We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!!!”
Review of Hikuri Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hikuri Hostel
Ranked #102 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“AWESOME!!!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

This place is heaven!!! Such a nice terrace to watch the sunset... People are so friendly and rooms are super clean & fresh!!! It has a common area where you can make new friends and chill... Decoration is super cool and it has a very calm vibe

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Aprilinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    2
    2
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
9
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Comox, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Hikuri Hostel is a new establishment with a very artistic flair, excellent staff, and full kitchen - plus a green clad rooftop 'lounge' where you can enjoy evenings or early morning,,, before the sun gets too hot. Our room was clean, and had everything we needed except enough plugins to recharge our electronics.
Excellent free coffee in the morning and good drinking water complement the kitchen facilities. This place is a short walk (400 m) north of the bus station. There are lots of good restaurants within easy walking distance. And did I mention the super friendly, English speaking staff? They were very helpful and advice was accurate. Bicycles are also for rent at reasonable rates.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hostel is in a nice spot in the centre of town only a few doors down from the ADO bus terminal. Most places are reachable on foot; aside from the beach that is, 99% of the accomadation by the ocean consist of higher end resort types not fit or a backpackers budget-bikes can be hired from the hostel tho & a trip is well worth the while.
Decently priced at $400/3plp in a private room (low season) this hostel is fairly new and it can be seen in the fresh decore of the clean and comfortable rooms-which also come with towels. Further developments are underway such as a rooftop bar which will suit the hostels chilled out atmosphere.
The best part of the hostel though is the service. Santiago the owner and his staff really go out of their way to ensure everybody is well looked after and it really adds a personal feel to the place which has you wanting to stay for longer. I would definately recomend this hostel to any backpacker passing through Tulum.

Room Tip: Rooms near the entrance tend to be a little noiser
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimberley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 great nights at Hikuri. The rooms are basic and clean, and all have cool art on the walls. But the main part is the owners and staff - who will go out of their way to help, give advice, and just hang out and have a good time. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ittaitr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
5.0 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 96 in Tulum
1,262 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Diamante K
Hotel Diamante K
#29 of 96 in Tulum
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
5.6 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
2.5 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#40 of 96 in Tulum
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hikuri Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hikuri Hostel

Property: Hikuri Hostel
Address: Av. Tulum Oriente, Tulum, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing