We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weary hostel that's seen too many travelers.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Weary Traveler Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Weary Traveler Hostel
Ranked #24 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weary hostel that's seen too many travelers.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

The irony of the name is amazing.
The location is in town which is good and they do offer a bus to the beach which is great as you wouldnt walk there. Unfortunatly the staff were blunt and unhappy. The rooms where cramped and the mattress' were stained and dirty. I had read one review which said if they could squeeze another bed in they would. So true! It definitely had a prison feel. The bathrooms were dirty and smelt really od. It wasnt somewhere to feel comfortable going to sleep at night.
Sure it's cheap and you get what you pay for in a hostel that sees this much use, but this is on the bad end of the scale for sure. Cheap doesnt have to be dirty and unpleasant.
The only good thing about of the weary traveller is the coffee shop next door, the lady was so nice and the coffee was great!
Find somewhere else I say.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daf51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    84
    64
    47
    47
See reviews for
3
74
101
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed in a 6 bed no AC dorm, the room was way too small as the bunks barely fit in and there was almost no airflow as there was one tiny window. The Bathroom facilities were basic and dirty. Similarly the kitchen wasn't particularly clean.

The big table in the courtyard is a great way to meet new people and party and there is plenty of room to hang your wet beach gear which is handy.

There are better low cost options in Tulum.

Room Tip: Get an air conditioned room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoundtheworldfromQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

This place is pretty damn good value, and had a great social scene thanks to it's layout. The central courtyard has benches set out facing each other so it's really easy to meet new people. The staff are excellent and really helpful. There is a choice of included breakfasts which you can make yourself and free pasta for dinner of you want it. The music is cool and goes quiet at around midnight allowing people to sleep if they want to. There's also a free bus ticket available daily to the beach, so even that's covered!

I've stayed here twice now and intended to only stay a day or so and ended up staying a week both times. Definitely one of my favourite hostels to date!

Oh and it's like 1 block down from the long distance bus station and the collectivos too.

Overall rating? Excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I_Solex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

They call it the place "where travellers meet other travellers" and I found this to be very true. Made some good friends on the bus to the beach and over breakfast. The room I had was a bit cramped and not particularly luxurious, but well air conditioned, so I was happy. I also felt it was very secure and was happy that the room was kept locked. I found all staff very friendly and enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Rooms around the courtyard are all a little noisy at night...don't know if they have other ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bolesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Worst hostel experience ever! We were here end of July with a group of 12 and this is what went wrong:

- although booked for 2 rooms, we had to devide the group over 3 rooms because 1 person prolonged her stay for 1 night > they choose to serve 1 person instead of 12! It could happen to you too!
- unfriendly all the time, defenately with the changing of the rooms > despite everything that went wrong, at least friendly and problem solving staff would be nice
- rooms of 6 people: very small (they would put more beds if they could), too hot (ventilation bearely works), shower with 2 tiny sprays of water (we had to use a bottle of water to be able to wash ourselves)
- when there was no water, we couldn't shower in the morning: they were very unkind the moment we asked for solutions
- very busy, noisily and dirty

What was surprisingly good, was the service for booking daytrips: the people that informed you were very kind. Nevertheless, I discourage everyone to go to this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WearyTravelerHostel, Owner at Weary Traveler Hostel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
As of today's date we have had 6577 guests stay with us in 2012. Upon checkout each and every guest has the opportunity to rate thier stay at the Weary Traveler Hostel. They are given 4 simple choices:

Horrible
Bad
Good
Excellent

6307 (95.9%) of our guests rate their experience as Good or Excellent while 46 (.07%)of our guests rated their experience as Horrible. While I would love to say that we have 0 dissatified It is simply not possible due to the sad fact of life that some people are only happy when they are miserable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tulum hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Milan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Hands down the best hostel I ever been too! Rooms ahve fans and air-conditionning, well equiped kitchen with barbecue and grills. The staff is deligently helpful. They'd assist you for any trip or excursion you plan to do in Tulum or outside of it. Just ask for Abraham, he's your man and he'll get you the good deals. Free transport to and back from the beaches! The hostel is extremely convivial; I found it painfully hard to leave. If ever I come to Tulum it's the only place I'd stay at! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Youssef Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunaty this place had bedbugs while I was there, which made what could have been a nice place to stay pretty bad.

The owner was very seriouse and took responsibility for helping me sanitize my staff, and I hope they solved the problem.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.7 mi away
Hostel Che Tulum
Hostel Che Tulum
#17 of 115 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hostel Che Babel
Hostel Che Babel
#46 of 115 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.4 mi away
Emotion Tulum Hotel & Hostal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chill Inn Hostal
Chill Inn Hostal
#5 of 115 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Casona Hotel & Hostel
La Casona Hotel & Hostel
#34 of 115 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quintana Roots Hostel
Quintana Roots Hostel
#12 of 115 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weary Traveler Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weary Traveler Hostel

Property: Weary Traveler Hostel
Address: Calle Polar | con Calle Beta Norte, Tulum 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Weary Traveler Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weary Traveler Hostel Tulum was started by backpackers for backpackers back in the year 2000. The hostel was built around what they themselves wanted to find in a good hostel when they were traveling. A good social vibe A book exchange A bar with backpacker prices Communal Kitchen (loaded with free spices, salt, pepper) Full Cook Your Own Breakfast Free Rice, Pasta and lentils for dinner Good Advice on Tours and Activities Some aspects of the Weary Traveler Hostel Tulum appear to be unique but they are not. Many of them came from other hostels where we had stayed long before we dreamed of opening a hostel in Tulum. For example the Burn Your Own BBQ was inspired by the Bondi Beach Hotel's incredible steak barbi setup inside the bar. Huge, beautiful cuts of beef were in a display fridge that was part of the bar. You would say, "Yeah, give me that one!" and huge chunk of raw red meat came at you on a platter. It was your job to cook it how you wanted it. The Weary Traveler Hostel Tulum has changed, evolved, gone back to our roots and changed again and again over the years. We have always tried to evolve as a hostel, stay ahead of the competition and anticipated the changing needs and desires of our guests. So welcome to The Weary Traveler Hostel Tulum, mi casa es su casa! John, one of the originals from way back when. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Weary Traveler Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weary Traveler Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing