We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can't relax here, you've missed a really good chance.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa
Ranked #42 of 99 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I spent a much needed vacation last week at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel and Spa. The guestrooms, grounds, beach and service were just superb. Weren't aware when we planned the trip that September and October are the rainy months there, but it was no problem at all. We were able to chill to the point that any thoughts of shopping, excursions, etc. were out the window. The beach there is the most beautiful I've ever seen and is maintained to the max. Hotel employees could be seen early in the morning raking the little bit of seaweed that had dared to wash up in the surf. The drinks were TOO good, and while we didn't have dinner there, the breakfasts were great. Loved the place!

Room Tip: We stayed in Brisa del Mar. Right on the beach, king bed, no stairs to negotiate. The pool was rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana y Jose T, Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank your for your time in review your stay, we love to hear that you had wonderful time, we hope to welcome you again in tulum....


Regards
Ana y Jose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 631 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have been going to Ana y Jose’s off and on for the past 15 years. I have spent many a happy day there, with cold Corona and boogie board. Sadly, that all came crashing to an end at my last visit.
I had dinner there with a party of 10. It was grossly over-priced and while ok food, a very poor value. It would be pretty easy to find better food and better ambience for less money elsewhere in the area.
When I looked at what they charged me the next morning, it was clear that not only was the food and drink over-priced, it was equally clear that they had mistakenly over-charged me for food I did not order. I swung by the next day and asked for a correction – and even though they acknowledged the over-charging, they refused to give me a refund. Instead, they told me I had to take it up with American Express, which is a complete load of nonsense.
In short, what was once a lovely, laid-back beach joint has become a pretentious, over-priced and unethical sham. It really makes me sad, but it is what it now is and I would recommend people to stay away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
11  Thank BHFRENCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana y Jose T, Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for your time in review your experience, your comment is very important for us and we will review your case, please send a note direct to the general manager.

Warm Regards
Ana y Jose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel but went to the restaurant to have an early dinner. The location is simply fantastic, in a beachfront palapa where we not only enjoyed the view and the wonderful breeze but the best ceviche ever, and a grouper to die for, served on top of fresh tomatoes and plantains on a cedar plank. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Febco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana y Jose T, Public Relations Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for review your experience with us....we love to serve you all!

Ana y Jose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was our first trip to Tulum (no high rise hotels, banana boats, loud thumping music, etc!), and, obviously, our first stay at Ana y Jose. It was just what we wanted: Small, beautiful, clean, authentic, friendly, relaxing... At this time of year, it was not crowded, and if you stay near the water and the breeze, not too hot. Our servers were friendly and fun - Tania, Antonio, Octavio, and the food was really fresh and good. We will return again soon!

Room Tip: We were originally booked into the room that sits, on its own, by the pool. It seemed exposed, not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEMiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana y Jose T, Public Relations Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

For your time in review your stay with us we thank you so much...we love to serve all our guest and hope to see you in your next visit to Tulum

Ana y Jose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel was fantastic, the location was paradise, the service was brilliant and the food incredible! The room was very spacious and there are beds and hammocks on the beach. We bought a pineapple in the local supermarket and so asked the restaurant if we could borrow a knife to cut it, to which they said they would do it for us and bring it to our room, and five minutes later they knocked on the door with it perfectly cut and dressed with cherries. It just shows that the staff would go above the norm to provide excellent service, we found all the staff polite and helpful.
However if you wanted to go into the town it was not walking distance, however there are plenty of restaurants nearby within the hotels which line the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenGunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana y Jose T, Public Relations Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

For your time in review your stay, we thank you so much, we always do our best for your comfort during your stay in Tulum

Ana y Jose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Unfortunately, this experience was a big let down. We were expecting a lot from the restaurant at Ana Y Jose. It is a beautiful hotel but unfortunately they just don't have service or the menu to match it. When you charge as much as they do, you really have to know what you are doing. The food was bland, the service was terrible. Everyone seemed so unhappy. It looks as if service in the hotel is lacking as well. Their beachfront is not manicured or cared for. When you are paying 600$/night, hospitality and all that it means is a must.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana y Jose T, Public Relations Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your time in review your stay, your comment about service and our restaurant menu is already on our managing director desk, we will do our best to get much better for your next stay...At Ana y Jose we love trying to get better every day...


Ana y Jose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Recently visited to Ana y Jose on my third trip to Tulum for my destination wedding. This was our first time staying at Ana y Jose as they are one of the more costly hotels in the area. Overall our stay was very good, as was the stay of any of our guests who stayed at Ana y Jose (the majority of our 50 guests).

First, the hotel is aesthetically pleasing from the moment you arrive. They have recently renovated the entrance and some of the hotel and it's all lovely. The rooms are as beautiful as they seem on the pictures and website.

The service from wait staff, housekeeping and nearly everyone we came in contact with was wonderful. From daily housekeeping to beach food and drink service the staff was friendly and prompt with help. On our wedding night the service was flawless! No one waited for drinks, food was hot and delicious and everyone helped make the night perfect!

My only recommendation to the hotel for improvement would be the upkeep of the property. We rented Villa Coba at just over $1200 per night and was shocked that the air conditioner was not working at all in one of the three bedrooms. They were able to put our guests in another room to sleep after it couldn't be fixed a day later but we hesitant to do this and removed only a tiny portion of our rather large room bill. The pool in the villa was also in need of some up keep. Tiles were missing and loose in the pool. Aside from this, and the slow check in and out process the stay was nearly flawless.

I would highly recommend Ana y Jose to vacationers and destination wedding seekers! The hotel does not need to be completely rented to have your wedding here, which is rare in Tulum. Guests made AYJ beachfront their daily destination even if they stayed in a neighboring hotel. During the wedding the food, atmosphere and staff made our evening perfect! Thank you AYJ!

Room Tip: Don't feel the need to select an "ocean front" room. All rooms are steps from the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20sTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana y Jose T, Public Relations Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your time in review your stay and wedding experience, we love to read comments like yours, really help us to get better every day....

Sincerely

Ana y Jose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Cabanas Tulum
Hotel Cabanas Tulum
#12 of 99 in Tulum
824 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
1.5 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#27 of 99 in Tulum
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#9 of 99 in Tulum
631 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hip Hotel Tulum
Hip Hotel Tulum
#39 of 99 in Tulum
472 reviews
1.8 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#34 of 99 in Tulum
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa

Address: Carretera Tulum Boca Paila Km 7, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#16 Family Hotel in Tulum
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $351 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush, tropical vegetation amid the Mayan jungle, emerges Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa © as one of the legendary lodging treats in Tulum, Mexico. Indulge yourself into a calmer pace of vacation where natural treasures await for you. Relax on the white sand beach, swim in the turquoise Caribbean Sea, and enjoy the warm ambiance of this unique hotel thought for people who know what they deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel And Spa
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing