We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and very friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada Luna del Sur
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Clean and very friendly place”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Luna del Sur is located sightly outside the town center, but because Tulum is so small, you can easily walk everywhere in town. You can definitely trust the long list (map) of Tom's personal recommendations for eating, trips and anything else - only great experiences!
The rooms are very clean and spacious, all the people are very warm and frienldy - from boss to security guard.
A place we could recommend to our friends as well as our parents...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarsFabian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLDSrManagement, Manager at Posada Luna del Sur, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hi Fabien,

Thanks so much for your positive comments about the hotel.

I was a pleasure meeting you and your companion.

I hope one day you can come back and visit us and beautiful Tulum!

Until then adios!
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    102
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
72
597
61
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

It's no wonder this place has been rated so highly. The rooms are clean and neat, great service and an amazing breakfast. Tom was very helpful and had some great tips on where to go, who to use and where to get a great feed. Will be staying here again next time we visit Tulum.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElandGerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLDSrManagement, Manager at Posada Luna del Sur, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Shalom!

I just want to drop a quick response and thank you for your positive review.

I am glad you enjoyed your time here and again, mazel tov on your recent marriage. I do wish you guys all the best and years more of traveling the world!

I´m thrilled you enjoyed yourselves at the Sian Kaan biosphere. Once again, I am just blessed to have Antonio as a guide. I offer quite a few tours and he is definitely voted the best per my guests.

Until next time,
bueno suerte,
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Tom was really nice and so did the staff. everything was very nice and clean and comftereble. our first welcoming was with roses chocolate and wine for our honeymoon and it was great!
Tom gave us a map with all the great beaches and the best food. he also connected us with an amazing guid name Antonio wich we were very impresed by when visiting shian kahn biosphere.
the room was realy good and comftereble and the location is very close to "city center" it is a small town with a main road.
thank you Tom your hotel made our stay in tulum perfect!
we recomend everyone to stay there !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sho84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I booked my stay based on Trip Advisor reviews, and they proved to be an understatement on how wonderful this small hotel is. Tom, the owner, was fantastic as were the rest of the staff. The rooms are spotless with all the amenities you'd need when you're not at home, including a really helpful local map with restaurant and other local knowledge recommendations (take them, trust me- they're awesome!). The location is 10 minutes walk from everywhere in town and a 50 peso (negotiated) ride to the beach. All in all I wish I could rate this little gem more than 5 stars.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockchickvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

If your going to stay in Tulum this is the place to be. I was amazed by this quaint boutique hotel and grateful to Tom the proprietor who helped me and my boyfriend plan outings and pick restaurants. We've stayed at other hotels in the area previous to this trip but this is by far the most comfortable ,most cost-efficient and most friendly place we've stayed. My boyfriend and myself have found this hidden little gem in Tulum and now we can call it our home away from home as we will definitely be coming back!

-Adri & Lloyd :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adri Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and I were visiting Tulum for several days to check out some property in the area, as well as visit the ruins and get a feel for the community. We chose Tom's Posada Luna Del Sur based on some other reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. We had a great stay. The room was quite comfortable, stylish and very clean. It included a small kitchenette, refrigerator and coffeemaker as well. In addition, in our room which was on the second floor, we were able to receive a reasonably good wifi signal during our stay.

Tom took us to our room and gave us a map, on which was marked all of his top recommendations for food, drink, excursions, etc. Very helpful. In addition, he took the time to point out some of his very favorite spots and gave us a nice overview of the town and what it had to offer. He is a genuinely nice person and eager to help you enjoy your visit to Tulum.

The staff was excellent as well, especially our maid who thrilled us each day with a new "animal" sitting on our bed, created from our bath towels. It became one the high points of our stay, wondering each day what new animal she could fashion."

In any case we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there, and we will "hang our hats" there again whenever we return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tufduty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

One of key requirements was the availability of WiFi... which is advertised... but on arrival it was explained to us "that it was not wholly available to all rooms due to signal issues and being in a developing country etc... but it was available on the roof top seating area if needs be".

Well no... in the main it wasn't available even upstairs... it was down most of the time and even when connected, at best it was slow and the connection kept dropping.

Time and again whilst we were there we heard the owner explaining to guests... "Well it is provided free gratis and what can you expect... we are in Mexico..." or "It's a problem with the provider...".

No Tom... it is your infrastructure, your setup, your failure to pay an ISP for a respectable package...
i. All other networks we connected to in Tulum firstly worked... secondly, worked well... had no speed or performance issues, could deliver web pages at reasonable speeds and had we didn't have to keep re-connecting.
ii. We had five different makes of devices, three phones and two mini-tablets... blackberry, apple, Samsung and Microsoft... all of which had continual problems... so it the problem was not our end...
iii. Networks in Tulum we successfully connected to without issue included... restaurants, bars and other hostels and hotels... located all across town including down at the beach...

You even make excuses in various places verbally and sprawled on reviews sites or hotel paraphernalia... not to include WiFi when reviewing the hotel since it is provided free gratis etc... and yet we didn't pay for WiFi anywhere else in Tulum...

So cut the [--] and either (i) invest in a decent wireless infrastructure OR (ii) don't advertise it... one or the other... my pain is that you made such a thing of it and yet you ride on the back of it dishing out the excuses when someone complains... had you not advertised it we might well have stayed somewhere else... so don't advertise WiFi availability when you do not deliver... and no the mere presence does not count... it should at least stay up for a while and be capable of throwing up the odd web page... no one expects lightning speed in a developing country - whereas your network... well snail mail would be quicker.

Other than that our stay was absolutely fine thank you... although as a final word, I think some of the reviews come across as somewhat sycophantic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jabba1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom E, Owner at Posada Luna del Sur, responded to this review, February 24, 2017

Thanks for your feedback, although quite a passionate and angry review, concerning the internet speed, in a small developing town, I am writing this in 2017 and happy to report that we have recently upgraded our internet connection to a fiber optic 200Mbps connection, the quickest speed available in the state and quicker than most first world countries´speed. We are the only hotel in ALL of Tulum that has this fiber optic connection and one of 8 businesses (mostly internet cafes) in Tulum that are eligible (due to our proximity to the recently installed fiber box). Our internet is now insanely fast and reliable. The rest of the town has access to a max of 20 Mbps (or less) connection and at the beach, only 5% (the expensive hotels; $500-$1500 per night) use a lousy satellite connection that yields only 2Mbps of bandwidth, so slow.

Our internet hot spot (located throughout our roof-top lounge) is the perfect relaxing spot to use the internet and as always is complimentary and included in your rate! :)

I am glad that you mentioned at the end of your review that you enjoyed your stay! Although we disagree that this review warrants a 1 star, we do appreciate your feedback and have corrected the issue, that before, was out of control.

Please come back and see us sometime! :)

Happy Travels!
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 96 in Tulum
852 reviews
4.7 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
401 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#14 of 96 in Tulum
352 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 96 in Tulum
269 reviews
2.9 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Luna del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Luna del Sur

Property: Posada Luna del Sur
Address: Calle Luna Norte 5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#3 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#5 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#5 Green Hotel in Tulum
#15 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Luna del Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Luna del Sur is a delightful small boutique hotel of 12 private suites, which has earned praise for excellence value, service, comfort and quality from travelers around the world. The suites are graciously proportioned and lovingly appointed. Immaculately maintained suites include; king size or twin beds sleeping accommodations (roll-away beds available for parties of three on request) cozy sitting area, balcony or patio area, mini fridge, unlimited complimentary bottled water, ceiling fans, A/C, security safe, cable TV, free WiFi hot spot, hot water, 24 hour security/bellhop, concierge services, tour desk, and our signature a la carte breakfast inspire care-free times and peaceful dreams! Our hotel is focused on value, service, comfort and quality. We have won multiple TripAdvisor Traveler´s Choice awards throughout the years; our most recent in 2017 for the best ¨value¨ hotel. We believe you can still stay at a quality boutique hotel in Tulum, without breaking your bank. A gem in the Riviera Maya, we invite you to come and discover why! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Posada Luna del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Luna Del Sur Hotel Tulum
Posada Luna Del Sur Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing