We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams$385
Priceline$385
Agoda.com$385
Tripadvisor$385
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveler rating
426
39
16
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
426
39
16
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit master suite yogurt solar power guacamole beach beds continental breakfast is an eco resort fish tacos south end relaxing vacation every morning yoga classes heaven on earth hotel guests ocean view gorgeous beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 486 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was a perfect spot to stay during our 9 day trip to Tulum. We stayed in the grand master suite in the lluvia building. The entire eco-hotel is solar powered. There isn't a noisy generator humming in the background. Our view of the ocean was spectacular. We slept with the sliding doors open all night...with the ceiling fan and the ocean breeze, we never had a miserably hot night. The solar power at night allowed us to use a small amount of lighting to see in the bathroom and also generated enough hot water to give us both relaxed, wonderful showers at the end of our days on the beach. The brackish water from the taps did not bother me one bit. The staff was courteous, attentive, and never pushy. They let us come to them with any desire, but never "bothered" us while we lazed on the shaded cabanas. There are two bikes for hotel guests to use to get to the busy part of the hotel zone.....or even ride on into Tulum Pueblo. It was nice having that option. Lunches at Suenos were perfect. Dinner were much less spectacular. The food was good, just not great. We had meals at many other locations and were "wowed" at most of them. Suenos dinner menu was just very brief and, though fresh, nothing stood out. Breakfast was always nice with a selection of fruits, bread, yogurt, fresh oj, coffee or tea. The hotel is just a short beach walk to La Zebra (awesome food and great lounging area). We were there in June (the low season). We felt like it was the perfect time to go. We didn't have any HUGE crowds! We never had to make reservations, prices were a bit cheaper..........we even got a fee taxi rides free because the driver just happened to be going our way. We highly recommend this location for a couples getaway. It was our first time leaving our 3 boys home for some alone time. It was the best trip ever. We swam with sea turtles, snorkeled in the cenotes, and scaled the ruins. Amazing, amazing trip. If you would like a personal guide to Akumal, Coba, Chichen Itza, or any place along the way, I highly recommend calling Martin Chimatu 984 164 25 88. Or, martinchimatu@hotmail.com He is a taxi driver and part time guide. He took us to areas that many tourists don't get to. He recommended great local places to eat. He speaks very good English (or helps you brush up on your Spanish). Highly recommended!!!!

Room tip: Grand Master Suites (3rd level) is the way to go!!
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank chilinlime
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Suenos Tulum was a leap of faith, but it turned out to be a great decision. This is not a glitz and glam type of place, just a back to the basics, no frills but still very nice kind of place to stay.

Starting with the bar...margaritas made with fresh squeezed lime juice, tequila and orange liquor, no mix or sweet and sour...done the old fashioned way. Mohitos were equally on point...as was everything else.

The food...amazing. Fresh seafood was prepared perfectly if it was grilled for tacos or as a dinner entree. Great homemade guacamole, gazpacho, ceviche just to name a few. Portions are huge for those who like to eat. It's hard to find a bad meal in Tulum, but it is hard to find non-Americanized prices...not here!

The rooms...very basic, but nice. Beds were very comfortable. Bathrooms spotless. Electricity was only supposed to be on at night, but was on during the day a few times...probably because the World Cup had everyone distracted at times. No A/C but not really an issue because the breeze off the water keeps things reasonably cool. There are no electrical plus, so you have to charge your phone or laptop in the office. I brought a solar phone charger which worked just fine...no shortage of sunshine whatsoever.

The beach...amazingly beautiful, not crowded and unspoiled...white sand, clear water, palm trees, always a nice breeze as well as lounge chairs and covered trampolines for two. Chairs are great, but we lived on the trampoline...perfect for naps and reading...very comfy!

The employees...very polite, helpful and attentive. They made the trip more enjoyable.

My only complaint is that the WiFi didn't work in our room...it worked great just outside the front door...not a huge issue, but worth mentioning.

Room tip: I would suggest staying away from the bottom units...the breeze is much better on the 2nd and 3rd floors...some also have bigger beds. Also, since you rely on the breeze to keep cool at night, you can't close your blinds or you will get too hot. That left us with a bit of a privacy issue at night because anyone walking by can see right into your room. Also...no locks on the screen doors...the reason for "average sleep quality".
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chingadero
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

On arrival it looks like you are entering onto the set of Indiana Jones temple of doom (in a good way) Once through the gates there are apartments set in amongst the jungle, feels & looks great.
The rooms are spacious comfortable & very clean, the maids are leave the place spotless everyday!
the beach is beautiful with the added bonus of large stretched canvas' to laze around on all day.
Breakfast is also good, you get more than enough. The waiting staff are lovely especially Roberto. The owners were nice but a little preoccupied & non engaging however we wouldn't think twice about returning.

All together a lovely place good food & margaritas!

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spmcnulty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We spent 4 nights here during mid June and from the minute we walked through the unassuming wood gates to our adios, every minute felt welcoming and relaxing. The staff here are great, helpful and friendly. The rooms are fitted with a hammock, comfortable mattresses and pillows, bright colors, architecturally interesting circular windows, mosquito netting, crafted wooden tables, a closet space and the bathrooms! Beautiful art work on the sinks and even the toilets, original art work designed from one of the owners. The restaurant is for guests only and is delicious serving breakfast with fresh local fruit, you then can order cocktails throughout the day and dinner for a few hours in the evening. Suenos Tulum is casual where the wi-fi spot outside the temple/lobby (hand built stone by stone in a mayan design) is fitted with hammocks and chairs. There is an incredible beach here with creative seating including a stretched tarps amongst logs and a lofty sail above for shade. AND a pool! when you're ready to shed the salt water and have a lazy float.
Note that the hotel is powered by solar generators so power is between sunset and sunrise so the ceiling fans typically switched off around 6am which made it a little sticky in the room, but usually the ocean breeze kept the temperature for sleeping bearable. I can't wait to go back!!

Room tip: The only reason I'm giving sleep quality a 4 rating is because the lack of AC made it a bit warm. Some people might find it uncomfortable.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BethB177
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed at Suenos Tulum for the first time last month. The Maya Riviera is becoming full of large, impersonal resorts, and it was nice to find this magical, well-run hotel offering what I consider to be the real Tulum experience. I felt so connected to the sea and the jungle here, while still being comfortable and well cared for. The innkeeper was very helpful, the food was great, and the room was clean and cozy (though a little run down).

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank magnus53
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews