We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Unico

Unico
Ranked #10 of 387 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $21
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: NO LONGER LOCATED ON THE BEACH. We are now open at our new location in Tulum Town. We continue to offer the best dining experience in Tulum. We make everything possible from scratch using the best local ingredients available. Join us for Happy Hour daily from 3-6. We are currently opening at 3:00 until 11:00. Come try our exclusive eight course tasting menu featuring local flavors and ingredients. Stop by and give our delicious food a try, you won't be disappointed!
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I can't even begin to explain how amazing this food was
From the starters ( we shared are few ) to the veg lasagne was truly delicious.
Cocktails were fab.
And service was great, we even got recommendations from the owner/chef himself
Couldn't rate this place higher
It's a must when in Tulum
One of the best meals I have ever eaten

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rebekah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    68
    26
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal with the family.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I have to add to the chorus of good reviews. We stopped in with a family of 6 late one evening and had a wonderful meal outside. What the scenery lacks in ambiance, the food and service more than compensate. Our kids could find something on the menu and each of the 4 adults tried something different. All of it was fresh and fun. We also liked that the chef came out to ask us about the dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smvmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful find.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

I spent a week in Akumal with friends in April and every night we explored new restaurants and some old favorites. Unico was by far the best of all. Food was fresh, creative and absolutely delicious! The owner and his wife, along with the staff were warm and friendly and very helpful with explanations and suggestions. There wasn't enough they could do for us. As one of the other reviewers stated, if the Brian, the owner goes back to New York, it is Tulum's loss. Keep him here.
I think the only downside is the location since it doesn't afford any scenic views, but once you are inside it is wonderful. Don't miss out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dossy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Wonderful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Unico in Tulum, a delightful spot for a lovely meal. Surprisingly varied menu for its size. Interesting and delicious fusion of local dishes and ingredients with a modern palate. Something interesting and easy for adults as well as kids. Charming and easy setting, and the best margaritas we had during our trip. The hosts - husband and wife - went out of their way to make sure we were welcomed and enjoying our meal. Just great. Steve & Gretchen, San Francisco.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDebenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I were just hungry and walked into the first restaurant we saw and found this total gem! The food is amazing and the staff very friendly.
It was so good we went back the next night!
It may not be the cheapest restaurant in Tulum but it is worth every penny.
Take your special some one here for a special night out, you won't regret it :)

Helpful?
Thank Pontuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unico also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Unico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing