We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views on the beach”
Review of The Beach Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Beach Tulum
Ranked #11 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing views on the beach”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed in a deluxe room on the second floor overlooking the beach. The deck has a beautiful panoramic view of the beach with palm trees interspersed. We also had our own private rooftop deck with a comfortable lounge bed ....a perfect place to gaze at the stars at night. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the customer service was excellent with much attention to detail. The grounds are very well cared for. Ziggy's restaurant is conveniently next door for breakfast. Although the hotel boasts air conditioning at night, the AC didn't get very cold. That being said, it is one of the only hotels that actually has air conditioning in Tulum. This hotel is one of the best options we've come across in Tulum, and we would come back to stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbugger2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for your recent stay and for your nice comment about our Hotel and staff.
It makes us proud to read that you felt so much at ease at our Beach resort . It was really nice meeting you and being to your service.

We are looking forward to your next visit to The Beach Tulum.

Muchas gracias

Your The Beach Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    72
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
30
454
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I can't recommend the The Beach Tulum enough! The hotel, staff, location, and ziggys were all incredible - really when I think about a dream vacation this place is it.
We stayed in a Deluxe room which I loved. However if you are looking for something less expensive there sister hotel which is literally next door - The Cabanas Tulum is also great!
No kids are allowed at The Beach Tulum so that means no screaming children in the pool. For me that is worth the extra money! Our room was beautiful - incredible views. The breakfast at Ziggys every morning was not only delicious but really filling. Gave us all the energy we needed for playing in the ocean and riding bikes to the ruins. The ocean in front of the Beach Tulum is breathtaking - the stretch of beach is nice and not crowded. The best restaurants and shopping is all with in walking.

The Staff really makes the stay special:
Jeronimo - a local brings you to your room and loves to tell you about Tulum - you can tell he really loves it here.
Sylvina and Aubrey - work at the front desk and are so helpful and sweet I miss them!
Gregorio and Fernando - work at Ziggys and are so sweet and keep the margaritas flowing!
Nery - works at the Bar in the Lobby and has lots of advice and information about Tulum if you need it.
All the Staff is amazing and I can't wait to see them all when my fiancé and I go back next fall to get married there!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khobso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback and words about our Hotel and staff. We have already shared your comments with everyone.
We are honored and happy to have you had as our guests and are very excited to welcome you back for your wedding at The Beach Tulum.

Thank you!

Your The Beach Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Just recently returned from a 4 night stay at the The Beach Tulum and I have to say that this place completely satisfied all my desires and expectations for this vacation. I had never been to the area before but my criteria for lodging was pretty simple: clean, quiet, private, close beach proximity, a little on the upscale/chic side, cool vibe. Of all the hotels listed on this site (70 or so), we narrowed it down to about 4 and eventually settled on The Beach with the intention of visiting the others while there to compare for future reference. Once we arrived and settled in, it became abundantly apparent that there was not going to be any need to look any further, we had found the perfect spot.

We spent the first two nights in a beach level Deluxe room and the second two in a Superior room. Both are fantastic but I really enjoyed the lush, lagoon like pool that is just outside the door of the Superior rooms. These rooms feel a little more removed from the rest of the complex as well, which I liked. You simply cannot get any closer to the beach, it's amazing. I might add that this very section of beach, right outside your door, was the nicest stretch of beach that I noticed in the area. There are widely spaced, mature palms trees that provide some welcomed shade and give this section of beach a very nice feel. My one suggestion would be for them to somehow incorporate some sort of privacy barrier between the porches of the Superior rooms- if you and you're neighbors are both on the little decks outside the rooms, you're basically hanging out with them- a little more privacy for these otherwise lovely rooms would go a long way.

All of the staff are exceptionally welcoming, friendly, helpful and unobtrusive.

Overall, an amazing place to stay. My research for lodging options in Tulum is done, The Beach is the place! I will definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DJEJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Beach Tulum. We love your 5 star review so thank you for sharing your experience with others.
We are actually planting more vegetation between the porches of our Superior rooms to guarantee the maximum privacy for our guest.
It was our pleasure being to your service. We hope to see you again in the next future for some more relaxing holidays here in sunny Tulum.

Best regards,
Your The Beach Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2014

A long weekend getaway over the MLK holiday found us exploring Tulum. We were scheduled to arrive around 4, however with our flight being diverted for a medical emergency we arrived just as dark was settling in.

The trip from the airport takes about 2 hours - it is Mexico, so just enjoy the pace of the trip.

Checking in was simple and we were assisted during our entire trip by Sylivina. She was the go to person for the trip and her personal attention made the trip relaxing.

Our room was what we expected, simple and well maintained. A few steps off the porch and we were on the beach. We arrived on the night with a full moon, so we spent our first hour on the beach watching the moon rise. An amazing sight.

Sylivina gave us directions to go to Pasada Margherita for dinner. "Its just about 800 meters down the road". Hotel road is just wide enough for 2 cars to pass and maybe a few feet then on either side yet you will see people walking all around. Dinner was great.

The remainder of our trip went just as well. Service was outstanding and the breakfast at Ziggy's was always good.

We are planning a return trip soon as we both enjoyed sleeping with the doors open listening to the ocean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallas629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Guest Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for your recent stay at our Boutique Hotel and this wonderful feedback which we have shared with the entire staff. It is the best motivation we can receive for what we love doing!
We are looking forward to your next visit at The Beach Tulum.

Gracias!

Best regards,
Your The Beach Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

I have been traveling to Tulum since 1991, and have stayed in several different hotels. Everything about The Beach is wonderful, and It met every expectation. We will be returning very soon. Thank you to the staff and management for making our stay so enjoyable!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback about our Hotel and our staff.
It makes us proud to read that you were positively surprised by our Mexican hospitality.
We are looking forward to your next visit to The Beach Tulum.

Muchas gracias

Your The Beach Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The Beach Hotel was a nice change to the modern after we had stayed a few nights in a more traditional bungalow down the beach. The room is clean and spacious and the bathroom is quite modern. We stayed in a Deluxe ground floor room and didn't miss being upstairs - you still get the great winds off of the ocean at night and have the benefit of walking right out to your beach bed during the day. Service was personable though sometimes slow at breakfast. The included breakfast at Ziggys is a great deal as you can order anything off of their regular menu and dine overlooking the ocean. We had a great experience overall with a few caveats. For 400+ USD per night I would have expected wifi in the room. Similarly, the tiny water bottles they gave you on night one had to be constantly refilled - a complimentary bottle each evening or a glass bottle to refill would have been quite easy to do. If you prefer a quite beach day, opt for a room further from Ziggy's as the beach club fills up during the day and guests definitely don't abide by the "Beach Guests Only" signs. The beach beds leave a bit to be desired and chairs or umbrellas are not readily available. With a few more luxury tweaks, this would definitely be a hotel to return to.

Room Tip: Opt for a room further from Ziggys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csc1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and all your constructive suggestions about our Beach Hotel.
We are actually working on a better WiFi connection in all our rooms and appreciate your comments about how to improve our water refill station.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future and show you all our improvements.

Best wishes and Muchas Gracias

Your The Beach Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We loved staying here. The open air lobby, the sandy, jungle lined walkways to the rooms, footbaths, big balcony with hammock right on the beach, rooftop deck, quality fixtures and minimal decor, it was the perfect place to relax and enjoy the ocean breeze. Please note, if you are looking for a super opulent hotel like the kind in cancun you won't find it in tulum. Instead, these hotels give you the best views, the most contact with nature, and the best ways to unwind. Different experience but after the first day you fall in love with the simplicity of everything. We loved the swing bar at Ziggys and went there almost every evening to get a drink from Fernando. He was the best bartender and made the most amazing drinks, super friendly and helpful. He felt like a good friend by the time we left. We also did the tequila tasting on Tuesday with him and had so much fun, met some other couples staying there and had a great dinner after at Ziggys with them. The breakfast location is breathtaking and the food was delish. Don't change a thing here, it was perfect!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alinaxanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are very happy to read about your pleasant getaway stay at our Beach Hotel. It was our honor having you as our guest and make your Tulum experience as memorable as possible.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,

Your The Beach Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.7 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 95 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
1.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#23 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 95 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Tulum

Property: The Beach Tulum
Address: Road Tulum-Boca Paila km 7 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beach Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Tulum is a small adult-only upscale boutique hotel with 28 specially designed rooms for your enjoyment. Our eco-friendly hotel has many special amenities to make your stay comfortable. We offer ground floor Deluxe rooms, Rooftop Jacuzzi rooms and Junior Suites with private heated plunge pool. All rooms have 1 king size bed and are beachfront. Enjoy complimentary breakfast at Ziggy's or Fresco's, free use of our bikes to tour Tulum, daily on site yoga classes available, on site Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Beach Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing