We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best fish tacos!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Adelita - CLOSED

Bar Adelita
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Caribbean, Bar, Grill, Pub, Fusion, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best fish tacos!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Second time back to Bar Adelita, wonderful as usual! food was amazing! things have changed from the first time we visited this place, first time was great! So cozy and mismatched, really eclectic. this time, new furniture, and not so humble and mismatched. The first time had Greg Allman playing in the background, this time not too sure what was on... First time, only a waiter and bartender to serve us, this time seemed to be too many waitresses and servers standing around. Wish you could go back to the way things were last year. View is amazing as you sit and enjoy your food, and take in the wonderful sea. If you are on the Tulum beach, or at the Tulum ruins, stop in at the Bar Adelita, you won't be disappointed!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    20
    5
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location, but Adelita ran out of guac and fish tacos, beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

A gorgeous setting near the ruins! I finally got guayaba juice made fresh while visiting Adelita. The one draw back is that we never got to try the fish tacos and guacamole. They were out of those items, plus several kinds of beer by late afternoon. We loved being able to sit near Adelita to enjoy the turquoise sea and swim. The staff was friendly and helpful. We hiked 1.5-2 miles from the main road where the ADO let us off and found the location to be close to paradise. We happened to be there on a Sunday when the local people were having a great time. Just a note that a taxi from Adelita to the yoga section of the beach is about $8 for those who travel to more than one location. We never did go to the crowded ruins because we had such a great spot at the beach. it is located at Fisherman's Beach, and true to its name, it has boats lining the beach. Fishermen will offer to take you out and often take out boats full of local people that day. I should note that there are other places nearby to eat but none looked as charming and appealing as Adelita. The closest one sold huge buckets of beer and nachos, but that wasn't what we were looking for, even with live music from the Cubanos. Down the beach near the ruins, many nature lovers were enjoying the location, too. One big note in closing: Adelita has clean, wonderful bathrooms if one follows a path behind the bar.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome bar on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is a beautiful location on the beach. We shared some dishes and had a few drinks.. everything was wonderful, the fish and shrimp were great and the drinks.. well they were awesome too. They have many different table you can sit at and our waitress was so nice and friendly. I bought a necklace from the bar owners dad in town and he mentioned us to go there well we had already seen it on trip advisor and planned to go. Don't miss this awesome spot on the beach!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome bar, great staff, good music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Super close to the ruins, great section of beach, great food and a beautiful space. A place with a lot of character right next to a giant beer tent that lacks the ambiance.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome place right on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband & I found this place by accident driving back from the Tulum ruins. I saw the sign and the name registered from reading reviews on Trip Advisor prior to our vacation. I am so glad we turned around and went back. The food was delicious! Everything was so fresh. The staff was friendly and there were three or four cute, friendly dogs running around playing. My husband had the green ceviche and I had the grilled shrimp. We had a lovely lunch on a beautiful beach after visiting the beauty of the Mayan ruins right down the road. A memorable experience! I only wish we could have gone back one or two more times before our return to NY.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chewels70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Adelita also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing