We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We went twice!!”
Review of Unico

Unico
Ranked #10 of 396 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $22
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: NO LONGER LOCATED ON THE BEACH. We are now open at our new location in Tulum Town. We continue to offer the best dining experience in Tulum. We make everything possible from scratch using the best local ingredients available. Join us for Happy Hour daily from 3-6. We are currently opening at 3:00 until 11:00. Come try our exclusive eight course tasting menu featuring local flavors and ingredients. Stop by and give our delicious food a try, you won't be disappointed!
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We went twice!!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Ok, we have been going to Tulum for 8 years every February. One of the best, if not thee best dinners ever!! Starters where out standing. My wife had the beet salad both visits. Fish for her, shrimp pasta for me all were perfect!! If you don't go just once on a weeks stay, your missing out. We had to go twice, it's that good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Weeeeeeeeeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    69
    26
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice place.”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

One of the things about Tulum joints is that you are inevitably met with the decision of something expensive on beach road vs. something cheaper, but perhaps less upscale, in town. Sure, there are times that one of those alternatives is just fine and I've had some great meals at both ends of that spectrum, but Unico strikes a balance between those two extremes.

We were there about two weeks ago on a cold, cold, cold night. Food was great, service was good, and we really enjoyed talking to the owner. Goat cheese appetizer, lobster ravioli, and the chicken were our selections. I think we also had a flourless chocolate cake for dessert.

We'll be back, but hopefully on a warmer night.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SenorFeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A little bit of New York in Tulum!”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Unico is a relatively new restaurant in Tulum by all accounts. The head chef, Brian, is from New York so he brings a bit of the Big Apple to Tulum town. Just North of the main drag Unico is a bright, spacious restaurant with a nice ambience.

The menu is a manageable size dominated by international cuisine which is just what we were after. I opted for the Beetroot salad to start and a cheeseburger for my main. My wife opted for the Lobster Ravioli.

The beetroot was served with goats cheese, candied pecans and a raspberry dressing. It was really lovely if not a tad generous for a starter. That said it was eaten.

My burger was great. The meat was seasoned well and served on a homemade bun which was a little dry and crumbly for my liking but very tasty nonetheless. The burger was served with fantastic skin on fries. My wife's Lobster Ravioli was very tasty and served with a lovely, delicate sauce. Great mains.

For dessert we opted for the Dulce Leche Bread Pudding which was sweet and moreish and a lovely way to end a great meal.

Unico has a decent selection of wines and you can try most, if not all, by the glass. I finally got to try some Mexican red wine. A bold and fruity Nebbiolo and a medium bodied Cabernet Sauvignon. Both were really good BUT BEWARE, even by UK standards, they're pricey by the glass. MXN$150+ per glass so make sure you ask in advance as they increased the price of the bill quite substantially. If Unico could get a few Mexican craft beers on the menu they'd be laughing.

All in all a fantastic meal, if not the best we had in Tulum. Highly recommend.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SBKLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Above all expectations for Tulum!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

What a surprise to taste in Tulum such an exceptional cuisine from a N.Y.C. chef that bills himself only as Brian, but has remarquable credentials and expertise from several USA and European restaurants! The service was accordingly perfect and friendly...

Each of the four plates ordered by my wife and I were amazingly prepared with fresh products and tasteful creativity from an authentic international level chef. And the bill for such a high quality meal was a steal at 70$ including a bottle of Cabernet wine! As the president of a major Food & Gastronomy Festival in Montreal, I must say if you go to Tulum, don't miss the chance to experience that restaurant wich is in a class apart, above all others there. We have been here for five weeks and our only regret was not to have discovered Unico before!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlainSimard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
257 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“A wonderful new restaurant in Tulum”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

The food is delicious and the presentation is stunning. Two of us shared the grilled octopus, a beet and goat cheese salad, and an order of the lobster ravioli and found the quantities very generous. That and a bottle of good Chardonnay all for $50 seemed an amazing deal. Many other items on the menu were appealing and we look forward to a return visit.

Do bring cash as credit cards are not accepted. There is limited parking in front, but additional spaces just beyond the restaurant.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unico also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Unico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing