We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Beach Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tita Tulum Hotel Ecologico
Ranked #17 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Beach Setting”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

After spending 7 days in the very tranquil town of Xcalak (in the southern Costa Maya) we wondered how crazy it would be on the beaches of Tulum. We had friends staying at The Cabanas (Ziggy Beach) and La Zebra. We decided to choose a place between the two that was a little less expensive. Great choice! Very quiet place among the top hotels. Our cabana sat right at the edge of the beach. Nice large room. Sunrise filtering thru the vegetation from bed. At least that's where my wife saw them from, I was on the beach the 2 mornings we stayed. Nice little restaurant for breakfast (they do lunch and dinner too) and nice kicked back atmosphere. The only thing I could see for improvement would be a small fridge in the rooms. Otherwise beautiful place to stay minutes walk away from Ziggy Beach and La Zebra.

Room Tip: Number 5 is closest to the beach. The upstairs unit looks like it would be really nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank powderglut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    56
    17
    10
    4
See reviews for
41
95
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Just back from four days on Tulum's beautiful, white sand beaches and Tita's Tulum....and it wasn't enough!! It was the perfect spot to unwind; a spacious cabana with private bath, steps from the water, front porch with double hammocks for a mid-day siesta, low key but attentive staff, open air restaurant serving basic Norte Americano fare as well as tasty MX dishes (ask for the Tita Specials!), all very fairly priced and all on one of the Mayan Rivieras best stretch of beach. 24 hour electricity, but to conserve the solar generated power, there are no outlets in the cabanas. For those that must stay "connected", there is a locked, charging station in the liquor cabinet in the dining room next to the kitchen door, as well as an outlet on the dining room wall, just in case you need to power/charge any electronics. We could actually pick-up the free wifi from our cabana porch on our Acer net-book.
Next trip to Tita's will be for at least a week...or MORE!

Room Tip: Cabana #1, is closest to the water out of the ten and has the best view. Tita's has an excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maplesyrup2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This hotel is perfect for short or long stays. We stayed there for a week last year and we enjoyed the place. Rooms are lovely, location is good, quiet.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Two friends on holiday from the States, we thoroughly enjoyed Tita and her hotel. Walk from the cabin into the sand that feels like flour between your toes. Princess houses that were so special (mosquito netting). lol. Cabin is solar powered, nice break from all the electricity and bright lights. Chargers for our devices readily available and locked up in the open reception/restaurant area. Pleasantly surprised to find salt water coming from the sink and shower. Fresh water completely available for hydration. We found a world class restaurant, Casa Banana, a 15 minute walk south. Open cooking area, friendly staff, beautiful venue. The restaurant at Tita's was wonderful for the ocean view and the guacamole/chips were worth eating more than once. Let's just say we didn't go hungry on this trip! Cabs are plentiful with reasonable, set prices. 'made it very easy to travel to and from the bus, and to the ruins....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Our second stay at Tita Tulum and this time we stayed for a total of 12 days. We had four couples, two of which stayed for one week while my wife and I and the other couple stayed the entire 12 days. We have been coming to this area of Mexico for 10 years and have gone from all inclusive resorts, to renting a house on the beach, to a combination of house rental and Tita Tulum and now staying full time at Tita's. We plan to go back again next year. The 10 cabanas are wonderful - you walk out of your cabana and you are on the beach. Each cabana has electricity 24/7 (no place to plug things in but they do have plug ins at the restaurant that are secure and allow one to recharge phones, computers, etc.) and a complete washroom with shower. The one thing that you need to get used to is the fact that the water used for showering and the sink has a slight salt content but this is basically normal for all the hotels and resorts along the "Cabana District" running from Tulum to Punta Allen. The water from the taps is not potable but they supply you with pitchers of water that is from purified bottled water they bring in.

The other thing that one must realize is that most of the rooms (except the bottom rooms on the two units that are two story) have thatched roofs and there are openings under the eaves and at the peak of the roofs that can allow bugs and things to get in. In our two stays for a total of 15 days at Tita's we only had a problem with flying bugs one night this stay as the wind had died down and we had lights on. Once we turned off the light and turned on the outside porch light, the bugs disappeared. Once in awhile you may also see some small crawling creatures or small lizards but they do not bother you - they are more afraid of you than you are of them and they will go away. If you are bothered by the constant sound of he waves and the wind, then this and other similar places in the cabana district, may not be a good choice. Anywhere near the ocean, you will have constant wind and the sound of the waves. The trade off in moving away from the ocean is that it will be hotter, more humid and the bugs could awful.

The service at Tita's from reception, the restaurant, servicing the rooms and finally to our departure, was outstanding. Keep in mind that their is a bit of a language barrier but there is usually one or two people there at all times that understand English. Yet the ones that struggle to understand English still try and you can get through sometimes by pointing or using hand gestures. The food in their restaurant is extremely well prepared and priced quite reasonably. You have to understand that you will wait at times to be served since they make each meal from scratch - very little is prepared in advance. There are many restaurants within a short walk from Tita's and most of them offer a wide variety of great food. However, the value and quality of the meals at Tita's was the best we have found.

This area is truly paradise with beaches that have the softest and finest sand we have seen in our travels to Mexico. Most places along the cabana district have no rocks or reefs close in so the bottom is sandy for as far out as you can walk in the water.

Room Tip: Cabanas 1, 2 and 5 are closest to the water and the two cabanas that are second story units (I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billikn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xpu-ha
2 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Great location, really quiet at night. Best Chilli Rellenos in the World!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachartistXpu_ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Good value. Infact great value. Rooms are clean and utilitarian with unlimited fresh drinking water.. Location in the sand is unbeatable. Beach cleaned every day. Staff low key and local. This is not manhattan by sea. A really basic base from which to indulge in the high end eateries along the beach road by night. We didn't eat at tita except once when the fajitas were delicious. This is Tulum 2000. Not 2012. But for all those who think they are not getting ripped off at the ritzy titzy joints next door.... Guess what it's the same sand and same beautiful ocean and the laughs on them.

Room Tip: Room #6. Upstairs directly over sand. Huge balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julienoted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 96 in Tulum
849 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#12 of 96 in Tulum
803 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cabanas La Luna
Cabanas La Luna
#9 of 96 in Tulum
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#14 of 96 in Tulum
352 reviews
2.4 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#40 of 96 in Tulum
312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tita Tulum Hotel Ecologico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tita Tulum Hotel Ecologico

Property: Tita Tulum Hotel Ecologico
Address: Carr. Tulum-Boca Paila km 8 | P.O. Box 98, Tulum 077780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tita Tulum Hotel Ecologico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing