We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Know what you are letting yourself in for as many with more to offer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Know what you are letting yourself in for as many with more to offer”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We booked this for just 3 nights at the end of a 12 day stay in Mexico City and then Tulum. The website was very alluring.

The price was high but we thought that it looked great so let's splash out.

The hotel DID tell us that there would be a beach party on the Friday, but it did NOT say that what they really meant was that in this TINY complex of just 10 rooms which appear to be an add-on to a bar and restaurant, the music would actually be in the complex, under our window and in the room.

Reasons to visit:
Lovely location
Great reception staff
Vinyl record player and records in the room
Great pillows and bed

Reasons to not visit:
A completely open plan room with toilet (with an open paper basket of course for the toilet tissue) in the same room in which you sleep, eat and so on. A real passion killer, luckily we did not have bowel issues but god help you if you do. Not a honeymoon stay for sure.
No shade on the balcony, rendering it impossible to use unless completely covered (we had room 9)
They want 100% payment as you arrive and after a 16 hours journey that is not funny - you want a rest, a clean towel and maybe the toilet ... until you get to it!

We asked to be moved after just 1 night a we struggled with it not actually being on the beach, the staff not really understanding top notch service, maintenance meaning our room was too noisy and then the threat of no sleep on the Friday night, plus the above.

Maguie on reception was excellent, she moved is to El Pez, a sister hotel which we LOVE.

So - decide what you want from a hotel I guess. We wanted relaxation, ease of use, a bar and restaurant near enough to nip to, water at our feet and a toilet that was at least partially private! Well done Maguie though for making no fuss and moving us as this would otherwise have been POOR.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezManager, Gerente at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for your feedback , Mezzanine is certainly not a place for everybody, for that reason we try our best to move you to our sister Hotel, very glad Pez was the place you were looking for!
About the Friday Night Party, we are happy to anounce you that in the benefice for our guest we dicede to come up with an early party concept, next time you are in Tulum make sure you join our Havana Night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    93
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
53
518
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Everything I love about Tulum, I loved about Mezzanine- off the beaten path, small, understated and beautiful. The service was great, drinks were outstanding, rooms were nice, and the beach was second to none in Tulum! It was a close bike ride to the ruins and a close taxi to check out other restaurants/sights nearby. I would love to come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Opt for a sea view room- it is worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

second time there after a 6 years break and still one of the best places i've stayed in. the location is amazing. if you go for a master suite you have unspoilt views over the beach and the sea, lying in bed gazing over the sea is perfect relaxation. service is excellent. breakfast and dinner menu are excellent. the food is scrumptuous and the margaritas addictive! the only downside is that during the week after 10.30pm you most likely won't get a drink at the bar any longer, which is a bit of a downer. beware that the hotel, eating etc comes at quite a high price tag!

Room Tip: the sea view rooms are fantastic, the master suites divine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfmjust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

As a Director of Operations for a San Francisco hotel company, I write this without bias, written in the lens of a customer not as a hotel professional. Mezzanine is the best hotel in Tulum. And this is our second time to Tulum…hands down, our favorite place on the planet outside San Francisco.

Stay at the Mezzanine, and nowhere else because:

• LOCATION: Quiet, beach front, north side of beach with the fewest surrounding hotels. Minutes to downtown, supermarket, and Tulum Ruins in walking distance.
• BEACH: Literally 9 steps down to the beach. Beach is large, clean, gorgeous turquois water, warm water, very few rocks. Complimentary lounge chairs and umbrellas provided upon request. This beach is beautiful, besting in my opinion Turks and Caicos, Santorini, Capri, Almafi Coast, Hawaii, and any in California.
• HOSPITALITY AT ITS FINEST: Honest smiles, remembers your name, SUPERIOR guest service.
• ON SITE RESTAURANT: Pancakes and eggs benedict, [--], even the scrambled eggs to die for—better than any diner in the States. Thai dinner, amazing steak and lobster. Full bar.
• FACILITY: Extremely clean, well maintained, daily cleaning service, on-site pool, running hot water, electricity, in-room safes, free parking. Gated and locked at night with an on-site security guard. Intimate as there are only 10 rooms. Master Suite 9 and 10 sublime! Sea View rooms very spacious and has an upstairs loft with bed. Budha Den not bad. Hotel is NOT recommended for kids as the hotel is a mature setting…crying babies will ruin everything. In fact, I believe no one under 16 is allowed.

I mentioned it’s our second time in Tulum because:

We had our March wedding at the Mezzanine as the highlight of our 5-day stay at his amazing hotel. First and most importantly, thank you to Elisa Meani and Laura Lopez for coordinating the best day of our lives. Elisa and Laura have coordinated with us for over 6 months via email—dozens of email, back and forth. Everything turned out perfectly--with NO stress, I repeat ZERO stress—to either my new wife or me. Their hard work afforded us the optimum opportunity to bond with our guests, drink gallons of tequila, lounge on the beach, go to Chichen Itza and Tulum ruins, roam the town, and lounge on the beach some more. Secondly, I commend the staff: Maggie, Erick, Gil, bar staff, et al. whose impeccable hospitality should be the benchmark of hotel service. Last but not least, Dim, chef and proprietor of the Thai Restaurant on site. Delicious is an understatement of your cuisine, especially during our wedding dinner.
We’ll be back to Tulum, particularly Mezzanine at least once a year. We’re shooting for November, every Thanksgiving because getting fat on turkey, watching football, and seeing family has begotten overrated. We can do that all that $hit on Christmas. And if you’d like to know more or need advice on planning a wedding in Tulum feel free to contact me.

Room Tip: Budha Dens face the street and is opposite the beach. Sea View rooms can fit 3, with a loft area wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOOCELEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights. The beach at mezzanine was the best swimming spot, perfect aqua blue water! Staff were vey friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 5 'the den', bed was amazing! We didn't like the fact there was no door on the bathroom, just a curtain for the toilet but apart from that the room was great. Loved the complimentary use of beach bag and towels. This hotel is a short stroll on the beach to other hotels so its easy to explore other food options during the day. At night the road is very dark so we took a taxi into town or to another hotel for dinner (50 pesos). Next time I'd stay in a beach front room, the view is amazing!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antananarivo, Madagascar
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were looking for a nice hotel in Tulum and found out about the Mezzanine.

The booking experience was smooth and our stay amazing thanks to the staff. They are all very helpful and knowledgeable about the region. We opted for a room without a view which was OK for the price and the small amount of time we would spend in our rooms. The only downside was the fact that there is no separation between the bathroom and the bedroom.

Overlooking the extremity of the beach, its location make it a nice spot as there is not too much traffic on the beach, it's away from the big crowds.

They have excellent huevos rancheros at breakfast, the Thai restaurant is good too but nothing really exceptional, the bar has a great selection of cocktails ( they have a cocktail of a day which was always nice ).

Note that this hotel does not accept kids & babies but their sister hotel do ( La Zebra )

If you are active, this hotel is great : This hotel is not boring, towards they end of the week, they always have a band playing or a visiting DJ at the famous Friday night party.

One of my favourite hotels. Would definitely come back and hopefully opt for a sea view suite.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was at mezzanine about 6 years ago and loved it then, so this time I was anxious to see how the hotel had changed and whether is was as good as last time. It was. In fact, it was better because this time we booked Room 10, which didn't even exist last time we were there. That is an awesome room, and it even has a turntable with some great vinyl. We spent hours listening to old tunes, good times.

We loved the food, the beach, the vibe, the Friday night party, the staff, everything. Maggie and Erik were particularly great. We were there with a group of 5 other couples and the staff did a great job accommodating our needs and our eccentricities. The food in Tulum is varied and very good if you know where to go, Maggie took good care of us on that. We will definitely be back again, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.4 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
4.2 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
401 reviews
2.0 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 96 in Tulum
1,268 reviews
3.8 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 96 in Tulum
852 reviews
4.4 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 96 in Tulum
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel

Property: Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel
Address: Carretera Tulum_Boca Paila km 1.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#16 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slip into the ultimate Mexican Caribbean beach vacation at stylish Mezzanine; a true contemporary Tulum boutique hotel experience with an authentic Thai restaurant and hip martini lounge. Found along Mexico's stunning Riviera Maya, just 30 minutes south of Playa del Carmen, unconventional, unexpected and ultra-cool, Mezzanine is the ideal Tulum hotel option for beach vacationers looking to experience the natural beauty of Mexico's Caribbean coastline from a minimalist and elegant setting.Expect the unexpected at Mezzanine. Come to Tulum for the white sand beaches, the Mayan ruins and the jungle adventures, stay at Mezzanine for the smooth grooves, hot fiestas, crisp cocktails and the stylish, hipster vibe. This is an adults only hotel. Children are permitted in the restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mezzanine Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing