We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned from a long weekend at Tita's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tita Tulum Hotel Ecologico
Ranked #18 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Reviewed February 16, 2007

We booked a four night stay at Tita's based solely on the Tripadvisor comments and had a great time!

Couple of notes:

Cabana #5 - literally right on the beach - great views and your own personal lizard living in the shower! Try to get this one if possible but all of the cabanas look fantastic!

Moses - very sweet and helpful - his command of English makes your stay much easier and he's just a nice guy...

Food at Tita's was OK but there are plenty of other places nearby for other options (e.g. Maya Tulum for amazing fish tacos, Mezzanine for Thai, Don Cafeto for classic Mexican)

Pay for your room in cash if possible to avoid fees...

Although Tita's has 24-hour electricity be aware that the cabanas do not have electric outlets. Not a huge problem and the staff will let you charge your cell phone in the restaurant if needed.

Water in cabana is salt water - surprisingly fine for showers but not so great for brushing teeth (just use bottled water!)

We can't wait to go back! Get there and enjoy Tulum before the 4-lane highway extends that far enabling more of the Cancun tourists to get there easily.

Stayed: February 2007
10  Thank ajvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Tita Tulum Hotel Ecologico
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 200 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2007

I have to say that this place isn't exactly what I was expecting. The day we got there, the kitchen was closed after 2 pm (that day only). Since we didn't have a car, that was a little bit of a concern, but we did walk down to Anna N Joses and managed to find our way home in the dark. Tita Tulum is adjacent to another facility, and the next morning three men were on the roof of the next building (just 15 feet or so away from our window) installing a new propane tank. I think we both thought Tita Tulum had a little more property than it actually does.

The beach at Tita Tulum is beautiful and the rest of the grounds are equally wonderful! Our room was large, the bed was comfy enough, and the balcony with the hammocks and chairs was perfect! Tita and all the employees are friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zippingallaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2007

We spent our 7th Anniversary in Tulum and have not stopped talking about the trip. A world away from the toursty Cancun. A rural destination not meant for the traveler who is looking for all the "creature comforts" of a modern hotel. The peace and relaxation you feel more than makes up for the lack of technology.
While on the beach we only ran into 8 people and 3 dogs from neighboring resorts. can not wait to get back there!!!
C.Hegeman
Cheverly, Maryland

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chegeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2006

My husband & I stayed at Tita's Dec. 11 - 15th. This was our second trip to Tulum and we enjoyed our stay at Tita's (despite 2 days of bad weather).

The layout of the property is very nice, lots of vegetation and the beach was kept very clean. Tita and her staff were very friendly. The 2 cabanas we stayed in were nice & roomy and were kept very clean. We did not have any problems with bugs aside from the occasional mosquito. I was sort of disappointed that we didn't see any iguanas or other critters. (perhaps because they have the place sprayed by exterminators...).

The food was very good and the mixed drinks were excellent. I recommend the fruit Daiquiri (mango)...yummy!

I have no complaints and I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank kdenelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2006

This is paradise. Everything at Tita blends harmoniously together, and you feel totally at home. You're one with the place. Pure relaxation. If that's what you're looking for, this is the place. I'm hesitant to write this review because I don't want too many other people discovering this place, my secret getaway location! The three of us stayed 3 nights here and then 3 nights elsewhere. When we arrived at the other place, we were all crestfallen and wanted to cancel our reservation and go immediately back to Tita. This is back-to-nature (ecological, solar-powered) and yet very comfortable. You're right on the beach. It's like the Corona commercials. Look at the pictures! You can walk forever in either direction with hardly any people. You feel like you own the beach or that you're on a desert island. Tita Tulum is in the absolutely best part of the beaches of the Tulum area. Trust me. I've been along the entire stretch. Even just a little to the north it's not quite as good although still awesome. In summary, let me say that after being to this area 3 times and doing a lot of research and viewing of properties, I will not stay anywhere in the future besides Tita Tulum! Email me if you have any questions.




  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank kennethgardnergmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2006

My partner and I stayed at Tita Tulum back in August and had a wonderfully relaxing time. We are not too into a party scene, so Tita's location further south of the cabana strip was perfect for us. We stayed in cabana 6, which is elevated on stilts, and we both enjoyed the feeling that we were "removed" from the rest of the cabanas. Naturally, there is wildlife to contend with, but it was really no big deal. The biggest wildlife excitement was unknowingly sharing the shower with an iguana (hidden in the corner near the window)!! We felt very safe, thought the room was clean (though our cute floral/towel displays occasionally contained extra bugs), and did not suffer without a/c in august. We are from Florida, but the breezes sufficed.

A few extra notes:
-we had a rental car, and would not have had it any other way. we were free to explore the area and dine where we chose.

-as vegetarians, we loved maya tulum. posada margerita is also not to be missed, though we had to make reservations after trying to just show up 2 nights in a row. yes, the food is "pricey" for mexico, but everything we ate was delightfully fresh and worth every penny for us. we'd have paid much more for the same food where we live.

-visiting coba was our favorite experience. well worth the drive, and definitely arrive early. rent the bikes and enjoy the ruins!

-the beach is raked early in the morning, and we too saw trash when walking at sunrise. however, it was still breathtakingly sparse and much more beautiful than any other beach we've ever visited.

Regardless of where you choose to stay, Tulum is amazing. Hope you get to enjoy it before it gets built up!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank universalbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2006

We chose Tita based on reviews on this website. All in all, I think it was perfect for us, but some people may not like it. Here are the positives:

-Beautiful location on an absolutely immaculate and gorgeous beach. It is far enough down the road to be away from the larger properties, and so you really do get that "end of the world" feeling when you first step out onto the sand.

-Perfectly good restaurant on site. The breakfast was particularly tasty.

-Clean and comfortable cabanas with 24 hour electricity.

If that is what you are looking for, as we were, then you can't go wrong with Tita. Needy travellers should look elsewhere, however. The cabanas are not bug-proof, so you should be prepared to sleep under the mosquito net at night. This is the kind of place that is not constantly in your face to offer you tours, or tell you about stuff that's going on, or recommend activities or anything like that. There are only 8 cabanas, so there is not a big social scene at this place either. You will want your own rental car for sure. We like doing our own thing and exploring, and so Tita was perfect for us.

Some other recommendations: Mezzanine and especially Posada Margherita for dinner. Little places in town are very good for lunch, like Don Cafeto's, Charlie's, and any of the grilled chicken joints. The food at Zamas and Ana y Jose is dull and overpriced. Tulum and Coba ruins are worth it for sure. We got a massage at dusk at Coqui Coqui one night, and the mosquitos were so vicious it was impossible to enjoy it. Book any spa treatments for during the day.

Tulum is AMAZING and we highly recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank hotspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
869 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#13 of 98 in Tulum
813 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
423 reviews
2.0 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#20 of 98 in Tulum
586 reviews
2.4 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#39 of 98 in Tulum
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tita Tulum Hotel Ecologico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tita Tulum Hotel Ecologico

Address: Carr. Tulum-Boca Paila km 8 | P.O. Box 98, Tulum 077780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: $140 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tita Tulum Hotel Ecologico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing