We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location - great apartment”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa Clarita

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tulum, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
skycolora...
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location - great apartment”
Reviewed March 13, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My husband & I stayed at Villa Clarita for the month of Feb. this year - our third time staying there! It is in a great location and the owners, Barbara & Chris are awesome. The apartment has everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. Bikes are available for rental. The pool is relaxing!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy, Clean, Quiet, and Comfortable Tulum Rental”
Reviewed January 6, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Barbara's 4 apartment apartment complex is tastefully landscaped and thoughtfully designed. Our apartment was a little oasis of calm amidst the bustle of a rapidly growing beach-town. We appreciated the balcony hammock, the clean pool, and king bed. The owners are incredibly responsive and knowledgeable about town (they live in the apartment at the back of the villa). The town of Tulum itself can be hopping with tourists and bars and hostels, but this neighborhood (La Valeta) is a bit removed and coming up with luxury residences -- and new restaurants (Manglar for pizza, Las Aguas Chiles for everything). It's not quite walkable to the main area of town (which proved to be a good thing!), so a bike or car is definitely recommended.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tjcjcc
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Guest”
Reviewed March 23, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This is definitely a very lovely place to stay. Extremely clean, well-maintained and both Chris and Barbara were fantastic hosts. I really appreciated the fact that they lived there and were available to us anytime whenever we had any questions. They are super friendly and most helpful!

You can tell a lot about a place by how attentive the hosts are. And I have to say their level of attentiveness to us matched their level of attentiveness to their villa. They are very proud of what they have established there and it is clear how well they have taken care of the place.

The rooms are extremely spacious and very comfortable. The king-size beds were most appreciated as was having a separate living room area to just relax in. A very good deal overall!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cshaw049
Tomahawk, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed March 20, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
5
people found this review helpful

What a wonderful apartment. Location perfect for us--near our favorite restaurant, about a 7 minute car ride to the beach. Safe, secure, quiet. Well equipped kitchen. A/C in bedroom Plenty of hot water. Nice dip pool. Comfortable bed and furniture. Wi-fi never failed. Toucans in the garden. Maya (dog) to greet us each morning. Barbara and Chris are exceptional hosts.
The only thing I would add is that 1 or 2 side tables with reading lamps would make it an excellent plus.
We hope to be able to return for a longer stay next time

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Safe and secure
Liked least: No reading lamps in living room
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly...
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed December 6, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This really is a very nice place to stay and a great value for the money. I've stayed in 6+ different houses/hotels in the yucatan and none of them were as clean, new, and nice as this. The casita we stayed in was well equiped with everything we needed and plenty of room. There's a nice pool to cool off in evenings. We had a rental car but often easily walked to downtown tulum to eat and shop. The property is very private and secure. It would be an easy bike ride to the beach or a very quick taxi cab ride. We rented a different house in Tulum on our first trip there and it was not as nice as Clarita. We will definitely be staying at Clarita again. Barbara and Chris the owners are very nice and helpful with suggestions for the town, where to eat, where to snorkel, ect. One HUGE bonus for us was we were looking for property to buy and not having much luck with mexican real estate agents. When we told Barbara we were looking for property we found out she is a broker and she turned us on to available properties the mexican real estate agents said did not exist! We ended up learning of and buying a property that was twice the size of what other agents were telling us was available for the same price. If you are looking to buy property you should stay here and work with Barbara!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and secure
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewed March 12, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
skycolora...
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great apartment, close to town”
Reviewed February 13, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
4
people found this review helpful

My husband and I rented Villa Clarita for a month starting in January 2014. It is close to town - very easy to walk. Barbara and Chris are a lovely couple and we arranged for them to pick us up at the Cancun airport. On the way back, they stopped at the supermarket so we couple pick up essentials to get us through the first few days. Nice! Chris also took care of picking up 20litre bottles of water and delivering them to the apartment to help us out. They are very helpful in giving recommendations to restaurants in the area, also. They also have a really cute, friendly dog that helped ease our "doggie fix" from missing our dog!

The apartment is located in a quiet neighborhood and had everything we needed for our stay. There was some occasional noise at night, but MUCH LESS than if you were staying closer to town. The AC at night kept the bedroom cool and was great "white noise" to cover any outside noise. The swimming pool was a welcome respite after returning from the beach!

Others have complained that it is far from the beach but we found it easy to walk to the colectivo station and take the shared van to the beach and return to "centro" Tulum. Taxis are readily available for a higher cost. There are lots of restaurants in walking distance to the apartment and the supermarket (Chedraui) is about a 3.5 KM walk which we did many times.

We look forward to returning to Tulum and would definitely rent Villa Clarita again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: If you are staying for long term and want to cook more, it could use a few more cooking utensils/pans and maybe a pitcher.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing