We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Beach Tulum
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ahau Tulum(Tulum)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveler rating
566
81
19
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
566
81
19
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstequila tastingziggy's restaurantrooftop jacuzziour honeymoonevery morningmexican winerose petalsdeluxe roomstuna tacossun deckconcierge teamlobby barbottle of champagneday bedair conditioningbreakfast was includedcasa jaguar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
604 - 609 of 682 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2013

At the risk of repeating what other reviewers have said, The Beach exceeded my expectations in every way! I had read many positive reviews and viewed visitors' photos, so I felt as if I knew the place before we even go there. Wow! Everything was beautifully kept, spotless, and the staff all went above and beyond! Room #7 was directly on the beach, had a balcony with hammock, along with a padded bench and tables and chairs. But the private rooftop deck was the best! What an incredible way to enjoy the stars at night! We never used the a/c, as we slept with the doors open (screen was extremely helpful) and the breeze was just right, as was being lulled to sleep (and naps) by the sound of the ocean. The beach was perfect for long walks. We took a Yoga class with the sound of the ocean for background music! The ocean was perfect for swimming, mostly calm and very little seaweed. Breathtaking sunrises to start the day. You just can't beat this place. We feel like we have found a second home. Thank you to Miguel, Alex, Adrian, Anna, and Dan, along with the entire staff - they were all too good to be true. Don't forget to go to the Sunday night Salsa dance at The Zebra. Don't forget to bring insect repellent as there are mosquitoes and other insects, but once we put on the repellent we were no longer bothered. We lost our camera with all of our beautiful photos on the way home, but we have our memories and we will just have to come back soon and take some more pics! The price of the stay, food and drinks were very reasonable. We pay more to stay at the beach here in Florida. There were no TVs, telephones, or electronics in the rooms, which was the way we like it. This lead to he only thing that really annoyed me, and it had absolutely nothing to do with the place itself - I just could not believe the amount of people who could not seem to put down their various and sundry electronics for long enough to enjoy the beautiful views and each others company! It was very distracting and a sad commentary about how addicted people have become to their technology. The Beach needs to have a technology free area where people check their electronics before entering! But, that one little thing being said, I am already planning our next trip back to The Beach! :))))

Room Tip: Second floor for more privacy - #7 for most privacy!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Principal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjiFernandez, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guests,

On behalf of the whole team, we thank you so much for your wonderful review and for your thoughtful remark about people's need for technology. When someone asks us why there is no television in the rooms, we usually point out that the tele_vision is directly in front of them, the ocean view.
We are so happy you enjoyed staying with us and found a new home.
We are very sorry to hear about your lost camera, visit our social media pages to stay tune and see more beautiful sunrises, perhaps this will make up for the lost photos.
Again, thank you very much for being our guests and we are looking forward to your next stay at our Hotel.

Muchas Gracias

Your The Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Returned to celebrate my husband's birthday. This is the 7th time (who's counting) we've stayed at this property and it keeps getting better! Our favorite pastime is laying on the comfy lounge beds under a coconut palm and ordering freshly made Peruvian Ceviche and cold beers....and that's just the beginning......! This property has an amazing beach front with lots of palm trees....the breakfast is included, what a treat.....Dinner is also excellent ( Highly recommended). We have stayed in different rooms (all beach front) and they can range from the very basic to a suite! What we love about Tulum is that the area is protected since there's no major Hotel Chains, really laid back, fantastic beach and the staff is awesome!
We are going back (numero 8) again!!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank agonz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjiFernandez, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guests,

Congratulations to your husband again! We thank you for your loyalty, we are honored to know that your enthusiasm for our Hotel and Service has not changed within the years and it is our pleasure to know that Tulum keeps bringing some magic into your lives.
We cannot wait to welcome you back for the 8th time to spoil you and make you feel at home again. Thank you so much!

Muchas Gracias

Your The Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My week-long stay at The Beach was nothing short of magical! The resort is nestled right on the beach among an awesome grove of coconut trees which provide ample afternoon shade from a day (or 7) spent frolicking in the sun, sand and surf. Don't miss the incredible sunrises right on the beach, just a few steps from your room! We stayed in a 2nd floor deluxe suite which was perfect for inviting the cool sea breezes into our room...never had to use the AC since we left the double wide screened doors opened at night (and most of the day) and kept the ceiling fan running...aahhhh, the sound of the surf just lulls you to sleep at night! The room wasn't fancy but was kept spotless by our excellent housekeeper Raquel. The oversized covered balcony with table, chairs and a hammock made for some incredibly relaxing mornings with fresh brewed coffee from the lobby. Oh, also, there was a staircase leading up to the roof (a real nice perk if you book a 2nd floor room!) where there were incredible views (and more much-welcomed breeze!) The Beach is located right on one of the premier beaches in Tulum, Ziggy Beach and has the most comfortable "beach beds" you'll ever find! All this coupled with the mouth-watering delights of the on-site restaurant, El Bistro, I dare you to find a better piece of Paradise! The hotel, restaurant and "swing-up" bar staff always made you feel welcomed...from Adrian, Manuel and Dan (and others) at the front desk to Rosita :-) and her posse of waiters and bartenders...Alexander, Fernando, Jose Luis, Abraham, Israel, Jorge, Roberto, too many to name, they were ALL fantastico!!! Did I mention El Bistro and the FREE breakfast you get every morning...to die for!!! Order off the breakfast menu, anything!!! We sampled something different every morning and still only went through half the menu! Dinner was also incredible as were the shrimp tacos (BEST EVER) and the tuna nachos for lunch (I'm still drooling). From the crazy smiling faces on the handmade CocoLoco drinks to the friendly smiling faces on everyone at The Beach I'm happy to call this new found place my home-away-from-home and the wonderful folks who work there my new found Family, because that's how we were made to feel, like Family!!! Kevin M. aka Sr. Malo

Room Tip: 2nd floor deluxe rooms have a huge covered balcony AND private rooftop access!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gooberdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjiFernandez, Guest Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your detailed review, we are flattered to know that you had such a wonderful week here at The Beach Tulum or as you have titled here in "Paradise".
It really makes us happy to receive our guests' feedback and to know how it feels like to stay at our boutique Hotel.
We are also going to share your comments about Ziggy's restaurant and Beach club with their staff and management, please note that the correct name is Ziggy's not El Bistro :).
Regarding the room you stayed in, it was a Deluxe first floor room, our hotel has 6 Deluxe rooms on the first floor and six on ground floor, the Superior Deluxe rooms are more spacious and dispose of both ground floor terrace and a huge solar deck. Again, it is nice to know that you really liked your room and felt comfortable with the service and amenities.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Muchas Gracias
Your The Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Where to start...

My (new) wife and I arrived at The Beach Tulum after getting married the week before in Mexico. We said good bye to our 50 guests and were anxious to start our honeymoon and relax!!

Firstly, I am sorry of the length of this review. I read thousands of reviews before going to Mexico and I want to help by providing a lot of details. Believe me, you will not be disappointed if you choose The Beach Tulum. The place is amazing!

The lobby:
The lobby is beautiful, open, comfortable and simple (in a good way). There are places to sit that offer privacy and relaxation. There are nice, clean bathrooms within the lobby. There is a staff member in the lobby to help with any requests or to offer advice for nearby restaurants or sight seeing.

There is free wi-if for guests which works well within the lobby. We would always make our way down to the lobby at 7am to check social media (to see any new wedding pictures). There was always hot coffee/tea in the lobby with clean mugs around 7am everyday.
The lobby is brand new and really nice! There was a pool table within the lobby.

The room:
We were in a Deluxe Beachfront room. I think the only difference between the Deluxe And the Deluxe Superior room is the rooftop tub. We had a rooftop terrace with a bed only. Although the tub would have been nice to have, we didn't feel like we were missing anything.

The room was really nice! We had room #11 which was a second floor unit. The view was incredible!! Upon entry to the room was a large closet with hangers. The electronic safe was within the closet which worked well. The decor was simple but beautiful - white walls, white linens with dark wood. The balcony was a good size with the best view in the world. Had a couch area, a hammock and a table and chairs.
We enjoyed the balcony at all hours of the day and night. It always had a slight breeze and being on the second floor - was very private!

The bathroom was spacious and clean - a double sink, large bath tub with shower head with a separate area for the toilet.
The shower was so nice :) with the glass door it had a direct view through the opening in the bedroom and out to the balcony. The nicest shower view I've ever had!! This is where being on the second floor gave us an advantage - we didn't have to worry about anyone walking by :)
The A/C worked from 7pm-7am and it kept the room perfect! A nice escape from the hot humid nights.

The beach:
Gorgeous! Powder white sand :)
We woke up a few mornings bright and early to watch the sun rise right over the beach :) The Beach Tulum had a long stretch of beach compared to most of the other places along the beach. It was lined with nice beach beds with pillows. The stretch of beach also had quite a few palm trees which offered shade at all times of the day. It was easy to move the beds to and from the sun. The water was so refreshing!

I hear Tulum is usually a bit breezy. It was pretty windy the first 4 days with red flags up. Being from a Maritime Province surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean - we were used to a lot of waves.
The water had a bit of a current which pulled North. Nothing to ever keep you out of the water but something to be aware of, especially if you have children. There are areas of rock/sea vegetation all along the Tulum beach. Some areas have more than others. The area directly in front of the hotel did have some spots to be careful with. If you only plan on going in to your waist then you won't have to worry too much but it's something to look out for.
We found that if you walk a few minutes down the beach (South) then the areas of rock/sea vegetation become less.

For walking - if it's a long beach walk - we found South (right, if you're looking at the water) was a nicer walk. The Beach Tulum is on the busier stretch of beach which isn't really all that busy :) but the further you walk South the less people and the water got a bit calmer. If you head North the sand gets a bit grainier and more seaweed/coral.

Note: there are some stingrays in the water. A guy got stung by one on his foot when we were at the beach one day. Apparently, it's less likely that you will get stung if you shuffle your feet when walking into the water. Either way - something to be aware of while anywhere down south!

The pool:
A beautiful oasis :)
It was located beside the lobby.
The pool was awesome, it wound itself around palm trees and flowers and under some walking bridges. There were a lot of palm trees and vegetation which offered many shaded areas away from the hot sun! The pool was protected from wind by the surrounding buildings so it was always hot!

The water was cleaned everyday that we were there, except for Sunday. We found on Sunday that the water did need a quick cleaning -just from being surrounded by flowers, insects and birds. But with 6 days a week cleaning they keep it really nice and clean :)

The Beach Tulum staff:
They were awesome! Whether it was Dan, Anna or anyone at the desk - you can be assured that you will be treated with patience and respect. They went our of their way to see how everything was going. Since it was our honeymoon we had a beautiful presentation of towel art and flower petals our first day :) we also had a complimentary bottle of champagne.
The staff were great when offering information on sight seeing, restaurants or taxi fares. We were very well taken care of :)
The complex was clean and very well maintained!!

The Reception staff knew our names by the first day!

The Restaurant:
The Beach Tulum partners with 'Ziggy's Beach' which is adjacent to the hotel lobby on the beach.
Breakfast is included in the rate of the room between 7am-12pm. However, if it wasn't - we still would have eaten there most mornings. You pick your breakfast voucher up at the lobby reception every morning.
The food and staff at Ziggy's were awesome! I'll write a separate review on 'Ziggy's Beach' to account for our experiences there during the week as we ate here everyday for lunch as well - and a few nights for dinner :)
Ill talk about breakfast since it's included.
Ziggy's had tables set up on the beach, on the sand on an upper beach 'landing' (for lack of a better word) and also within their covered restaurant. The view was incredible. Included with breakfast was a hot drink (coffee, tea, cappuccino) and a cold drink of fresh juice (orange juice was our favorite but also the mix of pineapple, orange, celery and carrot - I think) YUM!
On the first morning I asked the waiter what the most popular breakfast was. He replied with 'Motuleños' which are the Mayan style Rancharos. I didn't try anything else all week - SO good! The wifey tried several things but liked the omelets the most. The croissant was big and fresh!!

The staff were friendly and attentive! Awesome service :) they also got to know our names through the week and always had smiles for us!
We really thought that Diego and Alex were just the sweetest and they treated us so so well, all week :)
To remember: although the breakfast is included in the price of the room, the service tip is not. So remember to tip every morning! These guys work hard for 10-14 hours everyday so make sure you leave a good tip!
Don't be cheap! :)

The bar was fun to hang out at in the evening if you want something simple. There was a bar area with swings, a pool table and some couch seating. Tulum isn't known for a crazy night life ...

Some reviews still say that Ziggy's has a Happy Hour for several hours a day. That was recently changed - Happy Hour 2 for 1 drinks is everyday for only ONE hour. So be aware of that!

Advice: Bring a fabric cooler or buy one at the local grocery store and buy your own liquor from the store. The restaurant will gladly provide you with ice for the cooler. I just gave them a few dollars tip because it will save you a lot of money! :)

Two GREAT things about The Beach Tulum and Ziggy's Beach partnership:
1. The restaurant staff walk up and down the beach to see if you need food or drinks. They will also bring food/drinks to your room, the pool, the lobby - it's your choice! Awesome service :)
2. You can add anything purchased to your hotel tab which can be paid at anytime during your stay or at checkout. This is especially convenient because you don't have to bring cash anywhere!

The lunch menu is also amazing :) great, fresh, flavorful food! You will not be disappointed :) we ate at some other places during the week and always commented that Ziggy's is better.

The only areas where we found an improvement may be made to the hotel (small little tiny things):
The downstairs rooms had little basins outside the room to wash off your sandy feet. It would have been nice to have something for the second floor rooms - even just one near the top of the stairs. But the cleaning staff swept your room daily so it wasn't a big deal!

Also, it would have been nice to have a dresser or something within the room. I feel like they're going for simplicity - which is beautiful!! But I'm one of the people who hates living out of a suitcase. I like to put my clothes away. Since I couldn't do that the clothes and all of our extra things were piled up in our open suitcases. It just makes things look a little messy and takes away from the 'simplicity'... :) minor issues but just small suggestions.

But honestly, you won't be disappointed in The Beach Tulum. The staff, the location, the food and the facilities were all 5 star. We loved every second of our stay.

We will be back to The Beach, many times :) we will recommend The Beach Tulum to anyone who wants to hear about it. :)

Thanks for everything! And thanks to the Ziggy's staff :)

- Jen and Amber

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HockeyGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjiFernandez, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guests,

Congratulation again on your marriage and a big thank you for your detailed review, The whole staff is grateful for the way you described our Hotel and staff members. It was our pleasure turning your honeymoon into something very special and make you fall in love with Mexico and this beautiful part of nature. Your
So thank you once again for this gift you made us and for your suggestion to improve little details.
Bet wishes for both of you and we hope to welcome you back for your first anniversary.

Muchas Gracias

Your The Beach Team
N.B. Please visit our website to see the difference between a Superior Deluxe room and a Deluxe room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We spent 1 week at Cabanas Tulum and we must say that it was just perfect! Everything was fantastic! Clear blue water, white sand beach, very clean, excellent service and personal always very friendly! We spent an amazing week at this hotel which is probably one of the best in Tulum! We definitely recommend it to anyone who is looking for some relaxing time!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabrice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjiFernandez, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your review, it is such a compliment for us to read about your relaxing vacation at our Hotel THE BEACH TULUM. We are going to share your feedback with all staff members and make sure to keep up the high standard we offer our guests.
Thank you also for considering us a one of the best options in Tulum. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Tulum.
Take care.


Muchas Gracias
Your The Beach Tulum team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews