We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magical Place”
Review of Poc-na Tulum

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poc-na Tulum
Ranked #68 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We loved EVERY aspect of our stay at La Vita e Bella. I have no idea why anyone would have anything negative to say about this paradise. Expensive? I totally disagree. We stayed in a spacious 2 bedroom with a big 2 sink bathroom and a large deck with a hammock and a few chairs around a small table. Our daughter spent hours reading in the hammock while we lounged in the chairs with our books. The ocean was just 100 yards away making it more than easy to don our suits whenever the mood hit and run through the white sand, into the sea.

Every single person who works here from the reception area to the restaurant was wonderful -- kind, warm, welcoming, informative -- the kind of staff who makes you feel as if you're the only guest there. I just want to mention some names and I apologize ahead of time to all the others I haven't mentioned: Julianna, Carmen, Jesus at the reception desk -- all superlative. All of the guys who work in the delicious restaurant from Benjamin to Lalo to Ramon to Francisco and on and on. I miss you all already as I think about the hours we spent with our toes buried in the white sand, sipping Margaritas and gazing out to the sea.

And speaking of sand I have to comment on the reviewer who complained about "too much sand." Huh? It's a beachfront place; I certainly hope there's plenty of sand. It was one of the most fun features of this place and there were plenty of spigots to rinse your feet if you felt the need.

We also met a few couples and families who come back to La Vita e Bella again and again and I can understand why. I know we'll be back! This was one of the best vacation experiences we've had as a family. And, again, the entire staff deserves a raise! They were all spectacular.

Cheers to La Vita e Bella!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
There are newer reviews for Poc-na Tulum
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 543 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Best view and sea in tulum
Bungalow are very rustic and not well maintained
Staff is very friendly and helpful
Expensive look around for better deals

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexMiamifl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun11, Public Relations Manager at Poc-na Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

We want to thank the reviewer for their comments however brief and inaccurate. There is a line between the appearances of rusticity and not “well maintained.” I believe you may have enjoyed the beach and had a few drinks. You were not guest of the hotel. If you had stayed in a room, you would have seen that the hotel is maintained very well. We are a small rustic hotel on the beach in Tulum. The website gives a great representation of what the hotel is like.

A single sentence generalized comment without detail is insufficient information for the hotel to give a good response and probably insufficient for travelers to get an idea of your experience at La Vita e Bella Hotel.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We got a "special" rate of 100 USD (partial sea view, 150yards from the beach) and 150 USD (sea viwew, right on the beach) a night because the hotel was empty. We were wondering why because the condos looked really nice and most reviews were positive. The ladies at the reception were very friendly and helpful. After having spent three nights in two different bungslows we know why the hotel was empty but the restaurant well visited.

You get the same service in Tulum for half the price. It's a budget traveller accomodation. Never worth a 100/150 USD.

The food and service in the restaurant are excellent. Our recommendation: Eat in the restaurant and stay in another hotel.

PS: Griselda and Carmen were amazing. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank domreust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun11, Public Relations Manager at Poc-na Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

We want to thank the reviewer for their comments. The reviewer liked the hotel, restaurant and service. He did not like the price. I guess I need to explain that there is added value to waking up and stepping from your room on to a beach in the Caribbean and being able to walk a few more feet and swim in the sea.

The reviewer is showing a certain lack of logic and misperception that some budget travelers have. They want to stay at a beachfront hotel for the same price as a non-beachfront hotel. Unfortunately, that is not possible. The cost of operating a beachfront hotel is more expensive than a hotel in town some 2 miles or more away from the sea.

There was a time when you could stay on the beach in this part of Mexico for $50 or $75 dollars a night. That time was over 12 years ago. There are no small or large beachfront hotels in Tulum that offer a price of $50 or $75 dollars a night for a beachfront room, even during low season when there are few tourist in town or the area.

We are glad that he thought Griselda and Carmen, from the housekeeping crew were amazing. I am not sure his two stars rating that will help them.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Pros: friendly staff. Very nice Italian restaurant with fresh pastas and gelato ice cream. The view from our budget room was fantastic. We had one of the little rooms at the front with uninterrupted view. This is why you are here for really.

Cons:
_ smelly sewage system - we could smell this everytime we open bathroom door.
_ we understand the idea of sand in restaurant, walkways and reception areas but couldn't embrace it. we felt that we needed a break from the sand floor. There were no water or anything to wash your feet before entering non-sand areas causing sand everywhere I'm the floor of our room, that didnt feel nice.

Room Tip: We paid $80 usd for the small (very small) room by the sand out the front row. This price is mainly...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun11, Public Relations Manager at Poc-na Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the views of the Caribbean Sea from your Cabana Chico. The staff always makes an effort to be friendly with guests. We enjoy what we do and find that guests are very friendly as well.

You mentioned two cons of being at the hotel. First, the sewer system is not smelly. The problem was with your particular bathroom. We are not sure why you did not inform the management of a problem with your bathroom, as we would have taken care of the situation while you were there. We are here to help guests enjoy their vacations. We encourage guests of our hotel or any hotel in the world where they stay to report to the management any problem that they have with their room. That will help you the vacationer and us the staff.

We have never had a complaint about sand at the beach. There is water in each bathroom and abundant towels to wet and wash your feet before entering your Cabana. If you needed additional assistance such as a bucket for water, we would have gladly supplied you with one. We do understand that some folks might not be accustomed to how to manage sand at a small beachfront cabana hotel. We will be more aware of that for the future.

We are glad that you did enjoy your stay, overall.

Thank you.

Public Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed for three nights as part of a two week trip to Mexico. We stayed in five different hotels/cabanas during our visit and this was easily our least favourite.

We arrived around an hour before their advertised check-in time, hoping to be able to store our bags. There was no one on reception when we arrived. We waited in the reception area for 10 minutes, after which time we went to the restaurant to try to find someone. One of the waiters greeted us and told us to take a seat. It looked like the management/reception staff were in a meeting on the other side of the restaurant and we were told they would be with us very soon. 20 minutes later, still no one had come to greet us. Finally, a further five minutes later after we had spoken to one of the waiters again someone came and greeted us. Awful! When we finally checked in, the receptionist told us the room we had booked was "Small...very small!!" - hardly the best advert for their own services!

The room was indeed small, with little space to store clothes (just two shelves). It was however kept very clean every day. The room looked worn, very dark and not very inviting. There was no shutter over the window in the bathroom - not ideal when everyone can see you getting out of the shower!

The waiters in the restaurant/bar were however excellent and very friendly. They were incredibly attentive.

Finally, when we came to check out, we were told they had temporarily "lost" the key to the safety deposit box behind the reception desk and that it would take 15 minutes for them to find it. Although we weren't in a huge rush, we did have a plane to catch later in the day and it was somewhat disconcerting to leave you passports in the hands of someone who could "lose" the key.

All in all, poor customer service and at over 100USD a night it represents poor value for money. We stayed in Hotel Mestizo, also in Tulum, for one night and I couldn't recommend them enough.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meghan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun11, Public Relations Manager at Poc-na Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2012

We thank you for your comments. We always want to know what our guests think about our hotel and service. All hotels want content guest. We want contented guests at the hotel. We have been successful 85% of the time with that goal. No hotel consciously annoys guests.

At the time of your arrival, the receptionist on duty was showing a cabana to a walk-in guest in another part of the hotel. As you stated, the manager and other staff were meeting, in the restaurant. They assumed the receptionist greeted you and you were waiting for your room to be prepared. The manager or staff did not realize you had not been properly greeted until they were notified the second time. The 20 minutes was the time that your cabin was being prepared before the 3 PM check-in time. If your room were ready in advance, we would have moved you in sooner.

The cabin you rented is the "Cabana Chico". It is literally a "small cabin", with a partial view of the Caribbean Sea and about 20 meters from the beach. There is a small terrace with 2 chairs and a table to enjoy the view. That is rents a little over $100 USD throughout the year. It rents to the travelers on a budget.

The size of the room is approximately 11X11 feet or 10.2 square meters. It is the size of a standard bedroom. The bathroom window is elevated above shoulder level. No one can see in the window unless one wants to tromp through vegetation and stand on one’s tiptoes. You have exaggerated.

You asked the receptionists if the room was "very small." The receptionist is not fluent in English or, particularly, in English nuance and simply repeated your words "very small" not aware the negative connotation you were attaching. She answered relative to our other cabanas or rooms at the hotel. If you wanted a larger cabana, you could have very easily changed to a beachfront bungalow for $60 USD more. Still, there are few sea view cabins, 60 feet from the beach and that rent for near $100 USD per night in Tulum year around.

You stated that your passport was left in a safety deposit box. You failed to mention, because you were unaware, that the safety deposit box is located in a 1200LB (544 kilo) combination locked safe behind the door in the manager's office. Your passport was not in the hands of someone who misplaced a key to the door to the office. It did not take 15 minutes to get the key to the office. It only took a few minutes.

Of course, we would hope that the guests would voice their complaint while at the hotel so that we can address the problem while they are here. We are not in business to annoy our guests. No hotel is in that business. La Vita staff never intentionally annoy you or any guest of the hotel. That simply makes no sense at all.

Finally, we do not mind responding to a negative comment or a constructive comment about our hotel. In fact, we are glad that the opportunity exists. We understand that guests may not see the whole picture of a problem they assume, as in your case. However, we do hope, that they will state the facts honestly.

Thank you.
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed 9 nights this time, wished it was longer. It is quiet, peaceful and the beach is to die for! I felt like we were coming home as the women who cleaned our room everyday have become friends. It was so clean and Dorca, Griselda and Elda are very friendly and personable. They helped me with my spanish and always had time to chat and still do their work. Julie and Lisa were so helpful (reception), the waiters were a lot of fun as well as being professional (Jorge,Lalo,Roger,Rigo y otros). It felt like family. Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mom9joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

A dream became true!
Very nice and clean room on the beach side. Very nice staff, especially the cleaning lady who made romatic figures on the bed for our honeymoon! :-) The restaurant was also excellent! It was a quite environment so I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms are very nice!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annemie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.5 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#10 of 98 in Tulum
549 reviews
1.7 mi away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#22 of 98 in Tulum
591 reviews
1.8 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#20 of 98 in Tulum
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cabanas Zazilkin
Cabanas Zazilkin
#76 of 98 in Tulum
305 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Poc Na Tulum
Hotel Poc Na Tulum
#38 of 89 in Tulum
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Paraiso Tulum
El Paraiso Tulum
#14 of 89 in Tulum
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poc-na Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poc-na Tulum

Address: Carretera Tulum, a Boca Paila, km 1.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $80 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poc-na Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the beauty of our hotel, "Pocna" (A mayan name for a Hotel according to my neighbor), a handcrafted place in the middle of nature, located between the jungle and the beautiful beach of Tulum, Mexico, created and designed to soround you with the exotic nature that only Mexican Caribbean can deliver. Come find the natural beauty of Caribbean Sea, virgin beaches, jungle flora and fauna, all mixed in a rustic blend, but with all the comfort of an exclusive hotel, designed to let you enjoy a vacation in paradise. We are located in the National Park of Tulum (protected area), just 1 mile from the Mayan Ruins (Walking distance to the Ruins) and right in front of the powder white sand and pristine Turquoise water of Tulum! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Vita e Bella Hotel Tulum
La Vita e Bella Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing