We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada Luna del Sur
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pflugerville, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

A friend and I stayed in Posada Luna del Sur for our Tulum vacation, and we loved it! Tom was very helpful and friendly, making reservations for our ruins excursion, hiring a taxi to take us to the airport for a low rate, and just offering recommendations on where to go and how to get around. Our room was very clean and comfy, and the morning breakfast was delicious. We also loved hanging out on the rooftop in the mornings before setting out and evenings before heading to bed. I enjoyed the location in the town, which felt more authentic than a resort hotel and was walking distance from many wonderful restaurants and stores, and was still an easy taxi ride to the beach. And we never felt unsafe. Tom and his staff definitely went above and beyond to ensure that we had a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    100
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
72
593
61
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
knaresborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

i stayed in Posada del Luna del Sur in early March. I had never been to Mexico before and wanted to get a real taste of the country . I didn’t want to stay in a resort where everything looked the same which could shave been Centre Parcs with a bit of sun.

i choose Tulum and then I chose Posada Luna del Sur because I had been recommended it. I wasn’t disappointed. First of all Tulum is such a great place. I did feel that this was authentic and genuine Mexico, just as i found the people. They are so warm and welcoming and just made me feel really special.

I had room 7 which was great - it was large and clean, had a sunny balcony overlooking the garden. I particularly liked the large bed with crisp cotton sheets and the big bottle of drinking water. Th terrace where breakfast was served was a great place just to sit and chill on comfortable sofas as well as eat breakfast and what a breakfast - go for the real Mexican specialities. I was served by Maria on both mornings, the first of which I had the burrito - I failed to spot the world ‘oversized ‘ before the word ‘burrito on the menu - it was massive! I had huevos racheros on the second day and that was more than plenty for me. Maria plied me with as much coffee as i could drink.

Maria’s sister, also called Maria looked after me really well and made me feel like family. Tom was a genuinely caring host who recommend some great places to eat - massive steaks at the Argentinean restaurant (OK not Mexican) and just great value.

He also arranged 2 mornings worth of diving with a local hero called Manuel. Manuel was born in Tulum and told stories of playing in Mayan ruins before they were discovered again in the 80’s and 90’s. He took me on 2 superb boat dives off Cozumel. Although I am a PADI OWSI, I am used to diving the cold, 'fish free' waters of the UK, he made myself and the other divers very comfortable - the extra value was how he gave us the history of the places and a background to the dive sites - you could dwell he was really passionate about the ecology of the area and maintaining the quality of the coral reefs. the following day he took me to dive 2 Cenotes. One was Gran Cenote which was one of the most memorable dives of my life - clear, very clear water with amazing underwater, stalagmites and stalagtites and again he talked through the history of the site. The second denote dive was Calavera which although only a mile away from the first denote was a totally different type of experience. You walked into the jungle and there was this small rocky hole in the ground which was entered by a 3m giant stride… with weird rock formations and an amazing halocline - both dives were absolutely awesome

The sea and the beaches here are amazing - just like you see in the brochures , white sand and turquoise and blue water.

This was a holiday to remember - Tulum and Posada Luna del Sur were so special - lets keep it that way so don’t tell anyone about them

Room Tip: i only stayed in room 7 and it was clean light and airy - perfect for me and I couldnt fault it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onemanand2dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
92 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Overall, this place has great quality for the price and that's why I'm rating it "excellent".

I was tempted to describe it as “basic” but on reflection that under-rates it. It is a low-staff operation with simple, comfortable and clean rooms but there are thoughtful amenities that made it more than what I expected. Our rooms had little kitchenette-style corners equipped with a spacious fridge, a coffee machine, coffee, dishes and a sink, and a couple of bar stools and a small counter which enabled us to have snacks or breakfast (if we missed breakfast time). They also provide beach towels (beach is 4km away), there is reliable wifi (worked well from our room), and even the bath amenities are of decent quality. The place feels very secure.

Some reviewers have commented on the lack of presence of the owner, especially when problems arise. It is true that Tom has limited hours of availability and the rest of the crew does not speak much (or any) English. I can see how this might be frustrating but we were not hampered. We had some maintenance issues (e.g. the door to the balcony would not lock properly) but they were promptly addressed and Tom made a point of being available around breakfast time for any local guidance or tips.

Tom will happily direct you to his favorite restaurants, beach spots and bike rental. All were good advice except for Iguana Bikes which purports to offer a discount to Tom’s guests but never honored our reservations and really treated us poorly. There are other options in town, many closer and more honest.

Room Tip: Second floor is better, in my view. We had sunny balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superdeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My wife and I spent two weeks in Mexico and four of the days we spent at The Posada luna del sur. our only regret was that we did not spend the whole two weeks at this hotel! it was run by a young man called Tom and his staff who were always available and helpful to advise us in all ways. this hotel is ideally located in the centre of Tulum with easy walking access to the town with transport available to all places of interest. we enjoyed spending time on the rooftop where breakfast was served with delicious dishes served both Mexican and English. the bedrooms were spotlessly clean with facilities to make your own snacks and all with pleasant balconies. to experience Mexican life this is the place to visit. we have travelled the world and always found boutique hotels more interesting and friendly and consider posada luna del sur the best of all. thank you Tom for for making this a memorable stay, we will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: all rooms looked very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffy472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed for 8 nights and couldn't have been more pleased with this place and the hard work that Tom and his crew put in. We loved having a small kitchen area for making coffee and light breakfast items in the morning. We loved being right in the heart of the town, mixed in with the locals, yet super close to all of the fabulous restaurants and street carts.

Tom's map was FABULOUS!!! We went to almost every single restaurant that he recommended and were never displeased at all! We rented a car and also hit nearly every recommended area attraction on his map: Coba, Xcacel, Akumal, Tulum, Valladoid, Ek Balam, Sian Kaan - I think that pretty much covers it! We also took in a local game of soccer, and enjoyed the day we rented bikes and biked from town to the beach.

Tom helped us get our rental car at a discounted rate which was awesome! I had a massage in there room - also amazing!

If I could say one bad thing, it would be lack of a pool - but then again with the beach so close - you don't really miss it.

We were there at the tail end of the annual Mayan Festival, it was extended 3 nights due to poor weather the week before, and it was fun too! It was loud, but that's their culture and tradition. The music got started around 11 and went until 4 or 5am. We shared in the fun for one night, but then after that it was a bit much. His hotel is typically closed during this time, so to make up for the bit of noise, he left us a gift of ear plugs and a bottle of tequila to help us sleep!! We were very appreciative of the personal touch and attention.

Go to Tulum - stay here, rent a car and just start travelling and exploring!!

Room Tip: We were in room 6 which was near the end of the hall and we had no wifi - stay closer to the middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed for two weeks and the room was very clean and the breakfast was good,all the staff were great the hotel is just off the main street so if your a light sleeper bring ear plugs as the traffic noise might keep you awake ,and if your a sound sleeper you will miss out on the roosters at 5 o,clock in the morning trying to wake you now that was kind of cool , I would stay here again but it would have been nice if there was a pool thats one thing we missed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Posada Luna del Sur for 7 days and it was the perfect spot for us. We chose Tulum because we wanted a beautiful but smaller, more authentic location and that description fits this hotel as well. The room was a great size, with a large couch, bed and kitchen area. While we didn't utilize the kitchen to the best of it's ability (we ate out everyday because we loved all the local cuisine), it was great to have just in case you wanted to store or prepare simple food items. The bottled water provided was much appreciated for drinking and brushing teeth. We had breakfast every morning on the rooftop and it was a perfect way to start the day; the service was extremely friendly and all the meals were fresh and delicious. The location of the hotel was ideal for us, walking distance to all the great stores, restaurants and bars in town. With the map that Tom provides and all his recommendations (which you can get anytime, he was readily available during and after breakfast before we left for the day), you know the best places to go for everything. Taxis to and from the beach were easy and affordable, you probably only need a rental if you want to take extended day trips. Overall, we had a fabulous time and are extremely happy we trusted the great reviews on Tripadvisor....Tom, thank you for the great stay (and the wine)!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alycat37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
840 reviews
4.7 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 95 in Tulum
399 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
4.9 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 95 in Tulum
258 reviews
4.5 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#12 of 95 in Tulum
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Luna del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Luna del Sur

Property: Posada Luna del Sur
Address: Calle Luna Norte 5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#3 Green Hotel in Tulum
#6 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#15 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Luna del Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Luna del Sur is a delightful small boutique hotel of 12 private suites, which has earned praise for excellence value, service, comfort and quality from travelers around the world. The suites are graciously proportioned and lovingly appointed. Immaculately maintained suites include; king size or twin beds sleeping accommodations (roll-away beds available for parties of three on request) cozy sitting area, balcony or patio area, mini fridge, unlimited complimentary bottled water, ceiling fans, A/C, security safe, cable TV, free WiFi hot spot, hot water, 24 hour security/bellhop, concierge services, tour desk, and our signature a la carte breakfast inspire care-free times and peaceful dreams! Our hotel is focused on value, service, comfort and quality. We have won multiple TripAdvisor Traveler´s Choice awards throughout the years; our most recent in 2017 for the best ¨value¨ hotel. We believe you can still stay at a quality boutique hotel in Tulum, without breaking your bank. A gem in the Riviera Maya, we invite you to come and discover why! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Posada Luna del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Luna Del Sur Hotel Tulum
Posada Luna Del Sur Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing