We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Posada Luna del Sur
Nearby Hotels
Azulik(Tulum)
$510
$453
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$381
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$368
$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Beach Tulum(Tulum)
$531
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$171
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$409
$246
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$359
$302
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zamas(Tulum)(Great Value!)
$164
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $405/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$978
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (973)
Filter reviews
973 results
Traveler rating
836
110
17
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
836
110
17
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstom's mapdetailed mapyucatan outdoorsrooftop patiogave us a mapcoffee makersitting areapurified watertowel animalshotel ownerevery morningsmall balconymexican breakfasttulum townair conditioningtaxi rideroom was spotless
Filter
Updating list...
766 - 771 of 973 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2008

We just returned last week from Tulum. Jack and Janet should consider working as ambassadors for the U N because they treated us with love, kindness, patience and enthusiasm. Their rooms are very very clean and the bed was very very comfortable. We appreciated the refridgerator in the room, the drinking water that was supplied, the compilmentary breakfast, the cable TV and especially the day trip advise. Look no futher than the Posada Luna del Sur hotel as the only place to stay in Tulum. Don't be afraid to use the collectivos as a way to get around. Get up early to beat the heat and make a visit to the local panaderia. Take some pictures of Tulum and its wonderful people and then make it back to the hotel for breakfast at 8 am. We had to stay in Cancun 1 night for an early morning flight to Dallas. The hotel we stayed in didn't compare to our Tulum stay. Thanks to the owners and new friends Janet and Jack for sharing their lovely paradise in Tulum.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TSkywalker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2008

Yes, yes, and yes. I cannot emphasize how amazing our stay in Tulum was, and it was all because of Janet and Jack. After five less-than-ideal days in Playa del Carmen, we took a collectivo in sweltering heat to Tulum, only to get lost getting to the hotel (my fault entirely--once we got to the right street, there was no missing the sign for the hotel). From the moment Janet greeted us, however, we knew our luck was changing, and change it did. Janet gave us excellent recommendations for restaurants (and also warned us about the ones to stay away from!). She sent us to a great bike shop, and awesome dive shop, where we had fantastic experiences. She even booked our Sian Kaan Biosphere tour...twice, when we changed our minds about which we wanted. J & J are both just so sweet, relaxed, and genuine that we could go on all day. Trust me, and everyone else who's said the same - Posada Luna del Sur is a class act.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank hammerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2008

We spent a delightful and relaxing week at Posada Luna del Sur at the end of 2007, Christmas through New Year's. Tulum is authentic Mexico. Only a few people speak English, which is an important reason to stay with Jack and Janet, fluent English speakers.

Janet is the creative entrepreneur behind this small, beautifully decorated hotel. She helped us find the best places to eat, the best beaches, even the best place to buy sunblock.

We were awakened by crowing roosters, a reminder that we were living in a country village. Breakfast, provided by the hotel, always included the world's freshest orange juice and fresh-baked pastries. Walking from the hotel at the edge of town, we passed friendly locals, going about their business. We felt completely safe walking about town, despite the relative poverty. Our favorite restaurant was La Nave. The fish was wonderful.

The beaches near Tulum (about $5 by taxi) have to be among the most beautiful in the world. While there are many interesting places to tour (certainly the marvelous Tulum ruins high on the cliffs above the Caribbean, and snorkling in the local cenotes), our favorite days were spent reading and sunning in the warm breezes at the Tulum beaches.

Our room was comfortably and spotless. Jesus, the housekeeper, created creatures from towels. The hotel is enclosed in a walled patio. We enjoyed spending New Year's Eve with Jack, Janet, and other guests on the rooftop of the Posada Luna del Sur.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank murraba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2008

How do we begin..... we picked Posada Luna de Sur for our tenth anniversary vacation, and we were not disapointed. Jack and Janet set us up and gave us directions to all to all the best places in town. Both Janet and Jack were there for any questions we had or arrangements we requested. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. Our room was cleaned daily and Jesus left us with a new towel design each day (swan, swan pair, turtle, doll, elephants, puppy, shell). The fresh fruit at breakfast each morning was absolutely wonderful! We will definitely be coming back! OUTSTANDING!

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank Dodger202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2008

Very pretty place, quiet and comfortable. Jack and Janet were wonderful hosts. Jack even helped us find "reverse" in our manual rental car!
Very accomodating folks, friendly and helpful. Rooms are very prettily decorated and very clean.
The inn is in Tulum proper but not too far from the beach.
enjoyed our stay ...

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coloradoartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews