We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great, relaxed, freindly, good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada Luna del Sur
Ranked #6 of 101 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Stayed in Tulum with my girlfriend for 5 days, 3 in town, and 2 on the beach. We were really happy to spend our time in town at Posada Luna del Sur. Fairly nice clean rooms, with a good amount of space, including a little kitchen with filtered water and a fridge. Really glad we stayed here because it made an ideal "home base" to explore town and go out to restaurants (there is a really good local seafood place nearby). We don't really need high end places, just somewhere comfortable and friendly. I would say Posada Luna del Sur not only met, but exceeded this expectation. The rooftop breakfast options were mainly cereal, yogurt, and lots of really good fresh fruit. This was a nice place to talk with other guests or the hotel owners about what to do that day. Sarah was particularly helpful in giving suggestions of things we might like in the area and even arranged for us to go on a day trip with a cab driver they knew to the Coba ruins, seeing spider monkeys at Punta Laguna Nature Reserve (so cool), and swimming at the Gran Cenotes. He waited for us, was realiabe, affordable, and just an all around good guy (Artimeo. sp?) It was an excellent way to spend the day. Great hotel to actually explore the town (at one quiet end of the main strip), get good information about what to do, meet other travelers, and have a nice clean room to return to. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank surfpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 945 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2010

We've just left Tulum and we've already missed Posada Luna del Sur. It's only 5 minutes driving from the wonderful beach but very closed to the most restaurants and shops of the "pueblo". Rooms are spacious, well equipped, lovely cleaned (every day the housekeeper makes a different "animal shape" with bath towels) and cosy. Price is fair and includes a complete breakfast served in the "palapa" on the last floor. We had planned to stay in Tulum for not more than two nights, but, at the end, we've spent five, mainly because of the friendly mood we have breathed there.
Sara and Marty are fully dedicated to manage their Posada, taking care of all details and helping all guests to feel welcomed and at home. Their enthusiasm, informal style and precious suggestions about how to live Tulum at its best have been always great. If you have some needs just ask them, they'll simply satisfy them.
If you're planning to stop in Tulum, don't miss Posada Luna del Sur.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themax1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

A fantastic stay!

We were made to feel very welcome, the orientation talk was incredibly helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We were given great advice which maxomised the time in Tulum.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slartibartfarst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We decided to make three stops during our week long vacation in Mexico, and the final destination was the Posada Luna del Sur in Tulum. After some major transportation speed bumps that put quite a damper on the mood of our vacation, we eventually made it to Tulum and our spirits instantly picked up. The hotel was cute, clean, quaint, comfortable, and relaxing. And even better than that was the welcome we received from Sarah and Marty--they really made us feel welcome. They also helped us tremendously with directions, recommendations, and help in negotiating appropriate taxi fare. And even though it unfortunately rained all day during our designated beach day, we were able to still hang out in their palapa deck and play some cards.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Posada Luna del Sur and genuinely hope to return!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LikwidDiamunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

After the huge resorts in Cancun it was such a relief to come to Posada Luna del Sur. No aggressive porters fighting for you bags (and a tip), but genuine hospitality!

Sarah & Marty made us feel at home from the very first day. The hotel is very social, and you are guarantied to make friends during (the delicious!) breakfast. Add free WiFi, TV, AC, a kitchenette, and you have a great deal!

Before we came, we didn’t realise that the town of Tulum is pretty far from the beach. However, we soon found out that the town is a better place to be after dark, unless you are immune to mosquitoes (and the beach is only 50 pesos away).

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmedby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

My husband Mike and I both highly recommended this place - pretty, clean, large, well appointed room (ac, tv, fridge but no micro, nice patio outside our room, secure), paid $72US including tax, low season. There’s an honor bar, places to eat and lounge, a laptop for customer use and wifi on the rooftop terrace; I could pick up a little wifi on our patio but not in our room, #5 on the ground floor. I enjoyed practicing my Spanish with the friendly maid, who lives across the street and made the beautiful towel sculptures.

We liked staying on the south edge of town, shopping in the nearby grocery and local fruit stands for breakfasts and lunches, eating at places the locals frequent, within walking distance of the tourist-driven restaurants and shops but a bit south of the main drag; in nearly a week we just ate out 5 times. We had a great breakfast at Azafran - fruit/yogurt crepes for me for 45 pesos, eggs w/ great salsa, mashed potatoes, wheat/seedy toast for Mike for 60p; we also bought a loaf of the bread which we ate through the week for 40p. We thought Charlie’s was good for dinner but not incredible - 95p for Mike’s chile rellenos and 80p for my vegies and potatoes, both w/ typical Mexican side dishes. At Don Cafeto’s we splurged on the combination seafood platter (310p for both) which could have fed 4, lots of leftovers for the next night: fish, shrimp, octopus, and squid prepared with sweet peppers and onions and served in a huge frying pan on the table with lots of good vegies, chips and salsa, rice, and tortillas; nice ambiance on the sidewalk with live music. I enjoyed the locals place called Camello Cocterleria y Pescaderia on the south end of town; a large serving of shrimp tacos with chips and salsa and tortillas was 45p. Our last night we watched the sun set and enjoyed a pizza at Zama’s on the beach, about 90p.

We rented a car (a little manual Hyundai Atos from Hertz, about $200US for the week) so my husband could access fishing flats in the Boca Paila area; it took him a few days to figure out the tides and the flies but he ended up catching (and releasing) some nice bonefish.

I dove 2 days. I was happy with my dive shops which specialized in the 2 types of diving I wanted - reef and cenote. I could be spoiled by the individual attention I received. The Mexidiver shop http://www.mexidivers.com ($90US for 2 tanks) is across the road from the beach, so you walk across the sand, into the water, and into the boat. We visited the sites of La Ballena and Eagle Ray; it was just the dive master Nicolas and me and, though it wasn’t the most fabulous diving I’ve experienced, it was a satisfying mix of varied topography and a good variety of fish including butterfly fish, angels, grunts, jacks, schoolmasters, goat fish, damsels, basslets, trumpet fish, trunk fish, and wrasse. Highlights were 3 different types of moray eels including a really enormous green one and 2 beautiful spotted eagle rays that flew slowly past as we rose to the surface on the final dive. Unfortunately, we also saw 3 lion fish which are beautiful but are native to the Pacific and have no predators in the Caribbean; some apparently escaped when a hurricane devastated a large aquarium a few years back. They are very poisonous and devour young indigenous reef fish like there’s no tomorrow.

Another day I dove with Richie from Xibalba Dive Center http://www.xibalbadivecenter.com/diving.asp?LID=en ($110US for 2 tanks including entrance fees) to 2 cenotes. It was AMAZING - gorgeous light and blues and greens, curious cave formations, spooky dark places, and a halocline, the line where the salt water (below) and fresh water (above) mix, causing a blurry layer you can barely see in that looks like a separate water surface from above and from below - fascinating! We did 2 dives, Gran Cenote and Calaveras (Temple of Doom) Cenote. Here’s a cool website that will give you an idea of what it was like:
http://www.grancenote.com/photos.htm

Mike and I snorkeled in several cenotes within a 10 minute drive of Tulum. The 1st was Dos Ojos (2 Eyes) Cenote; look around for the 3rd “eye” - we liked it best. We enjoyed the jungly hike despite the heat and near 100% humidity, snorkeling in the cool (cold at 1st!) water, swimming with the small fish and around interesting cave formations, the view of the world from inside, and the swallows and gorgeous motmots (my favorite type of bird) nesting in the stalagtites. Casa Cenote is a canal-like open cenote lined with mangroves. We crossed the road to the beach and snorkeled there, too; there was a decent representation of Caribbean reef fish but the visibility was poor - like diluted milk from the fine sand.

One morning we visited the Tulum Maya ruins (51p each), arriving shortly after they opened at 8am - highly recommended in order to beat the heat and the crowds. We pulled our little rental car into a practically empty lot and wandered in as venders were unlocking. When we walked out an hour and a half later (still early in the day!) the lot was nearly half full with vans and huge buses from Cancun and Playa del Carmen and there were easily a hundred people in line for the bathroom. Although we understand the rationale, we didn’t like that you can’t climb on the ruins or explore inside; most of the buildings you can’t even touch; it was hard to “feel” the place with so many roped off areas. We liked the gorgeous blue sky and picturesque clouds, beautiful grounds and interesting buildings and perimeter wall, nice grassy areas, incredible setting overlooking the sea, and lots of big lizards (really big).

One afternoon we headed to Akumal, about 14 miles north of Tulum, to go snorkeling in Turtle Bay in 5-10 feet of water. Sea turtles were EVERYWHERE - too many to count! We snorkeled for about 2 hours and took lots of photos. I will never forget sharing that time with Mike and dozens of those beautiful, peaceful creatures.

Enjoy Tulum - we did!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hopefulist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

The customer service from Marty and Sarah was exceptional. I conversed with Sarah over email about payment options for almost two months and she was very helpful and patient the whole way through.
Once we arrived to the hotel, we were immediately greeted by Marty who gave us an extensive tour of our room and many recommendations on where to eat and tours to take. There was no lobby which was a bit odd but we were able to go to the upstairs balcony which provided a cash bar, books, games, computer with internet, and a nice seating area.
We enjoyed the complementary local coffee and bottled water in our room along with the refrigerator to store local fruits and leftovers from dinner.
Our favorite restaurants were Buenos Aires (AMAZING authentic Argentinian style steak and burgers), Azafran (cute, local fresh breakfast place), NaturALL (freshly made deli sandwhiches and breakfast options), and Mariachi's (authentic local mexican food where our taxi driver said all the locals go).

We loved the hotel and recommend this hotel for anyone who would like to stay in- town at a clean and customer service oriented hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jm73299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.8 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#20 of 101 in Tulum
623 reviews
4.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 101 in Tulum
918 reviews
2.7 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#19 of 101 in Tulum
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
4.8 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 101 in Tulum
471 reviews
2.5 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#38 of 101 in Tulum
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Luna del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Luna del Sur

Address: Calle Luna Norte 5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#5 Green Hotel in Tulum
#6 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $138 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Luna del Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Luna del Sur is a delightful small boutique hotel of 12 private suites, which has earned praise for excellence value, service, comfort and quality from travelers around the world. The suites are graciously proportioned and lovingly appointed. Immaculately maintained suites include; king size or twin beds sleeping accommodations (roll-away beds available for parties of three on request) cozy sitting area, balcony or patio area, mini fridge, unlimited complimentary bottled water, ceiling fans, A/C, security safe, cable TV, free WiFi hot spot, hot water, 24 hour security/bellhop, concierge services, tour desk, and our signature a la carte breakfast inspire care-free times and peaceful dreams! Our hotel is focused on value, service, comfort and quality. We have won multiple TripAdvisor Traveler´s Choice awards throughout the years; our most recent in 2017 for the best ¨value¨ hotel. We believe you can still stay at a quality boutique hotel in Tulum, without breaking your bank. A gem in the Riviera Maya, we invite you to come and discover why! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Posada Luna del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Luna Del Sur Hotel Tulum
Posada Luna Del Sur Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing