We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay in the Ocean View Deluxe Room only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa
Ranked #43 of 93 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stay in the Ocean View Deluxe Room only”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Overall great hotel, good service. But be cautious when booking your room. The website implies all the rooms look like the luxury ocean suite. But most likely they will move you to a very average room. It seems like they do this a lot, saving the best rooms for special customers. If all the rooms were renovated to this standard, I would give the hotel a 5 star rating. The restaurant food and service is outstanding. The beach location is perfect.

Confirm with manager on phone which room you are getting exactly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveldooder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsegroup, Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your time in review Ana y Jose Tulum, we review our web site and image and description is much clear now.

Look forward to welcome you again

manager
ana y jose tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    138
    41
    41
    34
See reviews for
129
271
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a great room, right next to the beach, which looks just like it does in the photos. Restaurant good, although was v crowded one night of the 4 nights we stayed still no problem getting a table. Breakfast great too. Concierge helpful booking snorkelling trips. Overall great place. Even though dance festival going on down near the ruins there was no problems sleeping

Room Tip: Bungalow between the pool and beach is a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraggle_Rox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsegroup, Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
For your time in review our Hotel we thank you so much, hope that you can return with us soon...

Manager
Ana y Jose Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the truly charming Ana y Jose Hotel this past weekend. I stayed in the Encantada suite which only became available due to a cancellation. The room was spectacular, exactly what you see pictured on the website. We had a balcony overlooking the beach with a hammock and two lounge chairs, which were great for afternoon hanging. Falling asleep and waking up to the sound of waves was a very special experience. The beach offers top quality lounge chairs and privacy and the staff was very attentive. The breakfast and lunch were delicious, and the menus were high scale with very reasonable prices. The location on the beach is central and we were able to walk and check out many of the other hotels in the area. I can say without a doubt that Ana y Jose is by far the nicest hotel in Tulum and I cannot wait to book my next trip!

Room Tip: Splurging to reserve one of the suites (we stayed in Encantada) is definitely worth it. You will hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsegroup, Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello Rebecca, it is very nice to hear that you had a great time with us, we´ll love to welcome you again at "Encantada" Suite.

Manager
Ana y Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Total paradise in Tulum and the hotel was fantastic. Great service and the beach and the water/ocean was just like coming to Paradise. A big thanks to all the staff and the Manager. I hope I get the chance to return one day :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsegroup, Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you love Tulum and our service, we do our job with our hart, and all of us will be please to welcome you again...

Management
Ana y Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, Uk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We booked four nights through our travel agent (Audley Travel, UK) and were allocated Jose, one of the four large suites sharing a secluded plunge pool and private garden, albeit closest to the highway. The resort is small, so no distance to the Beach, Restaurant etc. Our upstairs suite benefited from an amazing thatched roof, which we loved, although it isn't soundproof to birds, traffic, or the excellent evening live music (on two of our four nights). Good value at about USD 300 per night B+B, which was an early booking offer - despite our stay being on a Mexican holiday weekend. Even though the resort was full, it was never crowded. The restaurant was excellent, although lunch service on the beach could be slow. The only thing not to like was the charge for in-room coffee. We haven't stayed elsewhere in the area, but we wouldn't hesitate to return here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajenkinsWendover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsegroup, Owner at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your time in review our hotel, nice to hear that we can see you again...

with love

Ana y Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed recently and enjoyed very much but there were a few annoyances. The shower went from scalding to lukewarm in seconds and stayed there, taps etc shoddy and no plug. Excluding the bathroom the room was lovely , very comfortable. We were in Estrella on the beach and it was fine. I imagine at a very busy time it would be noisy as we found the music from the bar intrusive though not a problem, although we could have done without it at 7am. The food was very good, staff friendly and I had the strongest Margarita ever sitting on the beach on the lovely beds. The real bug was being charged for coffee in the room. I admit I did not read the minibar menu as I had no intention of using it and therefore omitted to see coffee was included in that. I have stayed all over the world and that's the first time ever I have paid for coffee in the room. It just felt a bit mean!

Room Tip: Estrella was lovely right on the beach but note above comments re potential noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southseacarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsegroup, General Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your time in review our hotel, we at Ana y Jose offer high quality service and we have available a expresso machine with quality coffee in capsules, the best we find in the market for your enjoy.
All our comments are fill our spirit and we will do our best to get better every time.

We look forward to see you next time in our paradise Tulum.

Ana y Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Like others have said in their reviews the rooms you get don't live up to the photos on the website. Blatant false advertising. The room furniture was maybe high quality last century although the bed was comfortable. Cleanliness was not so good and the white radio alarm clock was very stained. The curtains did not cover the windows so don't expect any privacy when you have the lights on. The towels were like tea towels the worst I've ever had in a hotel. Wifi didn't work in the room and had to go outside and no TV in the room which wasn't very good as we had two unexpected days of rain.

We spoke to the staff who were friendly about the situation and they did move us to a newer room which apart from the jacuzzi not working was of a much higher standard but at $US640.00 a night needed to be. Again the staff were good and did not charge for the upgrade.

Breakfast was not very good and the waiter tried convincing me a $US300 corked bottled of wine would be ok if he sieved it.

Think they need to polish up to keep their Trip advisor ****

Tulum beach is beautiful and clean and we walked about 10k of it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank 7StarTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsegroup, Owner at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your time in this review, we at Ana y Jose do our job with love, we are working in getting better our rooms, actually we have just finish remodeling our ocean view rooms, next we will continue with the gardens view.

Is always wonderful to hear that you love our destination.

Ana y Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Tulum
Coral Tulum
#47 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.8 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#36 of 93 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#23 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
1.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 93 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa

Property: Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa
Address: Carretera Tulum Boca Paila Km 7, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#25 Family Hotel in Tulum
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush, tropical vegetation amid the Mayan jungle, emerges Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa © as one of the legendary lodging treats in Tulum, Mexico. Indulge yourself into a calmer pace of vacation where natural treasures await for you. Relax on the white sand beach, swim in the turquoise Caribbean Sea, and enjoy the warm ambiance of this unique hotel thought for people who know what they deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel And Spa
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing