We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise discovered”
Review of Suenos Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Suenos Tulum
Ranked #28 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I stayed here for 4 unforgettable nights on our honeymoon. From the moment we walks through the gated entrance I realised we had arrive in an oasis of calm with an opportunity to truly relax. The resort is small and stunning with a true purpose for attention to detail in every respect. We stayed in the master suit/beachfront 1 floor building and it was lovely with an endless breeze night and day! The bed was super comfortable and massive!
The views here were truly stunning the beach beds/trampolines were good to relax on.
Food was great and a faultless resort. These guys have created a oasis within an oasis.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for Suenos Tulum
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 306 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights as a family of four. (Teenage son and daughter) We had the middle and top floors of one of the Cabanas which worked very well for us.
The rooms are lovely. Views onto the beach from the balconies. Amazing to watch sunrise. They are airy. The decor is tasteful and respectful of where they are. Lovely artwork throughout.
The lack of air con didn't bother us- you get a lovely breeze blowing through and the fans really help. The top floor room has a double height ceiling so is definitely cooler.
Nice pool- a bit small but we rarely had to share it.
We had dinner in the hotel one night. Range is limited but very tasty.
Breakfast lovely. Fruit And breads inclusive. Other things to order- all delicious.
Staff attentive when you needed something but almost invisible the rest of the time. Perfect.
This is the nicest part of Tulum beach and is truly stunning. The beach loungers etc at Tulum were by far the most sympathetic to the beach and again just beautiful.
Tulum is a lovely place with real character and lots of nice restaurants so we were spoilt for choice for dinner and lunch.
Be careful as many of the restaurants only take cash (pesos) and the local ATMs were unreliable. Good one at the supermarket 3-4 miles away.
And the lack of power in the rooms/temperamental wifi would have been a problem if we had needed to do any work whilst we were there.
Generally though, I'd highly recommend Tulum and if I was going back. I'd stay at Suenos or Be Tulum.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank emb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Suenos Tulum was everything I imagined and more. A perfect spot to go to really relax and unwind and experience optimal customer service. This family owned hotel is located right on the beach and they welcome you with a delicious cocktail of your choice (get the mojito!). Everything is made perfectly fresh and I enjoyed every meal I had here. There is a great breeze and a very cute pool which is great to take a dip in after laying out on the beach cabanas and/or buggy boarding in the ocean. There is essentially no wifi in the rooms and no power outlets but they have that all in reception, so you can there when you need to. I have all great things to say about Suenos and I definitely plan on coming back and bringing all my family and friends! Oh and yoga under the palapa was A+++ and just added to the ultimate relaxation that can be experienced here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dominica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was a perfect spot to stay during our 9 day trip to Tulum. We stayed in the grand master suite in the lluvia building. The entire eco-hotel is solar powered. There isn't a noisy generator humming in the background. Our view of the ocean was spectacular. We slept with the sliding doors open all night...with the ceiling fan and the ocean breeze, we never had a miserably hot night. The solar power at night allowed us to use a small amount of lighting to see in the bathroom and also generated enough hot water to give us both relaxed, wonderful showers at the end of our days on the beach. The brackish water from the taps did not bother me one bit. The staff was courteous, attentive, and never pushy. They let us come to them with any desire, but never "bothered" us while we lazed on the shaded cabanas. There are two bikes for hotel guests to use to get to the busy part of the hotel zone.....or even ride on into Tulum Pueblo. It was nice having that option. Lunches at Suenos were perfect. Dinner were much less spectacular. The food was good, just not great. We had meals at many other locations and were "wowed" at most of them. Suenos dinner menu was just very brief and, though fresh, nothing stood out. Breakfast was always nice with a selection of fruits, bread, yogurt, fresh oj, coffee or tea. The hotel is just a short beach walk to La Zebra (awesome food and great lounging area). We were there in June (the low season). We felt like it was the perfect time to go. We didn't have any HUGE crowds! We never had to make reservations, prices were a bit cheaper..........we even got a fee taxi rides free because the driver just happened to be going our way. We highly recommend this location for a couples getaway. It was our first time leaving our 3 boys home for some alone time. It was the best trip ever. We swam with sea turtles, snorkeled in the cenotes, and scaled the ruins. Amazing, amazing trip. If you would like a personal guide to Akumal, Coba, Chichen Itza, or any place along the way, I highly recommend calling Martin Chimatu 984 164 25 88. Or, martinchimatu@hotmail.com He is a taxi driver and part time guide. He took us to areas that many tourists don't get to. He recommended great local places to eat. He speaks very good English (or helps you brush up on your Spanish). Highly recommended!!!!

Room Tip: Grand Master Suites (3rd level) is the way to go!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank chilinlime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Suenos Tulum was a leap of faith, but it turned out to be a great decision. This is not a glitz and glam type of place, just a back to the basics, no frills but still very nice kind of place to stay.

Starting with the bar...margaritas made with fresh squeezed lime juice, tequila and orange liquor, no mix or sweet and sour...done the old fashioned way. Mohitos were equally on point...as was everything else.

The food...amazing. Fresh seafood was prepared perfectly if it was grilled for tacos or as a dinner entree. Great homemade guacamole, gazpacho, ceviche just to name a few. Portions are huge for those who like to eat. It's hard to find a bad meal in Tulum, but it is hard to find non-Americanized prices...not here!

The rooms...very basic, but nice. Beds were very comfortable. Bathrooms spotless. Electricity was only supposed to be on at night, but was on during the day a few times...probably because the World Cup had everyone distracted at times. No A/C but not really an issue because the breeze off the water keeps things reasonably cool. There are no electrical plus, so you have to charge your phone or laptop in the office. I brought a solar phone charger which worked just fine...no shortage of sunshine whatsoever.

The beach...amazingly beautiful, not crowded and unspoiled...white sand, clear water, palm trees, always a nice breeze as well as lounge chairs and covered trampolines for two. Chairs are great, but we lived on the trampoline...perfect for naps and reading...very comfy!

The employees...very polite, helpful and attentive. They made the trip more enjoyable.

My only complaint is that the WiFi didn't work in our room...it worked great just outside the front door...not a huge issue, but worth mentioning.

Room Tip: I would suggest staying away from the bottom units...the breeze is much better on the 2nd and 3rd fl...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chingadero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

On arrival it looks like you are entering onto the set of Indiana Jones temple of doom (in a good way) Once through the gates there are apartments set in amongst the jungle, feels & looks great.
The rooms are spacious comfortable & very clean, the maids are leave the place spotless everyday!
the beach is beautiful with the added bonus of large stretched canvas' to laze around on all day.
Breakfast is also good, you get more than enough. The waiting staff are lovely especially Roberto. The owners were nice but a little preoccupied & non engaging however we wouldn't think twice about returning.

All together a lovely place good food & margaritas!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spmcnulty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We spent 4 nights here during mid June and from the minute we walked through the unassuming wood gates to our adios, every minute felt welcoming and relaxing. The staff here are great, helpful and friendly. The rooms are fitted with a hammock, comfortable mattresses and pillows, bright colors, architecturally interesting circular windows, mosquito netting, crafted wooden tables, a closet space and the bathrooms! Beautiful art work on the sinks and even the toilets, original art work designed from one of the owners. The restaurant is for guests only and is delicious serving breakfast with fresh local fruit, you then can order cocktails throughout the day and dinner for a few hours in the evening. Suenos Tulum is casual where the wi-fi spot outside the temple/lobby (hand built stone by stone in a mayan design) is fitted with hammocks and chairs. There is an incredible beach here with creative seating including a stretched tarps amongst logs and a lofty sail above for shade. AND a pool! when you're ready to shed the salt water and have a lazy float.
Note that the hotel is powered by solar generators so power is between sunset and sunrise so the ceiling fans typically switched off around 6am which made it a little sticky in the room, but usually the ocean breeze kept the temperature for sleeping bearable. I can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: The only reason I'm giving sleep quality a 4 rating is because the lack of AC made it a bit warm...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
869 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cabanas La Luna
Cabanas La Luna
#11 of 98 in Tulum
706 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
#47 of 98 in Tulum
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#13 of 98 in Tulum
813 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Las Estrellas
Villa Las Estrellas
#56 of 98 in Tulum
267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 98 in Tulum
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suenos Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suenos Tulum

Address: Carret Tulum - Boca Paila | Zona hotelera Km 8.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tulum
#9 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $295 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suenos Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUEÑOS TULUM is a 12 suite totally ecological solar powered beachfront hotel, built in a uniquely natural and mystical place, right on Tulum beach;one and a half hours south of Cancun International airport. This Mayan retreat was created to preserve the surrounding magic and feel of the area. WELCOME TO OUR DREAMOur resort was built with much love and dedication, Greatly influenced by Mayan prehispanic art.Each building is a work of art,sculped to represent the Mayan gods surrounding the hotel with will make you feel the magic of our wonder culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Suenos Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suenos Tulum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing