We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax”
Review of La Chan Cabanita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Chan Cabanita
Ranked #23 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We also found it by luck, but this was the best place that we have seen in the whole Yucatan peninsula. Beautiful sunrises in the morning and the relaxing sound of waves when you go to sleep are exceptional. Will come back one day for sure. Great owners!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Krzysiek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    17
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
40
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pie Town, NM
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

What a find. The kind of place you only tell your best friends about. We visited last winter, before upstairs rooms were added. Extended our stay because we just didn't want to leave! We are discriminating travellers, not luxury-minded, but creatures of comfort. Moni and her gracious staff made us feel like we were at home. Oh, and did I say the beach is the BEST!!! Booking our return trip for this winter, and staying even longer!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piepeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Enjoyed a relaxing, beautiful week here with my husband in Oct. 2013. With a perfect, well-tended beach, charming lodging, excellent food, and a gracious host, it's a fantastic place to stay in Tulum.

La Chan Cabanita is more like a bed-and-breakfast than a hotel. The host, Moni Avila, is kind, thoughtful, and accommodating, and was always very responsive when I emailed questions before our trip. It is a low-key, attitude-free, relaxing place to stay where you feel thoroughly at home and well cared for. The whole place is powered by a windmill (with solar panels coming soon) and they are very ecologically conscious in the way they maintain their peaceful slice of paradise.

A beautiful breakfast of fresh fruit, yogurt and granola, and on one morning awesome Mayan eggs, was served to us each morning. We spent hours swimming and bobbing in the warm Caribbean sea on foam noodles, with nearly no one else on the beach. There are several excellent restaurants in easy walking distance, including Juanita Diavola right next door where we ate several times.

The only draw-back was a few muggy nights under the mosquito net. But the proprietors have plans to add ceiling fans soon which will make it more fresh and comfortable on nights when the sea breeze isn't enough. I wish we'd had a battery/USB-powered fan to clip inside the net. Was glad we brought a little LED lantern, a flashlight, bug spray, and AfterBite. And SPF 70!

Among the many options along the beach in Tulum, La Chan Cabanita is a great place to stay for a real escape. We enjoyed the generous, inviting character of the place and living at the pace of nature and the sun. We look forward to many return visits!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

simple, charming, caring, and the most beautiful beach in Tulum . We apreciate that it was solar and wind energy the whole place !! higky recomended for a romantic getaway ... the staff is a jew of the mexican hospitality. luxury without arrogance...we surely be back always !!

Room Tip: right in front of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maximo424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.1 mi away
Posada Lamar
Posada Lamar
#51 of 96 in Tulum
284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Retiro Maya Villas
Retiro Maya Villas
#86 of 96 in Tulum
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Kin Ha
Hotel Playa Kin Ha
#75 of 96 in Tulum
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tata Tulum
Tata Tulum
#65 of 96 in Tulum
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Way Boutique Hotel
My Way Boutique Hotel
#17 of 83 in Tulum
102 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tunich
Hotel Tunich
#30 of 83 in Tulum
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chan Cabanita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chan Cabanita

Property: La Chan Cabanita
Address: Carretera Tulum Boca Paila Km 6.4 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77786, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Chan Cabanita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic cabins with a amazing and pristine beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your La Chan Cabanita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing