We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tranquil, friendly, cheap”
Review of Calm Cabins Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Calm Cabins Tulum
Ranked #100 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Reviewed August 25, 2013

small cabins in a nice garden area, the owner dora is very sweet, speaks perfect english and will cook you a variety of delicious authentic breakfasts with juice and coffee, its in central tulum close to abarrotes and bike rental places and the bus terminal. you can use the kitchen, although its a shame you cannot use it before 3pm. internet, plenty of space at least in our private room. really really good value. bring mosquito repellant!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aphraevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalapasTulum, Owner at Calm Cabins Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you very very much,. It is always a pleasure to have guests so nice and polite like you both.
Hope you visit Tulum again.
Calm Cabins Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 50 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I've been traveling for 5 month, never before been told that I can not stay and use wifi after checkout!

Rooms a full of bugs (not even a room) and although the owner was nice (until checkout) and breakfast was nice too it is defiantly not worth the money!!! For the same amount (and cheaper) you can get a lot more in other places in tulum!!

Before you go there watch the owners comments for people who wrote reviews on hostelworld something is not ok with her...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitzan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalapasTulum, Owner at Calm Cabins Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Our check out is at 11.00 A.M. These guests from Israel checked out at 17.00 Hrs. when I told them that the service they payed for was over. Yes, they left their luggage here at 10.00 A.M. went to the beach and came back at 16.00 Hrs. They not only used the WIfI, No, they also used the kitchen to cook their food, They ate outside at the garden, used the toilet and left the floor dirty. This is the main reason why we don not store luggage after check out any more. Unfortunately some guests like them take advantage and behave as they were still regular guests.

They were also whipping the kitcheen door all the time showing their very bad education. Of course I was nice until I put them a limit.
This woman got her bug bites in Bacalar (the place where they stayed before Tulum) I even recommend her a doctor, When she went to the hospital they told her it was an Allergy, Her boyfriend did n´t get any bite. We do not have bugs bed here. Our place is clean.
Yes, It would be very helpful for other travelers to read the good comments we also have in Hostel World and right here in Trip Advisor, Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is the real Calm Cabins. Its small, relaxed, rustic, clean and comfortable.
The garden is really good with hammocks, you can use the kitchen and has good Internet.
The owner Dora is the nicest lady ever, she helps you out with everything and she is a really good host. She speaks many languages. The breakfast was very good, different everyday and she tries to accommodate you as best as possible. If you are looking for a budget calm and nice place to stay this is it! Its close to the bus station, the supermarkets and really close to here you can get a bus to the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

the place is run by the owner, a very nice woman , the house has a very a big garden that makes us feel in the midst of nature, the rooms look down right in front of the garden.
breakfast is very good, freshly, prepared and served by the owner.
I've had a very good time, the environment is very quiet and people are very friendly.

Room Tip: the single room in the middle of the garden, wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGRANIEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

If you are expecting a five star hotel, well this is not. This is a budget backpacker guest house. The facilities is small, only 1 private double room and 6 bed dorm, and one share bathroom, and hammock in the garden. It is rustic, but clean and comfortable. The setting is nicely, quite from tourist main street. Donna is a wonderful owner, really helpful, and her breakfast is delicious. I would recommend this place for those who are looking for a little calm and relaxed from the touristy Tulum.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Long B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. Dora was around and we only met Pierre once.

We found the grounds lush and loved the cats running around. I could hear roosters at night which helped me sleep. It is a nice ambiance.

We had a private bungalow with a shared bathroom. We were content with our bungalow. It would be nice if the mosquito net fit the bed though. When the front door opened it would hit the outside light bulb (fire hazard).

I had a horrible experience in the bathroom. The bathroom is adjacent to a bunk room. To provide air flow, both rooms shared a window. While I was going to the bathroom, I looked up and seen a perverted guest watching me through the screen. He was in his room and I was on the toilet! I told Dora about this and she said she was going to put concrete up between the rooms ASAP. Thank you, Dora. I am only mentioning this so that other people staying at this property can double check the windows for much needed privacy.

The breakfast wasn't great. An example of a breakfast is a store bought flour tortilla with a little melted cheddar cheese. Once, we had to go out for breakfast after we ate at Palapas.

All in all, I like this place. I like Dora. I like the bungalow.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DearJamesAlltheBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalapasTulum, Owner at Calm Cabins Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you very very much for your review. The toilet has been renovated to stop that kind of bad experiences and a new second toilet is under costruction now. Our place is located in a jungle área and it is a rustic place anyway we are making a lot of changes to improve our hostel so everybody can feel safe and comfortable.

We prepare 6 sorts of breakfast, sorry that you didn´t like the mexican quesadillas, anyway all our guests are very welcome to tell us what they like or not so we can prepare other dishes.

All the best for you looking forward to have your visit again in Tulum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I came to calm cabins tulum in August 2012 and after I came back in April 2013 because in Dora's place I feel like at home. She makes you feel really comfortable and the garden is beautifull and a place to have some relaxing time.

The hostal is not a luxury place but it has all you need to spend some days in Tulum and enjoy all the surroundings. And the price is the best you can find in Tulum if you are looking for a quite place.

Totally recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
5 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#22 of 101 in Tulum
1,410 reviews
2.5 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#41 of 101 in Tulum
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#17 of 101 in Tulum
627 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kore Tulum Retreat and Spa Resort
3.9 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calm Cabins Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calm Cabins Tulum

Address: Calle Polar Poniente 64, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: $30 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calm and peaceful accommodation in Tulum Town Center within a beatiful natural and organic garden with bananas and bouganvillea flowers.We offer a friendly and welcoming atmosphere where it is possible to meet other like-minded travelers in an intimate setting that foment meaningful exchanges.We speak italian, spanish, english and french.Our guests are backpackers and young couples who are looking for a quiet place to rest.We are definitely not a party place in that our guests are normally more interested in exploring the unique and beautiful wonders that the region has to offer wich is great for day trips to places such as the Ruins, Coba, Akumal, Xel-Ha, Cenotes and Playa del Carmen.From our place, even though we provide such a natural feel, you are conveniently located just 15 minutes away on a bus from Tulum Beach and just 5 minutes away walking from the Main ADO Bus Station in Town Center where it is also possible wo access the numerous interesting shopping, organizing and dining options that Tulum has to offer at very reasonable prices.We also help you by giving you insider tips on what is going on currently and point you towards places most travelers who visit the region will never know about.We are a vegan-vegeterian friendly hostel. We do provide special utensils so you can cook your meals and also advice so you can get your special food suplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Calm Cabins Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing