We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Retiro Maya Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Retiro Maya Villas
Ranked #86 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Riposto, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had the great god fortune of stumbling onto Retiro Maya in February this year.
The owner and hostess supreme Lu made us feel as family , there was no wanting for anything and the location on Tulums' fabulous white sandy beach is superb.

Lu and her outstanding staff have done a fabulous job creating a warm inviting atmosphere at Retiro Tulum, the accommodations were comfortable and charming, the onsite restaurant was always trying to please with local cuisine and the beach bar right on the sand tops it all off..no reason to go anywhere else, but if the need strikes you, a short walk down the beach puts you at many different restaurants and fun venues.

Thanks so much Lu for a lovely stress free time.well done.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillieSastre, Guest Relations Manager at Retiro Maya Villas, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you David for your wonderful review! At Retiro Maya we work everyday to make our customers happy!
Hope we can see you soon.
Retiro Maya's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    91
    28
    39
    41
See reviews for
41
156
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed this year twice. Three days. And a week later one day. Services were scattered but typical for tulum. Breakfasts if fruit and coffee are fresh and well prepared. Rooms all are basically on the beach. Owner and employees are friendly. Beach is beautiful. Restaurants within a short walk.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billyreiner2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillieSastre, Guest Relations Manager at Retiro Maya Villas, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thanks a lot for your recommendation, we sure hope we can see you again anytime soon.
Greetings from all our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Definitely not what i was expecting for $120US a night in low season. We got a stuffy bungalow at the back of all the bungalows,one fan between 3 of us so none of us could sleep. No lights other than between 7pm and 11pm so could never see where we were walking or .any of our gear without a torch during the day. Continental breakfast neans a smallamount of fruit and a couple of small pieces of baguette. We were told we had wifi access in all rooms...that doesnt exist only in the restaurant. And we were told we could pay be credit card...again not the case everything must be paid for in cash. We ate at the tacos restaurant, ridiculously expensive and totally tasteless. Since when does the word eco mean saving money but ripping off guests...ive stayed in much better hostels.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank aaj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Our trip was a belated honeymoon. We wanted a calm, simple, and beautiful location to take sometime to enjoy each other. We hit the mark with Retiro Maya. Its simple beauty, delicious food, and friendly staff was exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillieSastre, Guest Relations Manager at Retiro Maya Villas, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hi Jess,

First of all thank you for choosing us for such an important event as your honeymoon, and congratulations!

We are vey happy you enjoyed your stay and celebrated your love.

We work hard to make every stay a magical experience.

Hope to see you again soon!

Best regards from all our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We ate at the restaurant on the road side and at the beach cabana. Road side restaurant is open after 5 and is much less expensive. It has an extensive salsa bar and the best chips we have ever had. Veggie tacos and guacamole were also incredible. Beach-side cabana eatery was overpriced and doesn't have the same salsa selection.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucykatherine7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillieSastre, Guest Relations Manager at Retiro Maya Villas, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your good recommendation on our TACO restaurant, we work hard to deliver our best offer to our clients and hope to see you here again soon!
Best regards from all Retiro Maya's Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We only visited Retiro Maya for lunch during our stay in Tulum, but we can't recommend it enough. Beds on the beach were free provided you spent 100 pesos each at the bar/restaurant, so we spent the day there and had a great time. The bar man was very friendly and helpful, and our food for lunch was delicious (I'd particularly recommend the prawns cooked Mayan style as the sauce was great!) Food and drinks were all very reasonably priced too.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Breony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillieSastre, Guest Relations Manager at Retiro Maya Villas, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you Breony for your recommendation on our restaurant, bar and beach. We work everyday to make our clients feel at home and enjoy their stay with us.
Really hope we can see you again soon!
Best regards from Retiro Maya's Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

It is just on the beach, the last cabana is 30/40 Mt from the ocean, beach is white and a lot of coco trees are around.
My cabana had a private bathroom with ocean view, fun, massive bed with net, nice terrace with 2 sunbeds wood chairs with comfy mattresses and 1 not the best hammock, .
Manager, as staffs, is always with a big smile, ready to help with anything, when she showed the room listed all the services including 2 bottle of 1lt water that we could refil at the bar but anyway they change every day, daily lines and Tower for shower change and beach towel change every 2 days.

It never happened, only when we ask to do they did it... In four nights we asked 2 times, then we gave up.

Room does not have chairs or desk, light is on only between 17:30 and 23:00, however in the day room has not enough light and we had to dig in our luggage with a torch.

I really love the design of the bathroom, it is big with 2 trees and part of it is without ceiling. Of course you will end up with a lot of fauna, it is normal in the kind of environment, the issue is when in the night your girlfriend needs a back up to go to pee, without light and with ours other room mates, big "Ben" cockroach, his prole and cool "Rob" snake she was a bit afraid to go alone. I had to bodyguard her with the torch. And try to scary my roommates, I guess they are so used to share the bathroom that is not enough ask them to leave for a moment the restroom.
Door of the bathroom does not have handle or knob, there is a bolt where you can manage to pull your door but very small and it is not easy to unlock it, a bit afraid sometime to stay locked inside. Also the main entrance does not have handle, there is a padlock , not the latest technology I would say.

I hope you do not get your neighbours with diarrhea, loo borders with bedroom and walls are not acoustic isolated, maybe is part of the maya acoustic engineer as for chitcen itza.
From the hole of the shower water rinse up, not the best when you are having shower.

Internet in my room does not had network, the manager warned me to go to the restaurant for it, however in the Web site they say internet is covered in all areas.

Breakfast is poor, a plate of fruit but you can ask for a bis, coffee or tea, delicious orange juice and some bread with industrial strawberries Jam .

Restaurant is always empty and at 7pm in all resort looks like 11pm, reception with the light off and with no one, restaurant closed , a bit sad I would say.

Prices are in dollars, and rate penalizes who pay in pesos, they do not use the rate of day before, not a big deal but when you sum every thing....

My mum always says, you get what you pay, well mum it is not always true.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FiliLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillieSastre, Guest Relations Manager at Retiro Maya Villas, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Hello,
We are very sorry that you didn't get what you wanted. We work at our best to serve what we offer, a a grass root Eco-haven for the nature loving traveler. About what you say for the Wi-Fi, in our web we announce complementary Wi-Fi you are right this can mislead to misunderstandings, we will add the phrase (only available in our restaurant and bar area), thank you for your comment as we strive to improve with every guest.
Best regards from all Retiro Maya's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.1 mi away
Posada Lamar
Posada Lamar
#52 of 96 in Tulum
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Tulum
Coral Tulum
#51 of 96 in Tulum
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tata Tulum
Tata Tulum
#62 of 96 in Tulum
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
My Way Boutique Hotel
My Way Boutique Hotel
#16 of 88 in Tulum
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Chan Cabanita
La Chan Cabanita
#22 of 121 in Tulum
66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tulum Hemingway Romantic Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retiro Maya Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retiro Maya Villas

Property: Retiro Maya Villas
Address: Km. .5 Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila 6 | Highway Tulum Boca Paila KM 6.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico (Formerly Retiro Maya Eco-Hotel and Retreats)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Retiro Maya Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miles from the busy hustle of all inclusive resorts and hotspots, lays a sacred space for couples & families, Groups & global travelers, conscious people and fellow seekers, Find peace here, breathe, explore, create your own adventure. Retiro Maya is a grassroots eco-haven for the nature loving traveler. integrating eco-loving style with conscious adventure seeking. Days bring healing breezes, smooth sun-drenched moments sound tracked by the ocean’s melodic chant. At night find your zen space under a vast canopy of stars. Retiro Maya strives to create unique escape experiences... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Retiro Maya Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Retiro Maya Tulum
Cabanas Retiro Maya Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing