We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bungalows not practical for a relaxing holiday” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Retiro Maya Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Retiro Maya Villas
Ranked #80 of 91 Hotels in Tulum
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“bungalows not practical for a relaxing holiday”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Did not enjoy our stay at all! Bathroom leaked when it rained, limited hot water and electricity (only for 5 hours per day), noway of getting sand off feet before entering bungalow and restaurant/bar is severely overpriced!! 90 peso for a rum and coke and 23 usd for a salad. Also we had to pay via international transfer which cost me extra in fees and to top it off we were charged another 25 usd on check out for some weird reason. Nice location on beach but can get far better in tulum. Would highly recommend you stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franky121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    91
    28
    39
    42
See reviews for
41
157
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I will say this: Our cabana was right on the beach, about fifty feet from the water's edge at high tide. The cabanas are thatched roofed, stick walls with rough concrete floors. There was no furniture in the room other than the bed and some shelves. There were two chaise lounges on the front patio and a small table which I took inside to use when getting dressed. The bathroom had an open wall, so there were always a few small insects around. There were only two bath towels, no wash cloths or face towels. They did not change the towels so on the second day I had to ask the maid for fresh towels. The electricity only worked from 6:00 PM to 10:30 PM on two of the three nights we were there, and until 10:15 one night. The bathroom roof leaked so bad the floor flooded and a little water flowed into the bedroom until I used a towel as a dam. The people who worked there were very nice and helpful, however. It seemed over priced at $140.00 per night, but the bed was good and had a mosquito net. If you want a rustic romantic place, it is ok if you don't mind the price. No credit cards accepted; they will take dollars or pesos. No pool or fitness room but yoga was available for $15.00 US or a massage for $80.00 US.

Room Tip: Get a room with a waterproof roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

This place is just perfect if you're looking for a comfortable, laid back and ecological place to enjoy the amazing beach of Tulum. It's right on the sand, the view is great from any of the rooms, the sunrise just happens at your door, the stars fill the sky at night, the food is excellent, the staff is great, the rooms are rustically beautiful and the beach is just paradise.

The greatness of Tulum is not just its amazing ocean (the whole Mayan Riviera is full of extraordinary beaches) and the fact that it's the only beach with its own impressive ruins, but also that it's one of the few places in the area that hasn't been taken by massive tourism. This is not Cancun, nor Playa del Carmen, so if big 5 stars or all-inclusive resorts are your thing, don't come to Tulum. The beach hotels here are small, intimate, rustic and quiet, perfect for people that are not longing for a day fully loaded in activities for screaming kids or annoying teenagers, and couples that don't need a lot of noise to enjoy themselves in the evenings (you could go to town for that, though).

Retiro Maya offers just what the name suggest: a place to retire from stress, noise and pollution. Just take a good book, lie down under the sun and enjoy the incredible charm of a gorgeous caribbean beach.

Room Tip: The closer to the beach the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moniqx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Don't Waste Your Money on this Penny Pinching Hotel

We have stayed in Beach Cabanas, Huts, Log Cabins of varying degrees of comfort and price in many Countries so this was not our first experience of this type of accommodation however considering the price charged we were not prepared for:

Stained sheets and towels, holes in the mosquito net, filthy bathroom in the first cabana we were allocated, ripped sun bed covers, sewerage smell from sink, and either no water or cold water to shower. No toiletries were provided; basically you get a toilet roll and a bar of soap. The breakfast was an absolute joke - 3 pieces of fruit sliced very thinly over a small plate, fruit juice, coffee and 5 small pieces of bread for two people and that was barely toasted. They are quite happy to offer you extras though, such as eggs at £5 per person! We have stayed in better back packer joints at a fraction of the price. No wonder they get the money up front first and no payment by credit card. Staff are not interested unless you are spending money there and the owner ignores you even if you are standing in front of her. The only thing the hotel has going for it is the location and that is what we focused on in order not to spoil our time there .

To date I have never had cause to write a bad review like this about any hotel. Save yourself money and stress and go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Avoid this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShiresUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tulum hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great place, close to the beach. Beautifully situated and planned. Helpful staff, a restaurant with excellent food and relaxing atmosphere.
I warmly recommend you to stay at this wonderful place. Cottage with the ocean outside your window. You fall a sleep hearing the waves of the caribbean ocean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josla_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Örebro
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

When you arrive to the playa and Retiro Maya, you take your shoes off as you step out of the taxi. Immediately when you step on the white warm sand you feel welcomed and at home. This is the place you want to be! Only after a few minutes you feel relaxed and get in to the "manana" mode. You are then met by the reception and restaurant where you meet the most friendly serviceminded people ever, and of course Luna the dog and the cat. It is all cosy, nice, friendly and very close to nature. The food and drinks are great! You can sit on the swings in the bar and "only be". It is all simple way of living and the cosy cabanas have all that you need. If you are looking for hotel complex luxury you have gone to the wrong place. This is an environmental friendly place, simple and close to nature and you have just what you need, not more, not less. Yoga class is available every morning. (It looked healthy from the berakfeast table). We chose a cabana with view of the beach.. meaning we more or less lived straight on it. I woke up to the beautiful sunrises in the morning, spent beautiful days on the beach, getting guacamole and fruit juice whenever it felt right. The days ended with a sum up of the day on the terass of the cabana under the moon and the stars. This is the kind of place you get your clothes off and go swimming under the moon undisturbed. It´a paradise. Although I travelled a lot, this is a pearl on earth! The friendly staff helped organizing all type of tours and even though you want to travel around a bit it is all easy accesible from Tulum and Retiro Maya as a base. Also the playa have plenty of nice restaurants and bars just around the corner. All the things together is a lifetime memory. Retiro Maya gets five coconuts out of five possible from me.

Room Tip: Get a room with a beach view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had planned to only stay a week at Retiro Maya but we liked it so much we extended the stay by another week. We were in a beach front cabaña and the view was amazing. Falling asleep and waking up to the sounds of waves was great. The staff is super friendly and they helped us with anything we needed. The restaurant serves great food and the margaritas are the best in town!
I can really recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Kin Ha
Hotel Playa Kin Ha
#65 of 91 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada Lamar
Posada Lamar
#48 of 91 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Tulum
Coral Tulum
#51 of 91 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Chan Cabanita
La Chan Cabanita
#19 of 115 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.2 mi away
My Way Boutique Hotel
My Way Boutique Hotel
#17 of 81 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coco Tulum
Coco Tulum
#4 of 81 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retiro Maya Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retiro Maya Villas

Property: Retiro Maya Villas
Address: Km. .5 Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila 6 | Highway Tulum Boca Paila KM 6.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico (Formerly Retiro Maya Eco-Hotel and Retreats)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Retiro Maya Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miles from the busy hustle of all inclusive resorts and hotspots, lays a sacred space for couples & families, Groups & global travelers, conscious people and fellow seekers, Find peace here, breathe, explore, create your own adventure. Retiro Maya is a grassroots eco-haven for the nature loving traveler. integrating eco-loving style with conscious adventure seeking. Days bring healing breezes, smooth sun-drenched moments sound tracked by the ocean’s melodic chant. At night find your zen space under a vast canopy of stars. Retiro Maya strives to create unique escape experiences... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabanas Retiro Maya Tulum
Cabanas Retiro Maya Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing