if the availability allows we are happy to assign the room of your preference.

Mango margaritas will be waiting for your next visit !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.4 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
4.2 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
4.4 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#11 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel

Property: Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel
Address: Carretera Tulum_Boca Paila km 1.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#16 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slip into the ultimate Mexican Caribbean beach vacation at stylish Mezzanine; a true contemporary Tulum boutique hotel experience with an authentic Thai restaurant and hip martini lounge. Found along Mexico's stunning Riviera Maya, just 30 minutes south of Playa del Carmen, unconventional, unexpected and ultra-cool, Mezzanine is the ideal Tulum hotel option for beach vacationers looking to experience the natural beauty of Mexico's Caribbean coastline from a minimalist and elegant setting.Expect the unexpected at Mezzanine. Come to Tulum for the white sand beaches, the Mayan ruins and the jungle adventures, stay at Mezzanine for the smooth grooves, hot fiestas, crisp cocktails and the stylish, hipster vibe. This is an adults only hotel. Children are permitted in the restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mezzanine Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing