We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing”
Review of Retiro Maya Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Retiro Maya Villas
Ranked #86 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
Reviewed August 28, 2009

We had the ocean front cabana, what a beautifull place. perfect beach with clean ocean (with nice waves). Cabanas are clean but keep in mind you are on the beach (but that is why you go here). The nighs are hot and the ocean can be loud (zo bring ear plugs). If you have a car, 5-10 min drive and you find some restaurants and a super market. in conclusion we had a great time there and the accomodation was perfect for some days on the beach. Tulum ruins are a 10 minute drive by car.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PimNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    91
    28
    39
    41
See reviews for
41
156
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
austin, texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We rented the house at retiro maya after lots of online research. we loved the place because of the space! most of the houses in tulum are very small and do not give that homey feeling. the house at retiro maya was a place you wanted to hang out and entertain- the beach was amazing and you have your own private deck with great lounge furniture. we actually spent a lot of time out there in the evening...and believe me, there are parts of the tulum beach that aren't so nice. the owner was extremely helpful. we loved our maid as she became like family to us. i would highly recommend this place to anyone going with a group of friends or kids.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer Dow H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2009

We LOVED Retiro Maya.

The location is... in a word: paradise. The beach is pristine, with sand soft as cotton and waters warm as your spit (that really is the best description for the water temp) and ever-changing in its shade of blue. One of my favorite things was watching the clouds morph throughout the day.

The rooms are great -- rustic, cozy, intimate. Without doubt, we had the best room on the beach, with nothing between out front porch and the ocean except that soft-as-cotton sand. Obviously, you don't have all the amenities of a 5 start resort in Cancun, but if you did want that, you'd go there. The night-time breeze through your cabana is far more luxurious than an AC.

The staff was warm and friendly. My Spanish is still in its developing stages but we had very little trouble communicating -- they were THAT nice. The restaurant fantastic. We only ate there once because we wanted to explore as much of Tulum as we could ( and because we preferred beer and tequila for breakfast) but the night we did, bf had the biggest lobster he's had in his life. Yum.

Finally. The owner, her daughter and her dog, are fantastic. They were tremendously accommodating of our fear of commitment and let us book two nights to start, at the week-long rate. We thought we might want to check out other resorts to get the most of Tulum but we ended up staying for the whole week. The owner was even kind enough to loan us her camera charger and spare battery; and offered some much appreciated guidance when bf and I got into a big silly fight (who fights in paradise? apparently, we do.)

I especially appreciated the owner's honesty about her resort -- she warned us, very matter-of-factly, that theft is not terribly uncommon and gave us tips to keep our belongings safe. In addition, the resident guard dog, a gorgeous golden lab (I think), named Luna, checked in on us in the mornings and periodically throughout the day to make sure all was good.

In sum: we have endless praise and not a single complain of our stay at Retiro Maya. I was a little surprised by the reviews I've heard but, well, maybe like most things in life, its about fit. Retiro Maya was exactly what we were looking for -- a cozy little getaway, submerged in luxurious natural beauty.

Oh! and with awesome nightlife at a resort just a walk on the beach away....

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NumaLani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2009

First, Big thanks for Joy (the super cool cook at Retiro Maya who stumbled upon the place while traveling some years back and has been there ever since) for hooking us up!!!

Secondly, I would say the Retiro Maya bar/lounge is the place to be on a Saturday night in Tulum! The music was amazing and the margaritas and pena coladas couldn't have been better! The staff at Retiro Maya are great and even the dog is cool!

Retiro Maya is quaint and perfect for those travelers who are looking to completely disconnect from it all. The cabanas are located on a beautiful stretch of beach in Tulum just far enough from it all while being close enough to ride bikes into Tulum Pueblo (the town) or to the Tulum Ruins. There are plenty of great places (restaurants, bars, and boutiques) to stumble into either walking along the beach or the main road. Staff at Retiro Maya can also hook you up with guided tours to cenotes and other hidden treasures in the area.

Tulum is a great destination all in itself, but it was also very easy to take a day trip to Chichen Itza and other great sites around the Yucatan! Staying here was one of the highlights of our trip.

I am already looking forward to my next stay here!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReyShaunMadolora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2009

I'm going to say some things were not satisfactory, but I might go here again. First time in Tulum and I have nothing to compare with. I have traveled many times to the Yucatan and left a wonderful place in Majahual to come here. I went with a friend and we were surprised at having the worst cabana assigned to us after reserving and sending full payment weeks in advance when others seemed to drop by and get better locations. To start, we were next to the bar and restaurant at the top of the hill from the beach. Not quiet as advertised but a great location if you like Salsa and other Latin music as the owner has good taste and likes to dance. We spent one night in this location and had a rat share our accomodations until my friend ran it out with a banging shoe on the bathroom floor. The rat was sick and I think it must have eaten in the restaurant. Don't eat there--breakfast was dismal, ruined toast, no milk, and the plate of fruit was tasteless--in the best fruit eating place I've ever been! The restaurant manager is rude, but the staff is helpful and kind. The owner moved us the next day to the quieter north side of the property and closer to the beach. She was very accomodating and helpful. The rooms are fine--rustic cabanas--but if you're a privacy freak, forget it. There are sightlines into bathrooms and you are elbow to elbow on the property--the band took their break at our bathroom wall and I had to kill the light. We also got bit by bugs we couldn't see that jumped on us from the sand on the floors of the cabanas. We also got mosquito bites and a spider shared our bed. Did I say the beach is fabulous? We liked the people we met here and found the experience as a whole okay. I can't say if there is a better place for the price $150 American for oceanview in February--no food. They do give you towels and that's good and it feels safe there. I'd have to think hard about booking again. We actually overhead a local in town talking on her cell phone with a friend who was trying to find a place in Tulum for under $100 without rats--we laughed--this was before we checked in.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Red4April
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2009

I walked down the beach from Playa Azul and stumbled on to this gem. I initially stayed for 2 nights and every morning after I walked up to book another night promising to leave the next day. It turned into an 8 day stay. I met great people there and checked out many other cabanas during my stay but found nothing better for the price. Lu, is an extremely sincere and kind owner. I am a professional photographer and I can honestly say this place really got a hold of me. I may return as soon as next month. I can't get enough of this little piece of heaven.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank osomofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANCUN
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2009

My boyfriend and I just came back from a lovely weekend there. It was like being in paradise, definitly is one of the most beautiful beaches all around the world: white and soft sand, great warm turqoise blue ocean, superb weather, peace, relax, and fun.
Lu is the owner and manager and she gives every guest nothing but the best. There is a great bar with live music and delicius Margaritas. The room was fantastic, rustic, but comfortable, hot water, and sleeping with the ocean sound is a fantastic experience.The food was also great, try the chilaquiles...best in town. My boyfriend and I definitly will return to this magic place.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COSYKOZO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.1 mi away
Posada Lamar
Posada Lamar
#52 of 96 in Tulum
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Tulum
Coral Tulum
#50 of 96 in Tulum
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Chan Cabanita
La Chan Cabanita
#22 of 121 in Tulum
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
My Way Boutique Hotel
My Way Boutique Hotel
#16 of 88 in Tulum
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tulum Hemingway Romantic Cabanas
0.0 mi away
Coco Tulum
Coco Tulum
#5 of 88 in Tulum
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retiro Maya Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retiro Maya Villas

Property: Retiro Maya Villas
Address: Km. .5 Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila 6 | Highway Tulum Boca Paila KM 6.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico (Formerly Retiro Maya Eco-Hotel and Retreats)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Retiro Maya Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miles from the busy hustle of all inclusive resorts and hotspots, lays a sacred space for couples & families, Groups & global travelers, conscious people and fellow seekers, Find peace here, breathe, explore, create your own adventure. Retiro Maya is a grassroots eco-haven for the nature loving traveler. integrating eco-loving style with conscious adventure seeking. Days bring healing breezes, smooth sun-drenched moments sound tracked by the ocean’s melodic chant. At night find your zen space under a vast canopy of stars. Retiro Maya strives to create unique escape experiences... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Retiro Maya Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Retiro Maya Tulum
Cabanas Retiro Maya Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing