We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“italian food & hospitality -- on the caribbean”
Review of Posada Margherita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Margherita
Ranked #48 of 93 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

went for a friend's wedding and the entire weekend was incredible. hotel is right on the beach and is simply but beautifully done. friendly, mellow italian staff that focuses on the food as much as the rooms -- incredible pastas, seafood and wines (they are opening a restaurant in New York City next to Il Buco where Mercat used to be in 2013). limited number of rooms helps maintain a relaxed vibe. i'm one to try new places when i go back to cities but it would be hard to not stay at posada margherita again. shout out to alejandro and francesca.

Room Tip: room #8 rocks. elevated room facing the sea with wrap-around porch and roof access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 597 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

We drove out to Tulum while staying in the Rivera Maya to eat at Posada MARGHERITA after recommendations on many foodie blogs. We were warmly welcomed by Alessandro who runs the front of house with complimentary focaccia and olive oil/balsamic, bruschetta and marinated cauliflower to get started. The entire apetizer plate, a house speciality, was just excellent.

Alessandro made some house recommendations and he helped us with the wine list.

The mains arrived, both well presented, just as ordered and nicely accompanied.. My seafood pasta was as good as I've had (I've eaten this dish all over the world) and my wife ate all of a generous and very visual red snapper plate which is unusual for her so that speaks for itself. While we were enjoying our mains the chef came out to check our progress, turns out the chef is il patrone, Federico! It's always a good sign when the proprietor runs a restaurant from the kitchen, it means its all about the food. We finished the meal with a massive tiramisu shared between us and this too was just excellent and so authentic. We paid a moderate bill for a near perfect meal and left with warm farewells from Alessandro and Federico. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cccorton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Beautiful location. Beautiful room. Beautiful staff. Wish I could just live there! Hated to leave. An extra word about the staff...people always use the words "helpful" and "friendly," but these people went beyond these common terms. There was a genuine desire on their part for me to be totally at home and completely comfortable. It was this attitude that made me feel I was staying with family or very good friends. Not intrusive in any way, but there instantly if I had a question.
The location is the best of any location in Tulum.
We came to Tulum since many years and we love the restaurant at Posada Margherita, but this was the first time we stayed at the hotel.......I will plan back to Tulum just to make this place my destination!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cla7sson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were this september after a wedding party in Playa del Carmen.
My brother used to expend days playing k. Surf and the place is such a special once that this remember Will be with us forever.
Ask for the pasta with lobster and the fresh fish, food is a must. The hotel and the restaurant is Well managed by an italian team:.........

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank agustin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent one week there in August, and we just cant wait to go back! We had to change rooms in the middle of our stay (at the time of booking, there was only one room available for 3 days and another one for the 4 remaining days), so we first stayed in Room 1 and then Room 2. Both are really nice, spacious, have a terrace, and the decoration is very tasteful. I preferred Room 1 as I found its terrace to be nicer, with a better view and more "cosy". The atmosphere at the hotel is extremely relaxing, it's a little paradise. The staff is really helpful, and gives great advice on things to do in Tulum, where to eat, where to go see turtles' nests etc. The hotel provides beach towels, offers a very reasonably priced laundry service, you feel like they really do everything to make you feel comfortable and at home.
The hotel has an Italian restaurant and the food is delicious! I think they bake their own bread, the pasta is very good, the antipasti are to die for. It's good, simple food, they use products of great quality.
The whole week was fantastic. A friend from Mexico recommended this hotel to us and we could not have found a better place!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bretona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Probably one of the best places on this amazing beach.
The Italian atmosphere make this small hotel very special, sometime (at dinner for example) you will feel more like in Tuscany than in Mexico !!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanycollester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Me and my husband spent two weeks in July at this wonderful hotel and had a fantastic stay from the minute we arrived! We were greeted with big smiles when we arrived late night, after a looong flight. The restaurant was closed for the evening, but service minded and flexible as they are, they made us very tasty focaccias.

The beach is awesome and suits both children and adults. It’s actually one of the most well maintained stretches of the beach.

The restaurant (Italian kitchen with homemade pasta) offer very good food, and the staff is extremely service minded. We had breakfast every day at PM – fruit with yoghurt/granola, pancakes, toasts and other yummy things.

We stayed in room number 8, which is located on the second floor, beachfront. We had a big balcony and a private terrace with an amazing view over the beach and surroundings.

The area around the hotel is very quiet so if you are looking for a super relaxing holiday, this is the place.

Hotel staff is so friendly and gives you privacy, when you want it, but they are always there, if you need them.

This is our second visit to beautiful Tulum and we wouldn’t hesitate to stay at PM again. This is a lovely hotel with lots of character and style, and it's definitely one of the most charming hotels in Tulum area. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tapuaetai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.8 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#18 of 99 in Tulum
599 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 99 in Tulum
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
3.2 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#7 of 99 in Tulum
940 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coco Tulum
Coco Tulum
#4 of 93 in Tulum
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Margherita

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km. 4,5, Tulum, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Posada Margherita Tulum
Posada Margherita Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing