We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a very special place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Retiro Maya Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Retiro Maya Villas
Ranked #80 of 90 Hotels in Tulum
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a very special place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

It is not always a comfortable feeling to travel as a woman alone, but the staff at Retiro Maya was warm and welcoming and their kindness was heartfelt. I felt like this was my home for the time I spent there. The sound of the waves was 24/7 and it was soothing - which added to the relaxing atmosphere of the place. Food was terrific, and though there were only lights from 5:30-11, I was still able to re charge my cell phone and my camera battery in my room and I was able to take a hot shower. It was a wonderful experience of living with nature and I left feeling tranquil.

Room Tip: Bring a flashlight and be ready to abandon everyday luxury in exchange for enjoying the beauty of na...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilyn z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillieSastre, Public Relations Manager at Retiro Maya Villas, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hello Marilyn,

Thanks a lot for your beautiful comment. We are glad you had a wonderful time in our hotel and hope we can receive you again soon!

Best regards from all Retiro Maya's Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    91
    28
    39
    42
See reviews for
41
157
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I went to Tulum this past week (2/12-2/19/14) pretty spontaneously. I had been meaning to go someplace warm and kept putting off my plans. A dear friend recommended Tulum and upon reading about the town, I thought it would be the perfect spot (it was!). I booked my plane on a Friday night and then was busy Saturday so looked for a hotel on Sunday. Everything seemed to be taken! My friend had told me that I needed to stay on the beach, considering that was the reason I was going to Tulum, right? So looking around, I found the only thing available on the beach for a week was a place called Retiro Maya. They had a discount deal since I was booking so last minute but the reivews on this site were very mixed. Rather than picking a place in town, I decided to go with Retiro Maya. I am very, very glad I did! I am here to try and swing the balance of the reviews on this site towards the positive--because a positive experience is what I had!

First off, I want to make it clear that not every room is the same at Retiro Maya. I was staying in a single room in a large house. Sometimes they rent out the whole house to one group, sometimes they split it up for various people. I was literally a hop, skip, and a jump from the beach. I had electricity all the time, internet all the time, a lovely, lovely room with a closet and drawers for my clothes. Fresh sheets & towels, my own private bathroom. Tremendous! The only problem I had was that there wasn't any hot water when I arrived. I told the staff about it, they said they would fix it right away--and they did! They couldn't have been more professional or friendly.

The last time I was on the beach was in Thailand where I stayed in a cabaña which contained a single mattress--and that's it. So everything felt utterly luxurious to me. Perhaps if you're coming from 4 star hotels where your every whim is granted with room service and facial massage, this will seem like a step down. For me, I couldn't have been happier. And the beach is so wonderful! The sand so soft, the water so blue. You can walk to all the other hotels on the beach to try out different restaurants but you can always eat at Retiro Maya (the food is always fresh and tasty!)

I am not a big drinker so I can't comment on the bar here. Nor did I do any yoga. There's a bike at the hotel next door, a taxi was there whenever I needed it. I just had no complaints and would definitely stay there again.

P.S. The photos I saw on Trip Advisor made it look much worse than it really was! So here is a better picture of my room. Everything is the same except there was no plant when I was there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillieSastre, Guest Relations Manager at Retiro Maya Villas, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hello Nick,

First of all I want to thank you for your excellent recommendation of our place. We work hard to make this place a magic retreat for all our guests. I will personally check what you say about the pictures of our site here in Trip Advisor. If you have any more suggestions I will happily attend them at marketing@retiromaya.com

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

What a special place!! My husband and I came across this beautiful retreat while seeking refuge from an unexpected downpour. We were looking for a quiet place for a one night stay. After parking our rental in their nice sized, well lit parking lot, we walked barefoot to the reception. There we were greeted by Tanya, the manager who lives on property. Tanya was able to accommodate us at a rate we couldn't refuse. We stayed in the studio above the yoga room, which has the capacity to sleep 5. All open air (with screens and fans) and a large bathroom. The room was super clean, all hardwood floors. The bed was comfortable and we fell asleep to the sound of the waves crashing on the resorts private beach. Continental breakfast was included in our stay. Yummy fresh fruit and really tasty strong coffee served by the friendliest waitstaff. If you stay here, be sure to try the pizza place next door for lunch or dinner. Best pizza south of NYC. When we return to Tulum, we will definitely be staying here!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahBlitz3279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillieSastre, Guest Relations Manager at Retiro Maya Villas, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hello Sarah,

Tania and all the team of Retiro Maya Tulum thanks you for your recommendation. We are very happy you found us and even more happy you plan on coming back.

Hope to see you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

What a relaxing vacation. Tania' and the staff were very pleasing. Impeccable presentation of the grounds. The cabanas were simple and very clean. We even left the door open at night and let the coastal breeze blow in. Very, very quiet and peaceful. Beech was awesome and not crowded in mid January. Nothing like sitting under a thatched parasol sipping a cold cerveza and reading a book looking at the turquoise waves roll in! Will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillieSastre, Guest Relations Manager at Retiro Maya Villas, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias Eduard por tu maravilloso comentario. Un saludo de parte de Tania y todo el equipo de Retiro Maya. Esperamos verte muy pronto por aquí.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

stayed for 3 nights & staff were informative & very friendly. Maintenance was impeccable & for a beach front hotel it is the best deal on the strip. Its proximity is ideal for all ventures. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: all rooms are feet away from pretty much your own private beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillieSastre, Guest Relations Manager at Retiro Maya Villas, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thanks for your beautiful review Antonio, we are glad you enjoyed your three days in our Hotel and sure hope to see you again soon.

Retiro Maya's Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Your piece of paradise.

If the sound of the waves, beach in few meters and fully privacy is your priority - Retira Maya is what you need. Retira (from Spanish solitariness) is оправдывает it's name.

It's located on the quite part of Tulum beach. Far from noisy Ahau and bars with parties and live music. The beach is super clean as well as water. Cute wooden bar plays nice jazz music in the afternoon. Barmen will bring habanero margarita right to your bed.

Check in was pretty quick. Tanya on reception is very nice.

Cabanas covered with wood and two palapa roofs. They walls inside made from concrete. It's chill there - we never used a fan. A bed is comfy. Pillows - too. You sleep with a sound of the ocean like a baby.
Bathroom has an open wall - so there is always a fresh air. Shower has a good pressure. Only when it's really chill outside water cannot warm up to the hot temperature. But it is still pretty warm (just don't turn on cold water in a shower).

Terrace is big and facing the ocean. You can lay on the beds or hammock here too.

Yes, it's deep in the nature, and fauna is here. So if you don't leave pieces of a food on the floor, or sweet drink in the glass - no insects will have an interest to come over.

Electricity and Wi-Fi worked all the time (even on the beach). There is no plugs in cabana were you can leave your phone charging overnight. Plenty of them in the restaurant. But I was afraid to leave iPhone there overnight. Even thought a security guy stayed there all night long.

I missed our community kitchen where we could cook and cool fruits and drinks in the fridge. But it's my personal thing. A lot of people don't like to cook on a vacation.

Kitchen guys are very friendly. Damian is very attentive and smile all the time. He warmed up our soups we brought from the restaurant in the town. And chilled our drinks when we asked. If you like your food in special style - just ask.

Continental breakfast is included in a price of a room. From 8-10:30. Coffee is delicious. Milk steamed. Toasts are crunchy and hot. Orange juice is squeezed. Fruit plate varies day by day. You can ask for refill any time. Dining room is facing a beautiful garden.

There is certificate yoga center. Classes every 8am.

I really loved the sense of the presence of only us and nature in Retira Maya. Staff is very humble and quite. They keep leaving you along with with this beautiful space on the beach.

We had a very pleasant stay in Retira Maya's ocean front cabana. We got lucky with 50% discount (we changed flights and book it a night before). But full $240 would be too pricy for us.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillieSastre, Guest Relations Manager at Retiro Maya Villas, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Wow!!! Amazing review Anya, we are very touched by your words. Thank you for your beautiful review and we really hope to receive you soon! Best regards from all Retiro Maya's Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We were not staying at Retiro Maya but it seemed like one of the more welcoming resorts along the beach. We managed to bag ourselves a couple of loungers and a parasol and got down to a day on the beach. You don't have to pay for the loungers but they request you eat and drink at their restaurant. I was a tad reluctant at first but In the end I was pleasantly surprised.

The restaurant menu is predominantly Mexican with a few local delicacies thrown in for good measure. We ordered Cerviche, a green salad, fish tacos and chicken tostadas. Its fair to say we over ordered.

Everything was made fresh to order which is always good to see. It was a large portion of very tasty, fresh cerviche served with nachos and habanero sauce. It was also a very generous sized green salad. By the time the tostadas and tacos came out we were pretty much stuffed but that said we had a stab and they too were very good indeed. Again very fresh and tasty. We washed it all down with homemade lemonade.

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality and freshness of the food. We probably did order too much food so the bill was a bit pricey. They also add 15% service to the bill but that said you are eating well with friendly service just off the beach in Tulum.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SBKLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillieSastre, Guest Relations Manager at Retiro Maya Villas, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hello,
We are pleased you liked our menu and enjoyed the beach! Hope to see you and receive you next time in our hotel and cabanas.
Best regards,
Retiro Maya's Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Kin Ha
Hotel Playa Kin Ha
#65 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada Lamar
Posada Lamar
#50 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Tulum
Coral Tulum
#51 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Chan Cabanita
La Chan Cabanita
#18 of 115 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.2 mi away
My Way Boutique Hotel
My Way Boutique Hotel
#17 of 81 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coco Tulum
Coco Tulum
#4 of 81 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retiro Maya Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retiro Maya Villas

Property: Retiro Maya Villas
Address: Km. .5 Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila 6 | Highway Tulum Boca Paila KM 6.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico (Formerly Retiro Maya Eco-Hotel and Retreats)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Retiro Maya Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miles from the busy hustle of all inclusive resorts and hotspots, lays a sacred space for couples & families, Groups & global travelers, conscious people and fellow seekers, Find peace here, breathe, explore, create your own adventure. Retiro Maya is a grassroots eco-haven for the nature loving traveler. integrating eco-loving style with conscious adventure seeking. Days bring healing breezes, smooth sun-drenched moments sound tracked by the ocean’s melodic chant. At night find your zen space under a vast canopy of stars. Retiro Maya strives to create unique escape experiences... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabanas Retiro Maya Tulum
Cabanas Retiro Maya Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing