We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure paradise and perfect in every way...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pure paradise and perfect in every way...”
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

I booked in to the seaview room no 4 for one night and were greeted by wonderful reception staff and a welcome margarita. We could not stop grinning, the room was beyond perfect with amazing styling and linen, even had Molten Brown products in the bathroom! The location is perfect being right on the beach and 20 minutes walking along the sand to the ruins. They also have an amazing Thai restaurant run by a Thai chef and they also serve a few other options of Mexican and western dishes as well. Their breakfasts we're amazing, you have to try their Eggs Benedict and their fresh fruit juices too. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, we had such an amazing time we stayed two more nights and I also came back the following week for another night. Every Friday they also hold a party with DJ's from Ibiza...the best dancing I have had in a couple of years. I guarantee if you stay here you will have a truly amazing time...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstyHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezManager, Manager at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your amazing comments and for sharing your pictures, we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    93
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
53
518
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I couldn't say enough positive things about our stay at Mezzanine. I first visited Mezzanine during a trip to Tulum 7 years ago. I was staying in some Cabañas closer to the ruins but we always went to Mezzanine for their 2 for 1 Margaritas happy hour (which still exists). It was always on my mind to stay there upon returning to Tulum and I'm so glad we did. This time around I went with my husband and we stayed in room Sea View 1. The bed was huge and comfortable and the room was spacious. Although there was no AC (as is common in that area), the room was so breezy and comfortable. I'd much rather be cooled by a Caribbean breeze over fake air anyways! The area of the beach that surrounds Mezzanine is my favorite in all of Tulum. It's so clean/clear and effortless to go for a swim. Powdery white sand and turquoise water...it doesn't get any better. It was also nice to be walking distance to the Tulum ruins and many great restaurants. We ended up eating at Mezzanine's restaurant more often than not as the food was SO GOOD! Some of my favorites are: Pad Thai, Spinach Gorgonzola Salad, Fish Tacos and so many others...delicious fresh squeezed juices and drinks too. On Friday they have a great party with performances and worldly DJ's. Great fun crowd, we had a blast. Aside from the beauty and other amenities, my favorite part of Mezzanine is the vibe. The staff is so cool and helpful, without ever being pushy (something I hate at big resorts). They genuinely get to know you and help make your vacation amazing. Gil and Maggie went above and beyond for us, hope to see them next time!

Some other "must see" suggestions for Tulum:

Chichen Itza: the trip organized by Mezzanine was great...only 6 people in our tour group and we stopped at a Cenote (another must) and small Mexican town for lunch (delicious and authentic).

La Zebra on Sunday: Also good food and a really fun Salsa dance party .

Pueblo: Great for souvenir shopping and to get a realistic glimpse of everyday life in Tulum.

We can't wait to go back, LOVE this place :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GosiaBianco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezManager, Gerente at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We feel very flattered with your amazing comments. Look forward to your return! Hasta Pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Mezzanine is located on the beach strip in Tulum closer to the Mayan Ruins. It is more low key in this section as the hotels less dense at this end of the beach which makes it a peaceful respite. Of course, you can jump on a bike or a taxi and within minutes be at the other end of the beach strip with many boutique hotels, restaurants and shops OR be in the town of Tulum where there is a mix of local shops selling traditional Mexican crafts and great restaurants that vary from Mexican to Italian. Mezzanine is a low key and beautiful boutique hotel with an amazing staff, gorgeous beach views an an overall ambiance unlike any other. Their food and drink would be enough to enjoy if you never wanted to leave as they have an amazing Thai restaurant in addition to a delicious every day menu that features guacamole, wraps, sandwiches and really fantastic french fries! We were in Playa Del Carmen on our last trip to Mexico and the food was no where near as good.
The rooms have a peaceful low key luxury feel with calm lighting and zen decorating details, think golds and reds with tan. You wake up each morning to a basket in front of your door with a thermos of hot coffee. In the event you a more of a tea drinker the staff is happy to accommodate. In fact the staff are what really make the experience. They are so kind, warm and lovely you can not leave without feeling like you've made some new friends that you'd be happy to visit with again. My husband and I are looking forward to out next visit to Tulum and we'll definitely be staying at Mezzanine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jchaze03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezManager, Gerente at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thanks for your nice contribution,it is very pleased to hear you had such a good time! Till next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Tulum is a slice of paradise, and my stay at Mezzanine only enhanced my experience there. The room was clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly, warm and welcoming. The breakfasts are great (new addiction to the chorizo omelette & All Nighter' smoothie!) and I tried the curry from the thai menu which was delicious! It's only a few steps from the Caribbean ocean, so you can hear the waves from your bed and there's no excuse not to go for an pre-breakfast swim!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank londonalex_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezManager, Gerente at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thanks a lot for taking the time to share your experience with other readers. It was a presure to have you in our little Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We9 stayed at Mezzanine for my birthday celebration - our first room was on #9, which had the most comfortable bed, ever, and a private patio with a beautiful eastern view. Our other room was an ocean view which featured a private bath, queen bed and loft. The view was really beautiful - the sunrises in particular were the best. Every morning at 7:00 a.m., fresh coffee was delivered to our door.
The restaurant features Mexican and Thai food - we loved the breakfast choices: Huevos Mexicanos, omelettes, smoothies, etc. Lunch and dinner were also very good, although we went out most nights to the downtown Tulum area to the locals' favorite spots.
The hotel provided beach towels, snorkeling gear, kayaks, beach lounges and umbrellas daily. Happy hour was 1-4 daily, with 2 for 1 margaritas in just about every flavor imaginable! We loved the mango jalapeno. These were even served on the beach, which was just a few steps from the bar.
The location can't be beat - away from the big hotel strip, and close enough to walk to the ruins. We literally had the beach to ourselves most days...crystal clear water, white sand and our hotel right there if needed!
We also loved everyone who worked there - Eric and Maggie made our day, every day!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kitkatbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezManager, Gerente at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thanks for write such a great contribution and sharing your pictures! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was our second stay at Mezzanine, and we're planning our next! Very chill, very relaxing atmosphere. The staff is absolutely unmatched for friendly attentive service and just being plain nice to have around. The bar and restaurant unfortunately make it difficult to get out of the hotel because there is no reason to leave. The personal email correspondence before we arrived also was very nice and assuring. These folks aim to please, and they succeed. The comments about "paradise" are dead on accurate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielMinnesota9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezManager, Gerente at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank so much for your amazing comments, was a pleasure to have you with us again, we look forward to the next visit! Hasta Pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mezzanine. We stayed in a Buddha Den room for 4 nights.
1. Room - spacious, clean, modern and overall very nice.
2. Resort - great quiet location, beautiful stretch of beach. Can walk to ruins. Further though from other resorts / restaurants. Nice facilities with beach chairs and great spots to relax.
3. Restaurant excellent, great Thai and Mexican food. Bar also excellent. Drinks great.
4. Staff - very friendly and helpful. In particular Wendy, Laura, Maggie, Milo, David and Francisco went out of their way to make us feel welcome and help with anything we needed.
We would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PinotNoir_F1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezManager, Gerente at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
It is great to hear that you consider your stay at Mezzanine “Above and beyond”.
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great contribution!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.4 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
4.2 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
401 reviews
2.0 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 96 in Tulum
1,268 reviews
3.8 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 96 in Tulum
852 reviews
4.4 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 96 in Tulum
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel

Property: Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel
Address: Carretera Tulum_Boca Paila km 1.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#16 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slip into the ultimate Mexican Caribbean beach vacation at stylish Mezzanine; a true contemporary Tulum boutique hotel experience with an authentic Thai restaurant and hip martini lounge. Found along Mexico's stunning Riviera Maya, just 30 minutes south of Playa del Carmen, unconventional, unexpected and ultra-cool, Mezzanine is the ideal Tulum hotel option for beach vacationers looking to experience the natural beauty of Mexico's Caribbean coastline from a minimalist and elegant setting.Expect the unexpected at Mezzanine. Come to Tulum for the white sand beaches, the Mayan ruins and the jungle adventures, stay at Mezzanine for the smooth grooves, hot fiestas, crisp cocktails and the stylish, hipster vibe. This is an adults only hotel. Children are permitted in the restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mezzanine Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing