We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tita Tulum - Hotel Ecologico
Nearby Hotels
$414
$392
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Azulik(Tulum)
$775
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$550
$499
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Posada Yum Kin(Tulum)(Great Value!)
$107
$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Piedra Escondida(Tulum)
$182
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$604
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$190
$155
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Diamante K(Tulum)(Great Value!)
$184
$153
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveler rating
115
59
19
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
59
19
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms face the sealocked boxcommunity tourscharge phonestulum beach areaunobstructed view of the oceanlovely breezehot watertwo double bedsperfect paradisemosquito netlow keyfive nightscleaned every daytacosbeach chairsguacamole
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 208 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2007

Stayed at Tita's early march 2007. Owner was quite rude when we arrived, and several times afterwards. Just not a warm, helpful person. Room was fairly clean, but bad location, #3 downstairs right next to restaurant. Kitchen workers could look directly into our cabana. Also, loud guests spent all day talking, laughing on the restaurant's deck. This place is overpriced for what we got, especially compared to other accomodation in the area. It has 24 hour electricity, but no ceiling fans, just a loud stand up type fan, we had to read by flashlight, because the light bulbs were so dim. Hot water is solar, and it is kinda cold for a morning shower. Shower water is very salty, as is all the hotel water in Tulum. The property is on a very narrow stretch of beachfront, so the cabanas are very close together, and your neighbors can see/hear everything inside your cabana. The room had 2 double beds on wheels that rolled away from the wall everytime we moved (even a little!) The grounds have good vegetation, but it didn't muffle the loud bangs from trucks bumping over the big metal speed bumps in front of Tita's. Also, when we were presented with our bill, I decided to pay in US dollars because they were trying rip us off on the exchange rate in pesos, big time. Rates are quoted in US dollars. This might be a nicer place to stay if you can get one of the beachfront upper level rooms on the end, which look more private. In general, considering the minimal nature of the accomodation and the extreme lack of helpfulness of the staff, I would try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DaisycatWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2007

We booked a four night stay at Tita's based solely on the Tripadvisor comments and had a great time!

Couple of notes:

Cabana #5 - literally right on the beach - great views and your own personal lizard living in the shower! Try to get this one if possible but all of the cabanas look fantastic!

Moses - very sweet and helpful - his command of English makes your stay much easier and he's just a nice guy...

Food at Tita's was OK but there are plenty of other places nearby for other options (e.g. Maya Tulum for amazing fish tacos, Mezzanine for Thai, Don Cafeto for classic Mexican)

Pay for your room in cash if possible to avoid fees...

Although Tita's has 24-hour electricity be aware that the cabanas do not have electric outlets. Not a huge problem and the staff will let you charge your cell phone in the restaurant if needed.

Water in cabana is salt water - surprisingly fine for showers but not so great for brushing teeth (just use bottled water!)

We can't wait to go back! Get there and enjoy Tulum before the 4-lane highway extends that far enabling more of the Cancun tourists to get there easily.

Stayed: February 2007
10  Thank ajvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2007

I have to say that this place isn't exactly what I was expecting. The day we got there, the kitchen was closed after 2 pm (that day only). Since we didn't have a car, that was a little bit of a concern, but we did walk down to Anna N Joses and managed to find our way home in the dark. Tita Tulum is adjacent to another facility, and the next morning three men were on the roof of the next building (just 15 feet or so away from our window) installing a new propane tank. I think we both thought Tita Tulum had a little more property than it actually does.

The beach at Tita Tulum is beautiful and the rest of the grounds are equally wonderful! Our room was large, the bed was comfy enough, and the balcony with the hammocks and chairs was perfect! Tita and all the employees are friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zippingallaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2007

We spent our 7th Anniversary in Tulum and have not stopped talking about the trip. A world away from the toursty Cancun. A rural destination not meant for the traveler who is looking for all the "creature comforts" of a modern hotel. The peace and relaxation you feel more than makes up for the lack of technology.
While on the beach we only ran into 8 people and 3 dogs from neighboring resorts. can not wait to get back there!!!
C.Hegeman
Cheverly, Maryland

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chegeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2006

My husband & I stayed at Tita's Dec. 11 - 15th. This was our second trip to Tulum and we enjoyed our stay at Tita's (despite 2 days of bad weather).

The layout of the property is very nice, lots of vegetation and the beach was kept very clean. Tita and her staff were very friendly. The 2 cabanas we stayed in were nice & roomy and were kept very clean. We did not have any problems with bugs aside from the occasional mosquito. I was sort of disappointed that we didn't see any iguanas or other critters. (perhaps because they have the place sprayed by exterminators...).

The food was very good and the mixed drinks were excellent. I recommend the fruit Daiquiri (mango)...yummy!

I have no complaints and I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank kdenelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews