We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic hotel in quiet spot with pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wish Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wish Tulum
Ranked #75 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
371 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Basic hotel in quiet spot with pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Room had musty smell when we arrived but the soon cleared. Good air con and Wifi. Nice pool. Strange sink in bedroom. No fridge. Small bathroom. Hotel has it own restaurant and bar. The food was very average and the bar only good if all you wanted was beer. A little out of town. Ok if you want a basic hotel at a good price.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lI0ve2h0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    28
    24
    11
    9
See reviews for
10
33
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

It was okay. The room was clean and fairly spacious. The A/C worked well. We didn't use the pool but several in our tour group seemed to enjoy this pleasant area. I didn't like the location because while it is situated between the Tulum ruins and the town, it's not very close to either. It kind of feels like you're in the middle of nowhere.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Prairiedrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Good location close to the main road but far enough away to miss the traffic - you can walk to the main restaurant district and it's opposite a big supermarket. Rooms are neat and tidy - eclectic design details! There are water filter with cold water to fill up drink bottles - necessary in the heat!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

The rooms at Villa Tulum were basic but were big enough and comfortable. The hotel is located a little way from town, you could walk it but it is only a cheap taxi ride away. It is about a 5 min drive to the beach and the Tulum ruins. Another option is to hire a bicycle that are available at the hotel. We hired some for the day and rode to one of the cenotes. There is a very large supermarket just across the road and there are ATM's available there. The hotel has a good clean pool. Free wifi is available but only from the reception and dining areas. The food at the restaurant was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter_ndc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

After reading the other reviews we were not expecting much but we have Ben completely surprised. We had a new aircon system in our room on the ground level which pumped out very cold air day and night. Our room was basic but clean and the pool was clean and inviting. The staff were nice enough but the bar / restaurant does leave a little to be desired. It's a 15 minute walk in to town to grab some amazing street tacos so that wasn't a problem anyway. Good location and very easy and cheap to get a taxi down to the ruins!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank chloeescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

A sleepy, relaxed hotel out of the centre of Tulum (about 20 mins walk). The quiet is nice, but the street it's on is a bit dark and isolated if you want to walk back late (but taxis in Tulum are cheap as chips). The rooms are a little soulless, but the pool is nice as is the lobby/bar area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrazyDiamond85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Tulum for two nights. The bedroom block is little more than a concrete structure. It is bare and uninviting. Lighting is poor. Our room was spacious but lacked the usual facilities. Very bright ceiling lights were the only lighting option. So, too bright or total darkness. The AC unit did work but sounded like a plane taking off.
There is an attractive swimming pool on site which was clean during our visit.
The restaurant has a poor selection. Staff were more interested in watching TV than looking after guests. The included breakfast was good on the first morning but poor on the next.
Villa Tulum is located between the beach and 'Main Street'. It's a good walk to either. Best stay at the beach or in the town centre.
We could not recommend the Villa Tulum.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peartree69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tulum hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.3 mi away
Cabanas Zazilkin
Cabanas Zazilkin
#69 of 92 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.2 mi away
XscapeTulum
XscapeTulum
#49 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Azura Boutique Hotel
Azura Boutique Hotel
#50 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mestizo Gallery
Mestizo Gallery
#41 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.0 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#17 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa ZenaLiza
Villa ZenaLiza
#56 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wish Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wish Tulum

Property: Wish Tulum
Address: Avenida Coba Sur s/n, Tulum 77780, Mexico (Formerly Villa Tulum)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wish Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
privileged location midway the archeological at Tulum and the Sian Ka'an Biosphere Reserve, makes it the ideal place to enjoy true comfort in a peaceful atmosphere inspired by the Nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wish Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Tulum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing