We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic”
Review of Suenos Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Suenos Tulum
Ranked #24 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Majestic”
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Suenos Tulum is definitely a good choice for anyone wanting to visit Tulum. As soon as we pulled our car in through the gate, the woman who ran the place, Elisabeth, greeted us by name and proceeded to walk us to our room. Then she said "We're going to put you in the Junior Suite instead of the other room you booked because its available." Free of charge! Our room was right on the beach and you had a basically private walkway to the beach from the room. They thoroughly cleaned the room every day and gave us two large bottles, like two or three liter, as well as showing us the various places where you could refill them with drinkable water. As well as an additional bottle each day. Everything was beautiful: they even swept their area of private beach each morning free of debris. The free breakfast was good, and the dinner we had there one night was decent but I preferred other nearby places. Also: three or four super-friendly dogs were always running around the place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    28
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
69
160
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Suenos Tulum in late January. We have been remiss in not writing this review sooner. Suenos Tulum was perfect. The staff, the room, the beach, the location... all perfect. I did a lot of research on hotels in the area and it paid off. The beach is private. Even though there are hotels all along the strip, Suenos feels isolated. The landscaping on the spacious resort area is well maintained. The rooms are spotless, not sure how that is done with the beach right outside, so kudos to the staff for that as well...
If you needed something, someone was around to assist. If you didn't, no one bothered you. Lights out early did not bother us, though we did bring a camping light for any possible trips to the bathroom in the night. You can charge your phone / camera in the hotel office.
We were hoping to snorkel; you can right off the beach, but the reef out front of the hotel was a little too far for my comfort. The hotel and beach made up for it though.
We ate at the restaurant 2x during our stay, it was fabulous. Definitely the best chili relanos I've ever had. The continental breakfast was nice, however, the hotel (and others in the area, we understand) did have a problem with honeybees in the morning. As soon as the breakfast was brought out, they would swarm (yes swarm). We finally took breakfast in our room the last day; we couldn't stand it any longer. But the staff was most accommodating, considering.
Our only concern besides the bees was the height of the ceiling fan, a bit too low for my husband. A couple inches lower and that could have been bad news...
A must see are the Mayan Ruins right outside Tulum, the real reason for our visit. Go early and enjoy the splendor and magnificence in peace before the tour buses come!
I would stay again in a heartbeat, and have recommended to friends and acquaintances.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djtropicaldreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We just got back from our honeymoon in Tulum and both my husband and I wanted to tell the world about Suenos as we feel so lucky to have known about it. At the furthest end of the famous Tulum beach, Suenos is by far and away the most beautiful, soulful and chilled place to stay. We walked up and down that beach every day from one end to the other and we were always so happy to return to our beautiful hideout and its charming staff.

Our room was divine- we had a master suite so were high up and caught the full effect of the August ocean breeze- so simple and yet had everything we needed and a beautifully painted bathroom that gave us hot water whenever we needed and whose loo flushed every time! Every day the maid would replace bottled water for drinking, create elaborate sculptures out of our bath towels with petals strewn on them (maybe just for honeymooners?!) and replace any used soaps and lotions they provided. There is no need for AC because the breeze is so fabulous although at night when we wanted to shut the door and thus cut off the the through-draft, we did rely on the ceiling fan. The very slightly audible fan together with the crashing waves, made for a surprisingly noisy night's sleep but that is my only complaint from the whole week! Considering all we did was lie on the beach, the occasional bad night's sleep wasn't exactly punishing.

Amazing breakfast, the best ceviche and guacamole in the world for lunch if you haven't strayed from the hotel by that time of day and a delicious dinner menu. And very affordable when you compare to the other places on the beach. It definitely isn't cheap to eat in Tulum, they know who their customers are and how unappealing moving away from the beach is! Most of the restuarants are either Mexican (but proper Mexican ie fresh fish and no sour cream ladled on everything) or there are some Italian places. Posada Margarita is delicious for Italian if you fancy a change one day but pretty pricey. Also if you find yourself with a craving for ice cream we found the most amazing gelato i've ever had at the Banana..something...Banana Hut or Cafe or Restaurant. It's on the same road Suenos is. And the lunch at Amansala right at the beginning of the beach is really good too.

The beach is insanely stunning and they have five or so enormous day beds which are like un-bouncy trampolines on which you can lie two people spread eagled. We stayed there most of the time except to walk and swim. There's yoga everywhere and massages and spa treatments if you want to go the full wack with the pampering and Suenos can set you up with it all. The owners Elizabeth and Jorge and their daughter Giovanna are perfect hosts, they leave you alone but are always there if you have a question!
We went during low season and were the only people there so really were looked after incredibly well but there are only 12 rooms so I have a feeling that wouldn't change even if it were full. We also loved the weather at that time, potentially rainy but so breezy and any cloud provided a welcome respite from what is still a hot sun. It only rained twice very briefly.

If you get bored of the beach there are ruins, blue holes, diving outfits, kite surfing schools... all kinds of activities but for us this was the perfect place to just kick back and recuperate after a very hectic few weeks of wedding preparations etc.

I cannot gush enough about Suenos, we almost wanted to keep it our little secret but for the owners' sake we felt we shouldn't be so selfish ;)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicswellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

I've traveled to Tulum and environs for many years, and Sueños Tulum wins the prize for the best hotel I've ever stayed at while in the Yucatán. Subtle, caring, and attentive service, never intrusive, make the guest feel totally at ease. The beach is superb, the food and beverage outstanding, and we were welcomed with complimentary beverages served in the poolside palapa.

Elizabeth is the consummate hotel manager. She is relaxed, thoughtful, responsive, and willing to help you with any detail of your time in Tulum. Mateo, the waiter/bellboy/jack-of-all-trades is charming and will happily bring you anything you want at any time. Piña colada and guacamole on the beach? No problem, amiga! He's absolutely wonderful.

There are several friendly dogs on the property, the strangest being my personal favorite, La Malinche. She is a pudgy Mexican Hairless dog with personality for days. The dogs will not approach you unless you want them to, and they make excellent guard dogs for the property.

The rooms are quite nice, with great water pressure (a rarity in Mexico!) balconies, complimentary water, candles, soap, shampoo, etc. The beds are firm (as are most in Mexico), but comfortable. There are foot baths outside the rooms to get rid of sand, a very thoughtful touch. Electricity is turned off during the day, but available all night long in your room, and 24/7 in the main office, where you can charge your phone or computer. Wifi is also available.

The one suggestion I have for Sueños is to offer supplementary fans in case they have a night with no wind, as they did during our stay. There are overhead fans to assist the breeze off the ocean, but with the netting around the bed, it gets very hot in the summer months if there is no breeze. A simple fan at the end of the bed would do the trick.

Personally, I didn't use the swimming pool, and I don't know why anyone would use it given the total perfection of the beach in front of the hotel. There are free boogie boards and sea kayaks for use on the beach, and the beach beds are lovely.

I am a rather adventurous traveler who likes to explore a lot rather than staying in the hotel, but I must say that Sueños Tulum is the type of place that made me happy to not leave at all. I would return for a long weekend, happily remaining inside the hotel proper for the best food, drinks, beach time, and service available in the town of Tulum. It really is paradise.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baconpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2010

My husband and I spent 4 blissful nights here on our honeymoon. We arrived while it was raining. There was some rainwater in our room which probably seeped under the gaps in the doors and windows, but we either didn't notice or care because we were so exhausted. Once we notified them in the morning it was no longer a problem, but to be honest because there is no air conditioning the room cannot be completely sealed for ventilation's sake and we didn't mind it at all. Besides that the room was always very clean. The sheets they use are a bit on the rough side for the price you pay for the room.
The staff are all extremely nice and welcoming, especially the kitchen staff who we interacted with the most. They are very willing to help, especially if you ask. The dogs on the property are friendly and escorted us on a few of our beach walks. The continental breakfast was tasty and standard. The fruit is great as you would expect in a tropical area. All the extra food we ordered was terrific! We only ate dinner there the last night of our stay but we wish we had eaten there at least twice. It was the best dinner we had on our trip. We ate by candlelight and listen to the waves crash on the beach. The food was fresh and really really delicious.
We were in a top floor room which gave us 2 gorgeous views up and down the beach. Part of the charm of Suenos Tulum is the architecture which doesn't try to compete with the natural scenery; it just blends in. We definitely appreciated this since were were appalled by the huge monstrous resorts we passed on the way from the airport. One thing we especially loved were the elevated beach beds!
We weren't bothered by the lack of power during the daytime or plugs in our room. We opened the sliding door to ventilate and cool our room if we happened to be in it during the day time. If we needed to charge our phones there were plugs in the dining palapa.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNSabMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2010

This is the place! Look no further for the perfect romantic getaway. We arrived to a very friendly host, Jorge, and his lovely wife, Elizabeth. They accommodated our early arrival graciously and with no problems. We were amazed by the BEST beach to the south of the ruins at Tulum...the best. No rocks, no seaweed and no crowds! Our room was great with a second story balcony and a killer view of the beach for miles. You can start walking south and just go forever right into the Sian Kaan Reserve.

The hotel consists of 13 suites. We chose the Master Suite in Luna. It is definitely the most private. The room charge included breakfast, which was continental, but more than sufficient. The restaurant is reserved exclusively for guests! Do not go any further...just eat there! Amazing food and the cost was the same everywhere. We found that Tulum in general is expensive, but on average, you can have a wonderful meal for two for about $50 - $70 US without alcohol. I just can't say enough about the food and the service at Suenos. (If you are looking for another place to try, Posada Marhgherita! Excellent)

The room was spacious and clean and beautiful. The ceiling and walls were painted a soft blue and white (sort of like clouds) and there are beautiful exposed beams on the ceiling. The bathroom was pretty with ceramic Mexican tiles. The only negative we found was that the bed was hard. (We also found that to be the case at the other hotel we visited on this trip.) The bedding was nice and good pillows. They provided a blanket and pillows along with the beach towels to spend the day on your private "trampoline." There is beach-side service until 3pm, but we found that they checked on us all day long.

We are booking another trip for next March at Suenos. This is the best! Oh, don't rent a car!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorritothebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2010

This hotel is amazing! Beautiful surroundings, nicely decorated rooms with a hammock, helpful and nice staff etc. Rooms are very clean. The restaurant is very good, even for dinner. Our only complaint were the bees during the breakfast, lots of them - the only thing that bothered us. Otherwise - a perfect paradise!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#8 of 95 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
2.2 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 95 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cabanas La Luna
Cabanas La Luna
#9 of 95 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suenos Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suenos Tulum

Property: Suenos Tulum
Address: Carret Tulum - Boca Paila | Zona hotelera Km 8.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tulum
#8 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suenos Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUEÑOS TULUM is a 12 suite totally ecological solar powered beachfront hotel, built in a uniquely natural and mystical place, right on Tulum beach;one and a half hours south of Cancun International airport. This Mayan retreat was created to preserve the surrounding magic and feel of the area. WELCOME TO OUR DREAMOur resort was built with much love and dedication, Greatly influenced by Mayan prehispanic art.Each building is a work of art,sculped to represent the Mayan gods surrounding the hotel with will make you feel the magic of our wonder culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Suenos Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suenos Tulum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing