We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ups and downs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
Ranked #27 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Denver,Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ups and downs”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Well, the first night (of 4 nights) we stayed her I was immediately writing an awful review in my head. I got to my room and the a/c remotes battery was dead so I spent the first night freezing thinking the a/c was broken. To top that off, their nightly musical show sounded like they were playing in my room and went on for hours. The next day I complained about my a/c, it was quickly fixed. I also stumbled on a set of ear plugs which also helped to noise. Just a heads up, when making reservations try to get the room furthest from the amphitheater. All in all, the staff was very quick to help you out with whatever you need. Everything was spotlessly clean including the beach. I do recommend making reservations to the Mexican restaurant they have on site. We did that the last night and we had Mariachi guys sing and they did a wonderful job. The buffet was hit and miss but you could mostly find something that could suffice. Stick with beer for your drinks and they water down the mixed drinks.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neazea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    347
    96
    38
    33
See reviews for
198
532
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This resort is brilliant and here's why:

Resort is gorgeous. It's truly a resort that knows how to work with its surroundings. Authentic Mexican, Italian beach cabana decor with clean exquisite rooms including the bathroom! Excellent new AC, flat screen TV, bottled water everyday in rooms. The beach is stunning. Quiet and clean - so clean and safe that turtles travelled here to lay their eggs. Cute!

Staff are great! So friendly and they even have awesome entertainment staff who come from Italy and speak Spanish, French, English and Italian. These guys offer daily fun for all the guests including stretching, aqua aerobics, night shows and beach games.

We had an all inclusive plan which means all domestic food and drink covered- breakfast, lunch and dinner provided with 'snacks'. Always fresh fruit available except when they run out on the rare occasion at the bar in the afternoons. Bar staff always go beyond to make you your perfect drink. There was always a wide variety of vegetables, fruit, meats and sweets which provided a fantastically well-rounded meal & snacks normally consisted of fruit, pastries, homemade pizza & nachos.

Improvements needed - the bar. Would've been great to be able to sit down at bar so some bar stools would have been great. It's always windy which is a good thing as so hot but when sun starts to go down you can feel it! Sitting at bar under cover on some bar stools would be a great solution otherwise you'll retreat to your room.

Also the free WiFi was only available in the lobby although you can pay US$12 per day for WiFi in your room. The free WiFi was horribly slow & cut out constantly so if you were taking time to go sit in the lobby, it is extremely disappointing that it takes forever to download or view anything.

Anyway, we came here to stop, relax and lie by the beach for 8days on a beautiful quiet clean beach in Mexico and got exactly what we wanted. Was a great place to stay and would recommend this place to a friend. Definitely value for your money.

Room Tip: Tip! Choose a room with an ocean view like we did. The other rooms may not be as nice as they face t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank samson_wall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights and it was one of our favorite places so far. Rooms and the beach were perfect at this small resort. Buffet was ok.

Luis at the bar treated us amazing and was very inviting and professional. Damn good fresh margaritas. Be back soon!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Buddy209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 10 nights in April 2014 and we were very happy with our stay.
We had a fairly large ground floor room with sea views, that had a very large double bed and a single bed. I cannot fault the room and the cleanliness!

Breakfast was good with lots of choice; omelette, eggs, pancakes, sausages,bacon, cereal, yoghurt, fruit and endless of varieties of bread and pastries.

Lunch was also good with 5-6 different hot options, Mexican taco station and lots of salads, bread, fruit and various kinds of cake or ice cream. Dinner was similar.
I don't eat meat so I can't comment on the actual meat dishes.
We tried the Mexican restaurant on site but they struggled to feed a pescatarian like me, even though they tried their best.
My only concern regarding the food would be for vegetarians as their salads often contained sausages/meat and/or fish.

Can't comment on the inclusive alcoholic drinks as I was pregnant at the time. My partner seemed to like the beer though.

The beach is lovely and cleaned everyday. It is a private beach so no vendors hassling you. There's enough loungers on the beach and around the three pools to swallow all the guest without the resort feeling crowded.

We found the staff at the resort friendly and helpful.
The animation staff put on shows at night which we never went to (not our thing) but we heard the singing and it sounded pretty awful. Some people seemed to enjoy it though.

All in all a great place by the beach, we would definitely come again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 36 which I recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Johanna o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I Stayed at PavoRreal for 4 nights during April. As a person who usually avoids places which are considered "all included" I was positively surprised to find that the place had a very relaxed and laid back atmosphere as I usually like. The complex is very large, the rooms clean and well maintained. We stayed in a superior room with a balcony facing the sea. The beach is beautiful, natural and quiet. There are also areas of activity – pool and volleyball but they are well situated in at the end of the beach and the main resort and they don’t bother whoever wishes to keep on the quite mode. Restaurant was excellent and the 3 meals a day were tasty and varied

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I have been to tulum twice and this is my first time at an all inclusive resort...in fact, other than a cruise...this is my first all inclusive anything. Pavoreal is very authentic...and feels like you are in Mexico...my boyfriend and I went for our 1 year anniversary and wanted a romantic spot...Pavoreal delivered. The beach is secluded nad feels private..the guests were very multicultural and added to the experience. We met French, Spanish, Italian, Romanian, Argentenian, and American guests. Very family friendly. Lots of wild life on land and by sea. Beachcombing is decent and snorkeling is fair. The drawbacks are that the beach towel service is very limited and STRICT...two towels per couple...thats it and if you get them dirty you can only exchange them for new ones between 9 and 12. They are also very strict with snorkel equipment and kayaks. YOu cant use a kayak for more than an hour per day or a snorkel mask and equipment for the same amount of time..you cant snorkle and kayak either...its either one or the other. As for the other parts..the room we had was a superior sea view..very nice...clean...but few amenties. we had a safe and a very tiny refrigderator. Air conditioning was definitely a plus. THe food was AMAZING...lunch everyday was so fresh and the drinks by the extremely friendly bartenders were strong and tasty....I especially liked my mojitos. The pools are decent and the beach is immaculate. We very much enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Junior suites are the best bet seeing as they are the largest and are right on the water...superior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kseascaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Well, where do we start?! We had a good time at this resort. The staff are very friendly, and the rooms are good quality. You've gotta get something facing the ocean. There are other rooms off to the side that I wouldn't have wanted to be in.

Pros

We had a room upstairs, our friends larger suite was downstairs and both rooms had a balcony facing the ocean.
We had a bar and two pools outside our room. Elisio cut down coconuts with a machete and made us some great drinks.
The omelette bar at the buffet was good, and some days they had pancakes.
Fresh fruit at the buffet is great.
I participated in a free yoga type stretching routine on the beach in the morning that was really cool.


Cons
The coffee at the buffet is not fresh! It comes out of a machine. It's not bad, but it's not fresh. Very disappointing.
The buffet is okay, but the same scrambled eggs and nasty refried beans everyday are not good.
I was told I could change my room reservation, 5 mins after booking it, and they were supposed to refund the difference. I spoke to the hotel 3 different times and they assured me it would be fine. But, checking out with Angela, she said No, and proceeded to read me the cancellation/change information. I told her who I spoke with and she would not budge, she was really nice about it too. After being stung by a sting ray on the beach I was too exhausted to argue with her.
There's a lot of seaweed on the beach, and this means high biodiversity. Watch out for stingrays, you do not want to step on one. I thought they'd be further out, but I stepped on one about 15 feet from the beach. Management made me go to the hospital and the cab was $50 round trip. Stiches were free.

Raul was great, Alex, Elisio, all of the Italian staff, everyone was very friendly. We really enjoyed our time here. The first day we swam in the ocean was so amazing. We got some great photos.

Next time we would rent a car. The taxis have no meters and are very expensive. If you don't speak spanish, forget about it. You're better off driving. It's not as dangerous to drive in Tulum, as other it is in other parts of Mexico.

Also, you must exchange your money for pesos before you arrive or you will get a horrible rate...

Bring your own maps, it's hard to get a good one. Most of the handouts are advertisements.

All in all, great experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleKapiolani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
8.8 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
840 reviews
6.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 95 in Tulum
294 reviews
4.4 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#11 of 95 in Tulum
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#2 of 95 in Tulum
918 reviews
6.7 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#23 of 95 in Tulum
568 reviews
6.6 mi away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#19 of 95 in Tulum
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum

Property: PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, km 237 | Tankah III, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum which has been very recently renovated and restructured (during Summer 2012) is located in the wonderful Riviera Maya, only few km North of Tulum's archeological site, surrounded by the typical luxuriant Tropics vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing