We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot”
Review of Hotel Tunich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tunich
Ranked #23 of 82 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good spot”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Room was great and basic. I lost my passport so they were able to accommodate me the following week for 3 of my six days I paid for. They did my my breakfast since I lost out on $300.

Very clean but seriously warm. No cross breeze what so ever therefore difficult to sleep In that there is no electricity outlet for fan

Room 3 was roomy enough although the shower is so light that I resorted to filling up the cup from the bathroom sink to rinse hair and sand off is body. To say it is a shower ...

Very low key,nice but they don't go out of their way by any means.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank RP0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    11
    2
    6
    0
See reviews for
9
34
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The staff at Hotel Tulum are friendly and really helpful. The rooms were cleaned everyday (excellent towel animals!) and the restaurant did great breakfast and lunch for very reasonable prices.

The hotel itself is over the road from the beach - a walk of all about 30 seconds, but as a result is significantly cheaper than other cabanas nearby.

The rooms are basic, but comfortable. Not a lot of space and no electronic sockets - but we found this perfect for getting away from it all. The only downside is the lack of fan or air-conditioning. We travelled in February and did get quite hot in the evenings, but not uncomfortably so.

I would definitely stay here again rather than an all-inclusive or a more expensive alternative and the lack of included meals just allows you to have breakfast and lunch as and when you want to, as well as trying all of the excellent restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrissiJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Necochea, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Safe and very clean room (private bath included) in the jungle. I enjoyed wonderful breakfasts in the garden near the small cenote. The hotel is small and not luxurious, but wonderful in service. The beach across the street is very nice ans peaceful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose Juan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel with good breakfast. Rooms are simple but clean and staff is super nice ! Room was 90usd for two people which is more than half the typical price of a room by the beach, so good value ! Has private bathroom. Has direct access to the beach.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The hotel is situated at the beginning of the Zona Hotelera, but on the other side of the road so for the access to the beach you have to do a little walk. If you come by car be aware that it doesn't have it's own parking place so you have to search for some what can be sometimes quite challenging.

Staff is very friendly and helpful, even the night guard with golden teeth! Rooms are generally clean, but during our stay we've found there cockroaches, big spider, 3 scorpions and don't get scared if you meet some snakes by the pool as well (some allegedly friendly, some not that much).

During our trip in Mexico it was the most expensive hotel out of four, but with the lowest quality. Breakfast were not included in the price of the rooms, there is no restaurant in the hotel during the night opened. Next time I would probably go for something else.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdelaHunady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stumbled upon this hotel simply by walking to all the hotels in the area and seeing which one we liked best. We choose Tunich because of the value and the front desk receptionist Flor. Her welcoming attitude and helpful advice sealed the deal. We stayed 5 nights over the Christmas holiday. The owners were really great also and gave us a few rides into town. Rooms were thoroughly cleaned each day and we received fresh room and beach towels. Breakfast consisted of fruit, yogurt and toast and started our day off right. Beach access right across the street along with a rental shop. Highly recommend renting a scooter for a day and cruising around town and Akumal.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

The breakfast and service was fantastic. Highly recommend the omelettes. All breakfast come with coffee and juice which is great!- the owner was kind enough to help us with booking a hotel in Mexico City on her cellphone. Super friendly!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonSutcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.1 mi away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#69 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maria Del Mar Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#25 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Punta Piedra Beach Posada
0.0 mi away
TulumBay Eco Beach
TulumBay Eco Beach
#97 of 123 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel CalaLuna Tulum
Hotel CalaLuna Tulum
#53 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tunich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tunich

Property: Hotel Tunich
Address: c/Tulum-Bocapaila km5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico (Formerly Tunich Hotel)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Tunich 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Tunich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing