We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leonardo is the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beach Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Beach Tulum
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Staten Island, New York
1 review
“Leonardo is the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I loved the hotel and staff, but Leonardo was the person who made our vacation a stand out. He was very attentive and went out of his way to make sure we were happy, and to do anything we needed (even the things that weren't his responsibility). Leonardo is a real gem and I hope this hotel realizes it and pays him what he's worth!!!! I would definitely go back to this hotel because of him.
Dorothy

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    72
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
30
450
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Nice beach location. Nice dinner staff, beautifully served dinners. That's sadly all the good I have for this place. We stayed in a ground floor, deluxe room. We stayed 5 nights. Every morning at 7am there was talking, banging, grinding, drilling and general maintainence noise outside our room. I don't know if this was random, but it sure was annoying.

Outside of that complaint, room 04 has little privacy due to being right by the walkway to the beach. If we were sitting on our terrace, people could easily see us lounging.

Breakfast is decent, service is slow and mediocre.

I suppose the cost is worth the beach location, but I'm not especially convinced of that.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clarasamhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Thanks go great reviewers and excellent communication from the hotel staff WHENEVER I sent an email, I felt "pretty confident" when I booked this hotel for my husband's 50th. Since I was also booking for our close friends to join us, I had fingers crossed that it would be good. We had a blast. The room photos on this site look exactly like we experienced. The staff is very nice. We used the suggested firm "Cancun Cheap Transfers" and they were well-priced, accommodating and timely. Ziggy's food was great, we even had some good wine!
I would add a few tips:
1-Bring your own refillable water bottles. They really limit the plastic consumption, which is wonderful, but you'll be glad you brought your own to refill in the lobby after some delicious margs at Mateo's!
2-The beach is wonderful, just mind the sharp rocks in a few spots.
3-There are very few places to get that pharmacy item you forgot...pack thoroughly
4-Pack lightly on clothes, super casual, and happily so!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimbrahay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I really couldn't be more positive about this hotel. A great hotel with an authentic beachy feel, with amazing staff and a wonderful restaurant.

Amazing rooms that have a wonderful and full view of the sea (we woke up to amazing sunrises while we are there) that are spacious yet intimate.

The staff and very professional, friendly (but not overly familiar) and are so willing to help at every opportunity.

The restaurant has food that's among the best I've EVER had (and my home city of London has a pretty good restaurant offering), so good I dont think we bothered trying anywhere else.

I could go on and on and no, but ill keep it brief to make a point.

Just. Book. It.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

No TV. No phone. No all inclusive food courts. No kids. Perfect! If you would miss any of the above this is NOT the place for you. If you are seeking tranquility, disconnecting from the world, sand between your toes and sound of the ocean most of the time, this is it!
Beautiful, small hotel minimalistically yet tastefully decorated. But you can find nice hotels all over Tulum and the area. It is THE STAFF that makes this hotel exceptional! Wonderful staff! From the reception desk, through the Ziggy's wonderful waiters all the way to the gentleman who maintains the pool and garden and folks that clean your room. They are Ladies and Gentlemen serving Ladies and Gentlemen! Can't name them all but they are ALL amazing!
Also great food and service at Ziggy's restaurant and wonderful massage from Veronica. This is the very first hotel that is on our list to return to. We will definitely go back to The Beach Tulum.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was our first visit to the Yucatan, and we looked long and hard for the perfect city and hotel for our stay. We were looking for a beautiful, quiet paradise, and we certainly found it at The Beach Tulum. We had not taken a long vacation in a couple of years, and The Beach Tulum was the perfect place for us to rest, relax, and enjoy each other. The beach is absolutely stunning, there are plenty of daybeds to lay on and enjoy the sun, and the staff will make sure to accommodate your every wish. Gabby at the front desk was able to take care of all of our needs, and the staff at Ziggy's (the restaurant) made sure our stomachs were satisfied and our drinks were always full. The rooms are big with lots of natural light, the bed was large and comfortable, and the porch had a lovely sitting area complete with a hammock. The rooftop terrace was also a nice place to hang out and watch the sunrise/sunset. All in all we had an excellent trip, and I would like to personally thank Angel, Gabby, and the rest of the staff for making it such a memorable experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in #7, a deluxe room on the second floor. It was the closest room to the restaurant/bar, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheEisenharts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We just came back from a week at the Beach Tulum in Mexico. The staff was not only friendly and accommodating, they went out of the way to make sure you had the best experience every day. I can't say enough about Leonardo and his dedication to his customers. We looked forward to his warm and upbeat personality every day. You can see the pride he takes in Ziggy's Restaurant and it shows in the food and service. Jose made sure our drinks and lunch got to us every afternoon at the beach. Abraham was the most charming server in the evening and the ladies at breakfast always started our day off right. Dan at the front desk went the extra mile to get my earring out of a small hole that it fell into on our headboard!
The location is superb. Open your sliders and step out onto the sandy beach. The best sunrise is right there. We are already talking about our next visit there.

Room Tip: Ask for the superior deluxe. All rooms are on the beach but these have a roof top terrace and you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.7 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 93 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 93 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#23 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 93 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Tulum

Property: The Beach Tulum
Address: Road Tulum-Boca Paila km 7 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beach Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Tulum is a small adult-only upscale boutique hotel with 20 specially designed rooms for your enjoyment. Our eco-friendly hotel has many special amenities to make your stay comfortable. We offer 8 Deluxe Superior rooms with 1 King size bed 12 Deluxe rooms with 1 King size bed (6 Ground Floor & 6 First Floor) All Deluxe Superior/ Deluxe rooms are beach front and have access to a tropical garden & pool area. Enjoy free breakfast at Ziggy's or Fresco's, free bikes to tour Tulum, on site yoga classes available, on site Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Beach Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing