We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to hang your hat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada Luna del Sur
Ranked #6 of 102 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and I were visiting Tulum for several days to check out some property in the area, as well as visit the ruins and get a feel for the community. We chose Tom's Posada Luna Del Sur based on some other reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. We had a great stay. The room was quite comfortable, stylish and very clean. It included a small kitchenette, refrigerator and coffeemaker as well. In addition, in our room which was on the second floor, we were able to receive a reasonably good wifi signal during our stay.

Tom took us to our room and gave us a map, on which was marked all of his top recommendations for food, drink, excursions, etc. Very helpful. In addition, he took the time to point out some of his very favorite spots and gave us a nice overview of the town and what it had to offer. He is a genuinely nice person and eager to help you enjoy your visit to Tulum.

The staff was excellent as well, especially our maid who thrilled us each day with a new "animal" sitting on our bed, created from our bath towels. It became one the high points of our stay, wondering each day what new animal she could fashion."

In any case we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there, and we will "hang our hats" there again whenever we return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tufduty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 954 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

One of key requirements was the availability of WiFi... which is advertised... but on arrival it was explained to us "that it was not wholly available to all rooms due to signal issues and being in a developing country etc... but it was available on the roof top seating area if needs be".

Well no... in the main it wasn't available even upstairs... it was down most of the time and even when connected, at best it was slow and the connection kept dropping.

Time and again whilst we were there we heard the owner explaining to guests... "Well it is provided free gratis and what can you expect... we are in Mexico..." or "It's a problem with the provider...".

No Tom... it is your infrastructure, your setup, your failure to pay an ISP for a respectable package...
i. All other networks we connected to in Tulum firstly worked... secondly, worked well... had no speed or performance issues, could deliver web pages at reasonable speeds and had we didn't have to keep re-connecting.
ii. We had five different makes of devices, three phones and two mini-tablets... blackberry, apple, Samsung and Microsoft... all of which had continual problems... so it the problem was not our end...
iii. Networks in Tulum we successfully connected to without issue included... restaurants, bars and other hostels and hotels... located all across town including down at the beach...

You even make excuses in various places verbally and sprawled on reviews sites or hotel paraphernalia... not to include WiFi when reviewing the hotel since it is provided free gratis etc... and yet we didn't pay for WiFi anywhere else in Tulum...

So cut the [--] and either (i) invest in a decent wireless infrastructure OR (ii) don't advertise it... one or the other... my pain is that you made such a thing of it and yet you ride on the back of it dishing out the excuses when someone complains... had you not advertised it we might well have stayed somewhere else... so don't advertise WiFi availability when you do not deliver... and no the mere presence does not count... it should at least stay up for a while and be capable of throwing up the odd web page... no one expects lightning speed in a developing country - whereas your network... well snail mail would be quicker.

Other than that our stay was absolutely fine thank you... although as a final word, I think some of the reviews come across as somewhat sycophantic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jabba1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom E, Owner at Posada Luna del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2017


Thanks for your feedback, although quite a passionate and angry review, concerning the internet speed, in a small developing town, I am writing this in 2017 and happy to report that we have recently upgraded our internet connection to a fiber optic 200Mbps connection, the quickest speed available in the state and quicker than most first world countries´speed. We are the only hotel in ALL of Tulum that has this fiber optic connection and one of 8 businesses (mostly internet cafes) in Tulum that are eligible (due to our proximity to the recently installed fiber box). Our internet is now insanely fast and reliable. The rest of the town has access to a max of 20 Mbps (or less) connection and at the beach, only 5% (the expensive hotels; $500-$1500 per night) use a lousy satellite connection that yields only 2Mbps of bandwidth, so slow.

Our internet hot spot (located throughout our roof-top lounge) is the perfect relaxing spot to use the internet and as always is complimentary and included in your rate! :)

I am glad that you mentioned at the end of your review that you enjoyed your stay! Although we disagree that this review warrants a 1 star, we do appreciate your feedback and have corrected the issue, that before, was out of control.

Please come back and see us sometime! :)

Happy Travels!
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights during our honeymoon before moving on to the beach. It was a great place to stay in town and good launching point for the local excursions we wanted to explore (i.e. Akumel, Chichen Itza, denotes, etc.). The reviews about Tom and his map are not overblown, nor exaggerated. He truly is a helpful resource and it is abundantly clear that he is genuinely devoted to making sure you have a great time in Tulum. His enthusiasm and spirit are infectious. As my husband put it, staying at Posada Luna del Sur is like staying with a friend in town because Tom makes you feel right at home. Since we moved on to a beach front hotel the following week, his map continued to help guide us beyond our stay in the pueblo.

Our room was great--very clean, we loved the towel displays that we found on our bed each night and it is such a bonus to have plenty of drinking water at your disposal. The wifi worked in our room most of the time, though sometimes it was spotty but hey, it's free wifi. The "world class" resort we stayed at in Playa del Carmen was charging 150 pesos a day for wifi so we were just happy to have this free amenity at all.

The main road right outside the hotel can be a bit dodgy to walk on at night (because for one black there's no sidewalk), but we quickly discovered that by walking away from the main road and then cutting back 2 blocks north was a great alternative. It's a very safe area and we were not hassled nor heckled at all.

If we make our way back to Tulum we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLDSrManagement, Manager at Posada Luna del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Hola Erin!

Thanks very much for your review and kind words, it is very much appreciated.
Yup, it is like staying with a friend! I do my very best to help my guests navigate and get the best of what Tulum has to offer.

You are right, Tulum and especially the Pueblo are a great hub for exploring the surrounding areas. Day trips to Chechen Itza, Valladolid, Mahuhal and other surrounding areas are all doable in one day.

I wish you the best on your new marriage and I sincerely hope you come back and visit us next year!

kindly,
Tom :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We just got back from a trip to Tulum. There were four of us, none of us had been there before and we were naturally a little apprehensive. We stayed at the Posada Luna del Sur because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor and it certainly met and actually exceeded our expectations. The hotel is very well located in Tulum on a rather quiet street. It was easy to walk to shop or eat and we could catch a taxi easily to go to the beach. The people that work at the hotel are super friendly and helpful. It is clean and quiet and cool. I loved coming in everyday from the beach or a trip out of Tulum to see what towel figure was on my bed. Tom is a wonderful host and gave us all sorts of good advice on where to go to the beach, where to eat, what to see and set us up with people that took us where we wanted to go. He helped us plan out every day of our stay and we had an amazing time. All his recommendations were "spot on". We were not disappointed with any. It was really fun because we got to know some of the locals we met through Tom's recommendations. The people in Tulum are warm and friendly and we felt very welcome there. Our trip out of Tulum with our taxi driver (gotten by Tom) to Chichen Itza, Valladolid and Coba was terrific. Our snorkeling and kayaking tours with Antonio and Jessica of Yucatan Outdoors (recommended by Tom) were amazing. We were really happy we chose this hotel in Tulum rather than a hotel on the beach because of Tom and his staff and the variety of activities and restaurants easily available to us. We highly recommend it. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 200Smiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Hi guys just finished my stay here. We booked this place on the basis of great reviews on TA but I now understand that most of the positive feedback really only applies if you have the pleasure of meeting Tom. We didn't, and we felt quite lost in the place where the staff did not speak English and Tom was not around. The rooms are nice and the place is walking distance to most of Tulum town.

Wifi doesn't reach the rooms so you have to go upstairs. Also there was a cockroach in our room one morning.

Tom's map, however, was quite useful so thank you for that

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Misskayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom E, Owner at Posada Luna del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2017

We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations.

We thrive each and every day to improve. Feedback like yours is very valuable in order for us to provide a better overall experience. Since your feedback was left in 2014, we have evolved quite a bit.

We invite you to come back and visit us one day to experience our improvements.

Thanks!
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We intended to stay 2 nights, and wound up staying 4. Unless you have no intention of leaving your accommodation, Tulum Pueblo is the place to be (for food/drinks/activities) and this place is stunning. Host Tom was quick and accurate with communication, great for advice and a just a lovely bloke for a general chat - it's not just some acted superficial schtick made to seem like hospitality. The rooms and common rooftop are both perfect, and the staff fantastic. We live on the other side of the world and hope to make it back to stay here again some day.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Posseof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLDSrManagement, Manager at Posada Luna del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Hola guys!

Thanks so much for your review, it is much appreciated. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here and appreciated what is the lazy, Caribbean, Mayan village of Tulum.

Thanks for the great feedback pertaining to our rooms . My housekeeper Gabriella, who is an ex-head housekeeper at a larger resort up the road, thrives on perfection and cleanliness. I will pass on the word to her!

Tulum is definitely not for everybody, but rather it is reserved for the more adventure orientated traveller or the individual who enjoys learning about culture end exploring an interesting Mayan village and world-class beach.

You are right, I don´t act when it comes to hospitality. I truly try and give you what I feel is the best advice on what to do when you are in my hometown of Tulum. I try and take a raw, no sugar-coating approach to Tulum .I love my job and I love passing on the knowledge and secrets of what this town has to offer!

Thanks again for your comments and hope to see you back here one day!

Best,
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just wanted everyone to know we had a great time in Tom's place. We looked at staying on the beach as we like the beach and own a condo on the beach in Playa del Carmen, about 40 minutes enough from Tulum. We decided to stay at Tom's place because the price was great and we could see the town of Tulum and drive our rental car to the beach everyday.
We loved everything about Tom's place from the locations, the rooms very clean, with a perfect little private balcony/patio to sit out and either enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning or a glass of wine at night, daily breakfast prepared fresh upon order by the nicest and friendly employees. Tom was so helpful and informative with his own words and printed out information for everyone to use. Even though Tom did not feel well he still was there for your service, everyone gets sick, but that did not effect his service. There will always be unhappy people as that is just the nature of some people and they never seem to be happy wherever they go, but please do not let that keep you from making your reservations today for perfect little place in Tulum - Posada del Luna - Owner- Tom. Thank you Tom for a wonderful time at your place. Looking forward to our return next year. Terry

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ElFaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.8 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#23 of 102 in Tulum
624 reviews
4.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 102 in Tulum
924 reviews
2.7 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#17 of 102 in Tulum
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
4.8 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 102 in Tulum
479 reviews
2.5 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#42 of 102 in Tulum
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Luna del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Luna del Sur

Address: Calle Luna Norte 5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#5 Green Hotel in Tulum
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $105 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Luna del Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Luna del Sur is a delightful small boutique hotel of 12 private suites, which has earned praise for excellence value, service, comfort and quality from travelers around the world. The suites are graciously proportioned and lovingly appointed. Immaculately maintained suites include; king size or twin beds sleeping accommodations (roll-away beds available for parties of three on request) cozy sitting area, balcony or patio area, mini fridge, unlimited complimentary bottled water, ceiling fans, A/C, security safe, cable TV, free WiFi hot spot, hot water, 24 hour security/bellhop, concierge services, tour desk, and our signature a la carte breakfast inspire care-free times and peaceful dreams! Our hotel is focused on value, service, comfort and quality. We have won multiple TripAdvisor Traveler´s Choice awards throughout the years; our most recent in 2017 for the best ¨value¨ hotel. We believe you can still stay at a quality boutique hotel in Tulum, without breaking your bank. A gem in the Riviera Maya, we invite you to come and discover why! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Posada Luna del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Luna Del Sur Hotel Tulum
Posada Luna Del Sur Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing