We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I want to go back soon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Weary Traveler Hostel
Ranked #26 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Louisiana, USA
1 review
“I want to go back soon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2008

This hostel made my whole trip to Mexico even better. I made so many friends here that i still keep in contact with, and every day i wonder why i left to fly back home. The common area was great for meeting people b/c it was so open and hammocks for siestas. They had a little bar with cheap drinks, so you didn't even have to go out for the night. The rooms were clean and so were the bathrooms. I stayed in a large mixed dorm and it was nice. People were considerate, so even though we had lockers (bring your own locks) you didn't have to lock up your stuff. People weren't sketchy. Found this place after staying at the Lobo Inn one night (awful. it was only good 'cuz it was across the street from the ruins. but it was a 5 minute cab drive from the town). Weary is right by the bus stop, and in the middle of the whole town. Just 5 minutes from the beach. Great hostel if you are outgoing and want to make new friends. I will definitely be going back when i visit Tulum, which just so happens to now be one of my all-time favorite cities.

  • Liked — how easy it was to meet great people from all different countries
  • Disliked — their internet rarely works
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wishingiwerethere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    85
    64
    48
    47
See reviews for
4
74
102
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2008

I went here by reference!! But the place was not for me. It was dirty, noisey (music played outside dorm till late) and full of biting insects.

The facilities are okay (but dirty). There is no where to chill as everything is crammed into one courtyard.

I stayed at the Nomados Hostel in Merdia prior to this and that place is lovely. What a contrast!

This hostel is for young party animals who don't mind dirty conditions. If you prefer a more relaxed, quieter and cleaner place stay at the Hostel Mayan where I just moved to.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tulum hotels

mex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2008

this place is not that clean, not so cheap and not so bad.

i mean, yes, it's quite expensive for the place itself but it's lots of fun because people staying there were interesting. i mean, if you're looking to have fun and not caring about luxury, this is a good place to stay in. otherwise, you'd better stay in the hotel next to this hostel.

for me was fun which is what i was looking for.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank oriols83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2007

Ok, this place is in a good location in the town of Tulum. However, my room was dirty and smelly. The hostel is really loud. It was hard to sleep, since they played music loudly. Also, I didn't like that I had to wear some hostel bracelet which acted like a credit card.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2007

Stayed here for 4 days. Great location just down from the bus station and in good proximity to restaurants, stores, grocery store etc. (Tulum is not that big of a place).

Great communal kitchen. They have the basics, including rice and pasta, you provide the rest. Can use the BBQ at night for $2 (they provide what you need, you cook it).

Breakfast is included in the price and is pretty good from what Ive seen so far. Again, its cook-your-own, but in addition to the standard toast and jam and coffee (bad coffee, by the way!), they have cereal (you have to buy the milk though), eggs and pancake batter for you to cook your own breakfast. There are a few good fruit & vegetable markets just down the road past the bus station, so we found that we supplemented our breakfast with some great, cheap fruit.

The dorm we stayed in was ok. 8 beds, a bathroom that could have been cleaner. It was in a building across the road and not actually at the main Weary Traveler. Much quieter, and we had full access to all the Weary Traveler goodies. It was somewhat hot. This building had a kitchen as well, but the stove didnt work and because the atmosphere was so much better across the road, we hung out there.

There was a free shuttle to the beach (leave from out front of the Weary Traveler at 9am or 12pm, pick up at the beach at 12:30pm or 5pm). Very key, as the beach is somewhat out of town (you can rent bikes in town if you want). The beach in Tulum is one of the best I have been to, and the ruins are a short walk away. Not as big or grand as Chichen Itza or Coba, but the location is amazing.

I would definitely stay here again. The hostel was great fun and good value!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JN8E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2007

Walked in Weary travelers hostel exsausted from the road from Flores Guatemala. I met the most interesting charactors from all over the world and they all has a story to tell me. It was alot of fun and I am much older then your average backpacker. I did not catch any bed bugs ,lice or bugs at all. A bus came every morning to take me and everyone else to the beautiful beach and picked us up promptly as they said they would. I cooked my own food and made my own coffee. Great for a shoestring traveler like me. Internet was free. Yes they party at night but once you close your door you can not hear it. I stayed alot longer then expected due to the exciting people I met there.

  • Liked — The open Kitchen...The cool atmosphere of the other travelers,Close to bus.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fchavira2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2007

The dorm I stayed in was so small and full of bed bugs. The toilet and bathroom were so dirty and the toilet blocked all the time. One time I had to call the staff to unblock the toilet and she was so unwilling to do so. People constantly party in this hostel until dawn. I had this situation that people from my room kept banging the door as they were so drunk and when I opened the door there was a couple came in and started kissing next to me (I was in the lower bunk). So it did drain me out from not sleeping well while I stayed there.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank nicolandbobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Chill Inn Hostal
Chill Inn Hostal
#5 of 119 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Che Tulum
Hostel Che Tulum
#17 of 119 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Che Babel
Hostel Che Babel
#39 of 119 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Emotion Tulum Hotel & Hostal
0.3 mi away
La Casona Hotel & Hostel
La Casona Hotel & Hostel
#33 of 119 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quintana Roots Hostel
Quintana Roots Hostel
#10 of 119 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weary Traveler Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weary Traveler Hostel

Property: Weary Traveler Hostel
Address: Calle Polar | con Calle Beta Norte, Tulum 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Weary Traveler Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weary Traveler Hostel Tulum was started by backpackers for backpackers back in the year 2000. The hostel was built around what they themselves wanted to find in a good hostel when they were traveling. A good social vibe A book exchange A bar with backpacker prices Communal Kitchen (loaded with free spices, salt, pepper) Full Cook Your Own Breakfast Free Rice, Pasta and lentils for dinner Good Advice on Tours and Activities Some aspects of the Weary Traveler Hostel Tulum appear to be unique but they are not. Many of them came from other hostels where we had stayed long before we dreamed of opening a hostel in Tulum. For example the Burn Your Own BBQ was inspired by the Bondi Beach Hotel's incredible steak barbi setup inside the bar. Huge, beautiful cuts of beef were in a display fridge that was part of the bar. You would say, "Yeah, give me that one!" and huge chunk of raw red meat came at you on a platter. It was your job to cook it how you wanted it. The Weary Traveler Hostel Tulum has changed, evolved, gone back to our roots and changed again and again over the years. We have always tried to evolve as a hostel, stay ahead of the competition and anticipated the changing needs and desires of our guests. So welcome to The Weary Traveler Hostel Tulum, mi casa es su casa! John, one of the originals from way back when. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Weary Traveler Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weary Traveler Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing