We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing place & service”

Hotel Hostel Mundo Maya
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Hostel Mundo Maya
Ranked #45 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
“amazing place & service”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

it is an amazing place, it is an amazing service, clean, very affordable for backpackers.
the staff speaks english. it is a very friendly environment. in the heart of tulum. close by the ado station. i really recommend!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricko H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Qu'Appelle, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We have not utilized hotels in Tulum for a number of years, but our friends recommended Mundo Maya to us for the two days we were in Tulum this year. We were very impressed with this family run establishment. Clean with comfortable beds and lots of hot water (give it a chance to get down the pipes from the third floor). Near the Palacio Municipal and the bus station, it is in the middle of town and within walking distance of everything within the pueblo.
We would definitely consider staying here in the future.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are the most easily accessible. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandyV545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I will simply echo the positive comments already posted . Super clean. Quiet if you close the windows and use the AC ( there is live music a few doors away). Great location....but here is a cost saving tip - everything is cheaper just off the main strip. Also, the bus station is about 5 minutes walk to the south of this hostel ..my wife and daughter had 1 room to ourselves for $500per nite. You can refill your water bottles in the lobby.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank skipper5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Nice and clean hotel in the center of Tulum. We were looking for a quite room and this hotel was quite in the night. For 500 pesos per night it was a good value for the money. They even had a discount deal for bicycle rental in the near by agency. One of the receptionest spoke english. We stayed for two nights and are happy to recommend this accomodation.

Room Tip: We stayed in the last floor and had a nice view from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klarusskka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I liked Mundo Maya hotel, because it's situated straight in the center, very close to everything. Near the hotel is really good restaturant La Nave, and a lot of shops. The price was very reasonable and we also got the discount, because we stayed for few days.
The hotel is extremely clean and rooms are spacious, so I liked it very much. The one problem once was a Saturday night, when there was a big party around. My friends then were not able to sleep deep in the night. To be onest - it was enough to close window and turn on the air-con to cut off noises from outside and I slept quite well.

My last advice for travellers in Mexico is to bring a headlight with you. In almast all hotels I have visited, the top light is really bright and has unfriendly energy-saving bulb white colour. If any of your roommates wants to go slip, there is no any bed lamp for reading books and the headlamp would be the best solution.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neurromancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

stayed four nights here end of november ,2013, has parking for our car.

hotel is in town, new tallest building, we had the corner 3rd floor unit facing the street with common balcony. nice breeze in the evening to enjoy your beverage and watch the street traffic and listen to the live music two doors over.

large clean room with aircon and fast wIfi in layback town,

easy access to the beautiful soft coral sand public beach by bike on bike lane or drive. Lots of bike traffic. long walk to Tulum site or bike or take the collective.

enjoyed or stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinatravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We came acroos this hotel after viewing some awful hostels. The quality of this hotel was amazing for the price. The building was recently built and the rooms really spacious and clean with excellent wifi (that you could connect to from the restaurant across the street) and cable tv. It is run by a lovely family and it feels very secure. Blows the other hostels we viewed in Tulum away.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven_F555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.4 mi away
Hostel Che Tulum
Hostel Che Tulum
#17 of 116 in Tulum
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chill Inn Hostal
Chill Inn Hostal
#5 of 116 in Tulum
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Flor
#91 of 116 in Tulum
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel El-Crucero
Hotel El-Crucero
#86 of 95 in Tulum
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corazon de Jade
Corazon de Jade
#31 of 82 in Tulum
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emotion Tulum Hotel & Hostal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hostel Mundo Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hostel Mundo Maya

Property: Hotel Hostel Mundo Maya
Address: Av. Tulum / Beta y Orion, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing