We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Home away from home with an expat guide - We are going back as soon as possible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Luna del Sur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Posada Luna del Sur
Ranked #17 of 91 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Home away from home with an expat guide - We are going back as soon as possible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Tulum is a quiet village which happens to be near the best beaches and Si'an Kaan reserve. You have two choices: Stay on the beach or in town. Both are of interest.

We stayed in town because we came to use Tulum as a base to explore Coba and Si'an Kaan. It was an exploratory visit. We WILL BE BACK. I now have to hike and bike through Si'an Kaan and explore the rest of this exquisitely beautiful part of Mexico and the Americas.

Tom, Brenda, and Ricardo assured us a great stay in a wonderfully safe little town. Tom's place is lovely. It is not a 5 star resort. There is no pool or massive gardens. It is a quiet little hotel come bed and breakfast, with Tom being the best concierge ever. He knows the town and the services offered. On arrival, you are presented with Tom's map, which provides insider's information. He helps at no personal gain to arrange trips with various tour people and taxi drivers, who are all willing to help.

He offers an excellent breakfast with anything you could really want or need.

The folks with whom he works from Antonio of Yucatan Outdoors to Artemio a taxicab driver were all very pleasant people who provided excellent cost effective trips.

thank you to all!
Frankly, staying in Tulum with Tom was one of my best experiences in Mexico. A country I visit on a regular basis with my expatriate Mexican spouse.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drsjadfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    96
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
54
533
46
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

It's tough to figure out where to start complementing Posada Luna! This trip was my second time back now and the feeling was like returning to visit old friends. Tom, who runs the place, is a fantastic host... and his staff are great people as well... friendly, courteous and genuine. That's what makes the place.

When you arrive you get a map of the area with Tom's personal favourite spots around Tulum... from beaches to restaurants to bars to little shops. You're ready to start exploring from check in, with proper suggestions from a local, and that's just the immediate area. Once you're settled in ask Tom about Antonio, the coolest and most knowledgable tour guide you'll have the pleasure to meet... and get ready to explore some beautiful places. Antonio is a private tour guide that works closely with the hotel... awesome guy, speaks English and Spanish. He'll take you out on a wide range of day trips to explore cenotes, lagoons, ruins, nature reserves and much more... always in small groups, with a real personal touch, and very educational as well. The price for these tours are well worth the money, you get so much more than you could imagine out of the day for a reasonable fee if you're feeling adventurous.

The breakfast staff whip up home made local feasts every morning, included in the cost of the hotel. Ask for the Special to experience some delicious local dishes... if you want something more North American, they'll gladly prepare you some eggs, bacon and hash browns too. This meal will leave you well full for the day, saving you money and leaving you ready to head out and enjoy Tulum.

When you come back to the room, you will find a charming, super clean space with AC, hot shower, plenty fresh bottled drinking water, fridge, tv and comfortable king size bed. You can also head up to chill on the roof where there's board games, music, a loungey atmosphere, wifi, and a gentle breeze... you might even make some friends. This hotel seems to draw in a great mixed crowd of travellers too. You will find yourself very comfortable at the end of a day in beautiful Tulum.

The hotel is pretty central in Tulum town, just a 60 peso cab ride from gorgeous beaches. You could rent a bicylce, scooter or car right in the area too. Plenty of restaurants, bars, lounges and shops nearby as well as other essentials like grocery stores, pharmacies and more. All walking distance.

I don't know what more you could ask for when trying to pick a place to stay at... Posada Luna seems to cover all the angles. Enjoy!

Room Tip: I'm pretty sure all the rooms are the same... although I think some might be a little more tucke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Posada Luna del Sur was a beautiful oasis in the heart of Tulum. Most importantly this hotel is clean and well cared for. Good mattress, sheets and towels. Our host Tom and his dad were beyond helpful. Thanks to them both. The rooftop breakfasts were the perfect start to every day. Thank you, Ricardo! Such lovely service and a beautiful sky to enjoy our fresh food. Divine. Best place we stayed during our entire trip. Nothing else compared and it was a fair price. We also enjoyed walking the back roads of Tulum near our hotel. And the beach is a quick taxi drive away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in Tulum Town. The breakfasts lived up to expectation following the reviews we read, Tom's advice and tips for around town and the area were excellent in terms of the restaurants to visit, places to go & how to get there. If you do stay here, don't forget to visit the beach front.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manfromcrosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Tom was brilliant when we arrived, I know it's only a little thing but the map we received was the best and most informative I have ever had anywhere in the world. His restaurant recommendations were spot on.

Lovely rooms with great beds, showers, free water, cable TV. Beautiful rooftop terrace and a fantastic breakfast included. The only minor issue we had was our room didn't get a lot of natural light (number 11) but that is been super picky. There was a little bit of noise from a party upstairs one night (not over the top) and it didn't bother us, but Tom went out of his way to apologise the next morning. Hard to fault for the price and you would be mad to stay anywhere else in Tulum!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GOALdenHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Well, where do I start. This hotel is fine, but not extraordinary from the outside. Once you come inside however, it wins you over, in a very comfortable way.
The entire hotel is is immaculate, both in the common areas as well as our room. It's extremely clean, has all the amenities anyone would need, the king size bed is soooo comfortable and is a home away from home at the end of busy day in the Tulum area.
Tom, the owner, is so down to earth, and is the type of person that makes you feel like family, not just another hotel guest. He has a lot of helpful advice, and will make arrangements in renting a bicycle, getting a taxi, where to shop or finding the best guide in the area (all these apply to our stay of 4 nights).
On our early morning departure tour with Antonio of Yucatan Outdoors (whom Tom recommended, and we can't speak more highly of) he had left yogurt, granola and fruit in our fridge in the room, because we were going to miss the amazing free breakfast on the rooftop patio that is included each day of our stay.
Speaking of the rooftop patio, not only is it the place for all the guests to have breakfasts (hot breakfasts like enchiladas and chilaquiles, a bowl of fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, coffee, egg dishes, toast, fresh squeezed orange juice and others) included for free with the room, but to listen to the sounds of Tulum with nice background music from the ipod in the music player. We found it very nice to hang out there as well in the evening, and meet other guests.
On this holiday in the Riviera Maya, my husband and I stayed in 4 hotels over 13 nights from Tulum to Isla Mujeres. This hotel stands out easily as our favourite hotel. We truly hope we can return in the near future!
Gracias, Tom and all the wonderful people at the Posada who made our vacation in Mexico so memorable!
Cynthia and Scott

Room Tip: I'm sure all rooms are fine, but we had room 7 on the second floor which was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calgary_visitors52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We appreciated finding ourselves at this Posada after a long journey from UK. Tom was very helpful, and even though we weren't right on the beach it was good to be central which gave easy reach to anywhere else. The breakfast and the service were excellent and lounging on a rooftop sette using free internet and laptop made things even more homely.

Room Tip: Maybe nicer on higher floors where the balconies would have been more private and maybe have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#13 of 91 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 stars 552 reviews
2.5 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 91 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 stars 947 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mi Amor
Mi Amor
#4 of 91 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
El Pez
El Pez
#3 of 91 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 stars 703 reviews
5.4 mi away
Rosa del Viento
Rosa del Viento
#18 of 91 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
5.9 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Luna del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Luna del Sur

Property: Posada Luna del Sur
Address: Calle Luna Sur 5 | Tulum Pueblo, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#3 Green Hotel in Tulum
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#5 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#15 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Luna del Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Luna del Sur is a delightful small boutique hotel of 12 private suites, which has earned praise for excellence value, service, comfort and quality from travelers around the world. The suites are graciously proportioned and lovingly appointed. Immaculately maintained suites include; king size or double bed sleeping accommodations (roll-away beds available for parties of three on request) cozy sitting area, balcony or patio area, mini fridge, unlimited bottled water, ceiling fans, A/C, security safe, cable TV, free WiFi hotspot, hot water and our signature a la carte breakfast inspire care-free times and peaceful dreams. Our hotel is focused on value, service, comfort and quality. We believe you can still stay at a quality boutique hotel in Tulum, without breaking your bank. A gem in the Riviera Maya, we invite you to come and discover why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Posada Luna del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Luna Del Sur Hotel Tulum
Posada Luna Del Sur Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing