We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”
Review of The Beach Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Beach Tulum
Ranked #10 of 101 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I were married at The Beach in June and had the most amazing time of our lives! We hosted 90 people and wanted a hotel that could accommodate at least the majority of our guests. The Beach/Cabanas Tulum was the perfect place! With rooms ranging in price and style, the hotel offered something for everyone, no matter their budget. I can't say enough good things about the hotel! The rooms are simple and very serene, with sleek and modern bathrooms and plenty of space to unpack and unwind! The property is so lush and welcoming, with a lazy river-like pool to dip into and an open lobby to hang in; of course, that is when you are not on the beach--the beach is exquisite! The hotel has large beds scattered along the sand to relax on all day. I loved just hanging out during the day with all of our guests on the beach, some lounging on beds and other playing in the water--so much fun! If all that isn't enough, the staff truly sets The Beach apart. You'll be hard pressed to find a group of people more welcoming, friendly, attentive and gracious as the men and woman who work at The Beach. As far as food goes--all I can say is that the fish tacos at Ziggy Beach are still talked about a month later--they were that good! and the breakfast that's included in your stay is outrageously good! In additon to everyday meal at Ziggy Bach, we hosted our reception there and it far exceeded our wildest dreams! Jose May and his team went above and beyond to ensure that everything was perfect and were so wonderful to work with. All in all, if you are looking for a hotel to visit while on vacation or somewhere to host an amazing wedding celebration, look no further. The Beach is perfection!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Guests,

Congratulations again! Thank you very much for this wonderful feedback. The entire crew of THE Beach TULUM, CABAÑAS TULUM & ZIGGYS appreciates it very much and is so happy to read you had such a fantastic time.
We really hope to welcome you again, maybe for your first anniversary! Look after yourselves :)

Muchas Gracias!

Your The Beach Tulum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 656 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights deciding to leave another hotel in Tulum that was dirty and didn't have A/C. We were in awe when we discovered our room right on the beach with a jacuzzi in the bathroom and another private one on the rooftop with a breathtaking view on the sea. Everything is perfect in this hotel, from the staff's dedication and willingness to help to the elegant and cosy design. It really feels like a 5 star hotel right in front of one of the most beautiful beach the world has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flowmobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for these wonderful words! The whole team is very grateful for your feedback and the fact that you enjoyed staying with us so much!
Our commitment is to create a perfect and harmonious ambiance for our guests to relax and recharge their energies. Thank you once again for having chosen The Beach Tulum for your beach vacation. Hopefully see you again next year!

Muchas Gracias

Your The Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

First off, we LOVED our room. Where else can you get a beach front, king sized room, with a private rooftop terrace for this price?! We listened to the ocean waves all night, every night. Second - the food was AMAZING. It was quite possibly the best food we had throughout the entire trip! I miss the complimentary breakfast the most. Incredible. And last but NOT least... the people were THE BEST!!!!!!! I cannot say enough good things about the FRIENDS we made while staying at The Beach! The staff at the hotel - so helpful, so friendly - namely, Dan and Fernanda... the staff at Ziggy's too, amazing people (Roland, Carlos, Victor... everyone). These people made us feel like family!!

Room Tip: We were very happy with the Deluxe rooms... the Deluxe superior rooms are bigger, and more expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eggersbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review about our Hotel. Reading your comment about our staff, the service and our beach venue made us feel so proud and happy. We especially liked the remark about our staff members Bright mood and great kindness is what we believe in and try to convey to our guests every day.
Again, thank you for having chosen our Boutique Hotel for your beach vacation in Tulum and we hope to see you again in the future.

Muchas Gracias

Your The Beach Tulum Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Beach for four nights in July. Our room was perfect. Every morning we would open our glass doors and step out onto the softest sand in the universe.
The staff was very friendly. Don't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCDina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so happy you has such a good time with us and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.
Muchas Gracias

Your The Beach Tulum Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

There are some really wonderful things about this place and some not-so-good.

The positives:
--It is in Tulum, which is an amazing place.
--The people are WONDERFUL. The manager, the reception staff, the bar/restaurant staff, housekeeping--everyone is friendly and wants to help you have a memorable stay.
--The balconies/front porches are incredible. Right on the beach with perfect views, a hammock, chairs and table, sofa, lovely.
--The lobby and the pool area are really nice
--Great lighting. I know this sounds funny but we have stayed in about 7 or 8 hotels in Tulum and most of them (because Tulum is off the grid) have such terribly low levels of lighting, I usually can barely see to put my contacts in. The Beach has good, bright lighting in the bathrooms especially.
--Great bathrooms generally with good water pressure (for Tulum) in the shower and two sinks

The negatives:
--The main reason we booked here (vs our favorite hotels in Tulum) is because we went in July and needed air conditioning. The a/c comes on between 7pm and 7am, which was fine with us because we just wanted it for sleeping. However, the a/c is very weak. I almost feel like we would've been better off if we just turned it off and opened the doors to the ocean breeze, even in the middle of summer. The worst part is that when it clicks off at 7am, all the doors and windows are sealed (of course, to let the a/c do it's job) and then within 20 minutes of the air kicking off, it is absolutely stifling, which woke us up of course. So basically we were up at 7am every single day of our vacation. My suggestion would be to at least make the hours 9pm to 9am. It only takes an hour or so to cool the room off, and who is going to sleep that early on vacation anyway? That would allow for a cool(ish) night, with a rude awakening at 9am instead of 7.
--The other negative is my pet peeve in a hotel: lumpy pillows. I don't expect hotels to buy $3000 mattresses or anything, but pillows are such a minor expense, it drives me crazy when my pillow feels like it is stuffed with cottage cheese, as all four of ours felt.

These negatives are relatively minor to most people, I am sure, but kept us from giving five stars to an otherwise lovely hotel experience.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank SipadanChangedMyLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. The whole staff always appreciates our guests' feedback which helps to understand where to improve or where we have done a good job. We are very pleased to know that you truly enjoyed your stay at our Boutique Hotel and we hope to welcome you soon back for another relaxing relaxation in lovely Tulum.
Once again "Muchas Gracias" for having chosen us for your beach getaway.

Your The Beach Tulum!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have been to Mexico many times, normally at all-inclusive resorts. This was our first time in Tulum and were very pleased.

We had a 2nd floor Deluxe room. The stunning view from the room and rooftop exceeded expectations. The rooms are very private but the balcony and rooftop are only private if your neighbors are not out. If you seek total privacy on the rooftop then I would choose the Superior Suites.

The free breakfast was very good. We did not have a car so we ate most of our meals at Ziggy’s. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were some of the best meals we have ever had in Mexico and reasonably priced considering quality (an average dinner entry was approx. $20).

We took advantage of happy hour from 3 to 4 on the beach and 4 to 6 at the bar. We brought a collapsible cooler from home. Each day we would stock up on $2 beers. What we did not drink that day, we saved for the next. The bar tenders would gladly refresh our ice the next day. No need to bring your own beer.

All of the staff was great, very genuine and friendly, especially Adrian and Gabriella.

Only very minor complaints; difficult to keep sand out of the room and bed, some expected jungle bugs and mosquitos at night, linens not of the highest quality, beach towels are stained and a little worn. But just remember this is a reasonably priced cabana in Tulum, not a luxury villa in St Barths.

Overall, Tulum is a rustic beach destination and after checking out other hotels along the beach we felt this hotel was the best choice in Tulum, a perfect choice for beach lovers. We will visit again.

Room Tip: The Superior Suites rooftop is more private than the 2nd floor Deluxe rooftop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vazzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guests,

We thank you very much for your review and are very happy that you could enjoy your Beach Vacation so much at our property. We also appreciate your comments about the things to improve and will certainly take your feedback into consideration.
Again, thank you on behalf of the whole Team and hopefully see you again on your next trip to beautiful Tulum.

Muchas Gracias
Your The Beach Tulum Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We just returned from a stay at The Beach Tulum and it more than exceeded our expectations. It was elegant and gorgeous but laid-back in the perfect way. Our room was huge and beautiful and the beach just outside was perfect and not crowded at all -- some mornings we woke up and there wasn't a soul in sight. The food was amazing (I discovered the shrimp tacos on our last day, wish I'd tried them sooner!) and reasonably priced; if we'd eaten every meal there we would not have regretted it. We visited in July so having the AC at night was nice and helped us sleep comfortably. Fernando, Gabriella, Adrian and the other members of the hotel staff really made the experience amazing; they were cheerful and helpful regarding whatever we needed. One night Fernando actually ran down to our porch from the restaurant to let us know there was a sea turtle laying eggs -- we would have missed it if he hadn't gone to the trouble! Overall, our stay was the wonderful romantic getaway we wanted with no problems or drawbacks. We saw tons of cute-looking hotels on our walks up and down the beach but will definitely stay here again on our next trip. Thanks for giving us such a perfect long weekend, guys!

Room Tip: We opted for the bigger cabana-style room at the far end of the hotel with the roof deck. We didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guests,

On behalf of our entire Team, we would like to thank you for your lovely feedback about your recent stay at our Beach Hotel. We are more than enthusiastic to read about your wonderful and romantic experience at our property and of course it makes us very happy to know that you could not also enjoy the scrumptious food at Ziggy's Restaurant but witness the magic of Nature :)
Again, thank you for having chosen us for your romantic beach getaway.
We hope we see you again in the future.

Muchas Gracias,
Your The Beach Tulum Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.7 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cabanas Tulum
Hotel Cabanas Tulum
#8 of 101 in Tulum
838 reviews
1.2 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 101 in Tulum
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#23 of 101 in Tulum
1,416 reviews
1.5 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#25 of 101 in Tulum
917 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 101 in Tulum
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Tulum

Address: Road Tulum-Boca Paila km 7 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 101 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range: $462 - $752 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beach Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Tulum is a small adult-only upscale boutique hotel with 28 specially designed rooms for your enjoyment. Our eco-friendly hotel has many special amenities to make your stay comfortable. We offer ground floor Deluxe rooms, Rooftop Jacuzzi rooms and Junior Suites with private heated plunge pool. All rooms have 1 king size bed and are beachfront. Enjoy complimentary breakfast at Ziggy's or Fresco's, free use of our bikes to tour Tulum, daily on site yoga classes available, on site Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Beach Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing